We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the weekend for a break away from the kids! You enter the hotel from a side entrance and we had to negotiate around randomly parked cars to get inside the revolving door into the reception area to check in. We had booked an executive room as reviews I had read about them were good. Our room was a corner room on the 16th floor with big dual aspect windows and simply stunning views. The room was spacious with a king size bed which was comfortable, you also get 2 pillows each but I have to say they were of poor quality. The room had a sofa and a separate chair to sit on which were ok. The tv was a big letdown as it was an old one with a big back to it and nor a slim one. The channels were fuzzy and had wavy lines or crackling going on. Toiletries were provided but of a cheap standard and we had to ask reception for extra towels, were we both mean't to share the same one in a 4 star hotel! Bathrobes were provided but were old and worn. The bathroom wasn't as clean as I would have expected either. The room was dusty and there were dead insects on the windowsills, obviously the cleaner had overlooked this. The cocktail bar was good and spacious on the first floor. The only downside was that this bar has last orders at 10.30pm and then shuts. If you want a drink later you have to go in the bar on the ground floor next to reception and is a big letdown. The breakfasts were of a good quality and loads of choice the cost is £15.50 per person. The building has 20 floors and only 3 lifts so you had to wait a while for a lift. The first night was lovely and quiet but on the second night we were woken a few times by noisy inconsiderate guests slamming their room door at the side of our room and opposite us, backwards and forwards to each others rooms. This made our room door bang and there is a gap at the bottom of the room door so all conversation in the corridor can be heard. For me this spoilt our nights sleep. This alone would put me off staying there again!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors at the front have better views than at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Sophie H,

It is disappointing to read that your stay was not to your satisfaction on this occasion.

The issues you have noted from your bedroom are currently being addressed with the relevant departments.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    831
    543
    269
    198
See reviews for
294
955
121
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel through Booking.com for £44 without breakfast. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised how nice the rooms were for the money. Our room was on the 19th floor so we had a lovely view of the city.

The room itself was quite spacious, there is a safe, fridge & tea/coffee making facilities as well as decent toiletries.

Location wise you literally walk out of the station to your left & the Plaza is right in front of you. Its also right on the edge of the shopping area. There is a little Sainsburys by the hotel as well which is great for picking up any essentials (like wine to put in the fridge).

The only thing I would suggest to the hotel is to provide extra pillows, 1 is not enough for me. Most hotels leave a spare in the wardrobe and I think the Plaza should follow suit. Besides that, for the price & location, this hotel ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear joannet3,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel!

You're right about our location, it is perfect for business or leisure!

I do hope we can welcome you back for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a modern tower block hotel that can't be faulted. Our stay was very good value. Very handy for train station. Leeds has an excellent shopping centre, i would recommend visiting the Market and Victorian Arcades. The Royal Armouries museum is well worth a visit. A very good city for dining out, with lots of choice.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near lift shaft if you don't like background noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorks
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We paid £57 for a twin room with breakfast. It was very clean and comfortable. Lots of choice at breakfast and couldn't be more central. Hospitality tray was very basic but got my morning tea so no problem. Our second visit and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lantNorthYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear IantNorthYorks,

Many thanks for your great feedback about Park Plaza Leeds!

I hope we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed at The Park Plaza for 2 nights on business and the location was ideal as directly across from the train station, walking distance to my meeting venue and nearby restaurants, shops and bars. The check-in staff were friendly and chatty and when I asked for directions took the time to point me in the right direction and offer a map.
Room service was quick and tasty and breakfast well stocked for all tastes.
Room was spacious with a large, comfy bed and lots of natural light. Windows that opened which is always preferable to aircon (which was alos easy to work).
When travelling to Leeds whether work or pleasure I will be checking availability at Park Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Gillz79,

Thank you for your great feedback about Park Plaza Leeds!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for August bank holiday weekend.

We had tickets for a nightclub & wanted a reasonably priced hotel close to everything...this is exactly what we got.

We booked on a third party website and paid £60 for a superior double room, we also requested a room high up with a good view (again this is exactly what we got).

We also paid £10 extra for a late checkout at 3pm which we thought was very reasonable.

We booked breakfast when we arrived at the hotel & received this at a discounted rate (more than half the price online and with a lot cheaper than the b&b option).

The room was nice, really clean, good tea & coffee facilities, shampoo, shower gel etc...the only downside was the TV is from the early 90's...but we hadn't come away for the weekend to watch TV so this really didn't bother us.

The breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold foods and a nice selection of drinks (latte, cappuccino etc.).

We went to the Chino Latino bar for happy hour cocktails and these were delicious...we then decided to stay at this restaurant for our evening meal instead of venturing into town to find a restaurant...it was well worth staying...the food was delicious and we would recommend the steak to everyone!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Also, the Q car park is only a couple of minutes walk from the hotel and you can get a discounted rate if you ask at reception when you check out.

If visiting Leeds we would definitely stay at this hotel in the future if the price was right.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Check in was quick and friendly. Room on the 18th floor had a great view and was nice and quiet.

Room was in need of some refurbishment with a 1980s tv and paint work that had seen better days. The bathroom was ok.

The bed was very large but not comfortable. Pillows were lumpy and the bed sheets did not fit. each morning I woke to find the bottom sheet had moved and caused general discomfort.

On the 2nd day the AC began to leak and drip furiously on to the carpet.

The hotel advertise an award winning restaurant but it is the same room where breakfast is served and that was not very attractive. The breakfast was boringly the same each day with no imgaination.

The staff were friendly throughout the hotel and the location was right in the heart of the city beside the railway station. The hotel is surrounded by shopping, restaurants and bars so you can easily get dinner and breakfast outside considerably cheaper

Room Tip: Lots of food choices outside the hotel for dinner or brekfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMacAyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Ayr_Mac,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay.
It is great to hear that you found check in quick and friendly, and enjoyed the great view from your room.

It is disappointing to hear that you found the facilities in your bedroom to be below your expectations and i would like to apologise for the issue with the A/C in your room. This is currently being investigated.

I was disappointed to see that you found our breakfast offering boring and lacking in imaginaion. We pride ourselves on quality and choice at breakfast and often find that we receive very positive comments about the buffet as you can see from our many reviews stating this.

I do hope that despite this you will stay with us again in the future.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,021 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,217 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing