We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and reasonable value”
Review of Riva Hotel Leeds

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riva Hotel Leeds
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable value”
Reviewed April 3, 2006

Well located and decent sized rooms. Didn't pay for breakfast - there are plenty of cafes around. Parking is only available in the public car park over the road but this was not a problem. The staff were friendly and the place seemed to have been recently renovated, even if they still have a problem with poor ventilation meaning some peeling paint above the shower. Would recommend for the price if you want a good place for a weekend break / stag do etc

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim&Katherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2006

stayed here and was quite surprised after reading some poor reviews on here. Room was pleasent enough decorated in a modern hotel style.
Didn't sample the breakfast so i can't comment on that.

Overall i'd say a good hotel for business or a weekend in leeds.

My only gripe was having difficulty finding somewhere to park, but leeds is always a nightmare to park in!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SUIUHTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2006

Great central hotel, smack bam in the centre of Leeds, shopping, pubs and clubs all in close location, Headingley stadium £5 taxi ride away.

Rooms - Very clean, nothing special, tea, coffee facilities, beds were comfy, pillows smelled a little smokey (In a non smoking room) but nothing to shout about.

Breakfast - Self service, very quiet! Tea/Coffee/Toast served to you very speedy.
Fruit seemed a little old but plenty of choice.

Staff - Very friendly, helpfull. We arrived at 08:50 from a train, happy to leave bags, even prepared our room for 11:30, WITHOUT OUR ASKING.

Negitive. - We stayed in room 123 new club in Leeds called Gatecrasher, - Heard it with no windows open until 6am, not really load, but you could hear it.

Hope that helps!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2006

Rooms are really nicely done, and great shower - but poor attention to detail! i.e. no cups for tea, no 'tooth cup' for rinsing, holes in ALL my pillows, very cold room. breakfast is pretty grim, self-service, in a building site as they're doing up the dining room. staff were friendly enough, although a bit dazed.
decent value though and central location - ok for a business trip.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zcrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2005

The Riva (formerly the Sleep Inn) is right in the centre of Leeds - handy for shopping etc. For the same reason, expect some noise from the street (I had intruder alarms going off outside for half the night).

My room was a good size, and in fair condition but with paint literally hanging off the ceiling in the shower. Apart from the paint issue, the shower was a highlight - a real power shower, unlike the feeble things you find in most hotels.

Hotel facilities and public rooms are limited - just a small and soul-less bar on the first floor.

Breakfast was a 100% self service affair (collect your food, make your own tea, even collect your own cutlery), served in a spartan function room with stacks of chairs piled around the room (I suspect this may have been a temporary arrangement). The hot items on the buffet had been hanging around far too long - the bacon was hard and the scrambled eggs watery. Fruit juice was watery and served from a machine.

So, the bottom line. If you want somewhere reasonably priced to rest your head for the night, particularly if you are on business, this hotel works ok. If you want a nice hotel with comfy lounges, lively bars and a nice restaurant, this is not it!

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2005

Considering what we paid, (£65 a night) I wasnt expecting too much, and after previous reviews I was actually a little aprehensive. But we didnt come across any of the probems others had. Location as excellent. There was a lack of parking, but there was a good car park just down the road, which is convenient for an inner city hotel.
Check in was friendly and efficient, and the Hotel lobby was clean. Got to the room fine, which was spacious and clean. Bathroom was nice and modern, with one of the best showers I've seen. Loved the oversized towels. Bed was comfortable, and the aircon (noisy, but it is aircon in a budget hotel) was convenient given the heat.
TV was just terrestrial, sky one and some pay per view with internet acess, but there you go.
Went out to one of Leed's many restaurants (bibi's), which was just ten minutes walk, convenient because I wasn't up to driving.
Considering what noise is like in London, I cant see what the fuss is about, it was afterall right in the center of Leeds.
Breakfast was good, and considering some hotels charge £10 for something exactly the same not too overpriced.
Overall a great stay, would definately reccomend it, just dont expect perfection, you didnt pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2005

We endured an overnight stay at this hotel recently. First impressions were less than favourable as the hotel is situated in a run-down area very close to the city centre. It is surrounded by sleazy bars and boarded-up shop units on a very busy street.

Check-in was slow and the staff were off-hand and unwelcoming. Another worrying sight was a high number of stag and hen parties queuing up to check-in also.... Alarm bells were already ringing.

First impressions of the room itself were good - the decor was quite modern and "tasteful". The bathroom was white and clean. However, closer inspection revealed a tear in the duvet cover and in one of the pillow cases... As for the view, it was grim. The room overlooked a littered asphalt roof-top and the massive red brick side of a derelict warehouse.

But the real problems began at night. If you choose to stay at this hotel, get any ides of a restful night out of your head. The noise from outside - thumping "music" from clubs, drunken shouting ansd swearing and police sirens all conspire to make sleep almost impossible.

This becomes an even bigger problem if you need to lower the room temperature. The options are : open the window and let the street noise in or switch on the air conditioning unit and endure the noise of that. (By the way, the entire unit is sited IN the room - the large "box" housing the motor- which is normally on an exterior wall - as well as the grille. ) Small wonder it is noisy.

And then in the very middle of the night - about 3.30 a.m. - the hen parties and stag night revellers return to base.... Then the noise comes closer - into our corridor in our case.


Breakfast next morning was poor.The staff who are wafting around are clearly not there to show guests to a table or to offer them fresh tea or coffee. The one thing they do ensure they do, however, is get your room number so that you can be charged for the experience of the Sleep Inn breakfast....

To describe it : it was buffet-style, in a room which doubles up as a bar area during the day/evening. The supposedly hot food was lukewarm and pretty basic. There was no proper selection of juices, cereals, fresh fruit, conserves, pastries, etc. It was uninspiring and unappetising - and truly bad value for money.

Check-out was slow and as unfriendly as before.

Leeds is friendly city which is reinventing itself. I'm sure the Sleep Inn should be doing better than this. What happened to the wonderful Yorkshire hospitality? Sadly absent here.

Helpful?
11 Thank Anonymous53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
Mansio Suites Headrow
Mansio Suites Headrow
#27 of 87 in Leeds
103 reviews
Quarry Hill
Travelodge Leeds Central Vicar Lane Hotel
Quarry Hill
Ibis Styles Leeds City Centre Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,180 reviews
Roomzzz Leeds City
#5 of 87 in Leeds
506 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Hotel Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Hotel Leeds

Property: Riva Hotel Leeds
Address: 107 Vicar Lane, Leeds LS1 6PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riva Hotel Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leeds Riva Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing