We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Park Plaza Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Plaza Leeds
Ranked #39 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bracknell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I generally stay there once a year for business. The staff are always helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and much larger than normal for a business hotel. The views from the higher floors are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyBracknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Our recently refurbished suites have excellent panoramic views over the city, why not try one when you stay in Leeds?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    831
    543
    269
    198
See reviews for
294
955
121
893
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Looking for just an overnight stop in Leeds I wasn't looking to break the bank so looked for a reasonably priced centrally located hotel. The Park Plaza ticked all the boxes with reasonable rates and a great location close to the train station.

My room was a clean and spacious double with great city views and the amenities were first rate. However my stay went from average to exceptional when I decided to eat at the hotels pan-Asian restaurant Chinos and was treated to a real culinary feast. Having been persuaded by the restaurant manager, I left my ordering up to him. Not something I'd normally do but he convinced he would pick things that I wouldn't normally order but would enjoy. He couldn't have been more right. From the first starter of California Rolls to the chocolate sushi to finish I couldn't have enjoyed a meal more. Thanos (restaurant manager) was exceptional and made sure the quality of the food and service were first class.

I can honestly say checking out was one of the hardest decisions I've made. I look forward to the next time I'm travelling through Leeds again so I can stop off, it really was amazing and I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyHi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaOps, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, Chino Latino recently won the best city centre restaurant in Leeds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was my first stay at the park plaza leeds. It is a lovely hotel and the room was very spacious and clean. The hotel is in a great location for Leeds city centre and the local night life!
I did'nt try the restaurant but I understand that the reviews are excellent! I would definately go back to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMMA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the comments, our Chino Latino restaurant recently won the best city centre restaurant award, we always recommend that you reserve a table so you are not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

As titled stayed one night, couldn't fault it in any way. Clean, straight opposite yraon station, slept sound-no urban city noise heard, breakfast good. Had dinner at Jamies Italian-5 mins walk away-lovely, lunch at Nation of shopkeepers-7 mins walk away-fab too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellinchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Location:
Fantastic. Right in the centre of Leeds and not far to walk to get to anything- pubs, clubs, shops.
First impressions:
Reception a bit basic and trying to look modern and futuristic but doesn't quite get there. Still, it was clean and quite spacious, apart from the turning carousel door-that was very tall and narrow to get through with a case.
Corridors are very dark-reds and blacks-and it reminded me of corridors you would find in a nightclub.
Bedroom:
The bedroom was surprisingly light and airy with a couple of huge mirrors to make it look bigger. The beds were very comfortable and not over fussy. The bathroom was a bit too futuristic looking for my taste but it was still perfectly functioning. The bathroom door was made from frosted glass which I found a bit odd as the bathroom is a private place for most people, but you couldn't really see anything through it so it wasn't that bad. The sink was just like a bowl placed on top of a blue glittery surface, but there was nowhere to put soap etc so they were just sliding all over the surface and making it all wet. Simple solution though-buy a soap dish.
Room included hair dryer, mini bar (expensive but they all are!), tea and coffee facilities (the cups are tiny though to stay with the modern look, so having a cup of tea on the morning didn't last long!) and black out curtains which are fantastic and block out all the light from outside.
All in all:
A nice stay for what we needed it for-a comfy bed and a great location to get around the city centre easily. Wouldn't recommend for a romantic getaway though but if you just need somewhere to stay and sleep, this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: We were on the 18th floor and could see quite a distance, even though most of out view was cranes an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycampers987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for the comments, we are a design led hotel and the recent bedroom refurbishment does reflect that, although as mentioned our bedrooms have large panoramic windows, the executive rooms have double aspect windows overlooking the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

i have stayed in the park plaza a number of times; it has been gradually going downhill. they are in the process of regenerating large areas of the hotel - this means that there is a lot of noise, and no gym area. this isn't advertised on their website.

on my most recent stay, the room was a bit dirty, had an ancient tv with 5 very fuzzy channels, and was right next to a lift shaft, which was very noisy. in addition, for a supposed 4 star hotel, the supplied amenities are pretty poor. don't bother with the breakfast either - at £15 for a sub-standard choices of cereals and bread (plus usual greasy fare), it's rather pricey. the one plus, apart from the location, was the quality of service from the front of house team, who were excellent.

Room Tip: make sure they don't stick you next to the lift - my room was number 512, so i guess any rooms e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashaped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we have now completed the bedroom refurbishment although the gym is currently being moved and expanded to a new location (this is notified to guests on websites), however I will investiagte the other matters raised as we normally operate to a high standard within the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and it's probably my first choice of hotel in Leeds now. Rooms are lovely and very clean. Haven't eaten in the restaurant but have heard good reports, can definitely recommend the breakfast though. The location is excellent, you literally turn left out of the train station and cross the road at the corner. Hotel entrance is opposite the shopping centre and the bars are just a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoolieBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Park Plaza Leeds, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for your response, our Chino Latino Restaurant recently won the 'Best City Centre' Restaurant awards, why not book a table the next time you stay here?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,021 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,217 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Leeds

Property: Park Plaza Leeds
Address: Royal Exchange House Boar Lane | City Square, Leeds LS1 5NS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Family Hotel in Leeds
#21 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Plaza Leeds is a contemporary hotel in the heart of Leeds city centre, offering 187 guest rooms, modern function space, fitness suite, Scene! Lobby bar and the award-winning Chino Latino(R) Pan-Asian restaurant and cocktail bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Leeds Hotel Leeds
Leeds Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing