We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Fox & Grapes

The Fox & Grapes
Ranked #674 of 1,829 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The newly refurbished Fox & Grapes is a popular country pub, offering a food menu packed with tasty British favourites and a drinks range featuring a great range of ales. Whether you just want to relax by the real open fire or enjoy a three-course meal with friends and family, it's an ideal destination for all. We're situated on the busy A64 (York Road), just seven miles from Leeds City Centre.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked a table to entertain our friends and was led to a table that was unclean and sticky but was set for the required 5.

I requested the table be cleaned and this was done but was still sticky so came to the conclusion it was the cleaning spray causing the problem.

We ordered a Fish Platter to share and instead of Tartar Sauce they put Chive and Cream Cheese (because they had run out of Tartar Sauce). NO ONE enquired as to how we found our meal.

My Fish Pie was just cream sauce and very little fish. The Mash Potato on top was just 'plonked' on and had sunk to the bottom. The vegetables were cold and the plate colder. We had to get our own condiments and cutlery. My wife's Steak and Ale Pie was attractively set in a crust pie which proved too hard and inedible, her vegetables were cold and the gravy was the only warm item. My colleague's steak was good, his wife's Chicken Melt was very dry so she used the gravy - yet still only managed to eat a bit. The youngster's meal was delivered without drnk nor dessert.

By this time I had given up complaining. The staff were on a different planet so clearly indifferent to our concerns. To her credit one femaale staff member showed a serious level of concern to try and appease us. Thank You!

Our 44th wedding anniversary will be one not remembered for having an excellent night out but for the opposite.

Just drive past if tempted they don't deserve your custom

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    74
    42
    52
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't get excited”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Visited here for lunch for two.
There was obviously only one poor member of staff on, and even though it was a Tuesday afternoon it was quite busy. A lot of the problems we have were clearly due to the fact that they were understaffed! If they sorted this out they wouldn't have bad reviews! I'd like to mention that the gentleman who was serving was very friendly and we had no issues with him.

Sharing nachos for two: average. Not a lot of cheese. Disappointing compared to others we have had.

Sandwiches: although we both had different fillings (steak, chicken) the sandwiches (advertised as flat breads if I remember rightly) were much of the same. They were packed out with salad. I usually like this, don't get me wrong. But it was packed with wedges of ice berg lettuce and not much else. Disappointing!

The steak wasnt great quality but my chicken was very nice, covered in sour cream, BBQ sauce, cheese. It was all right but not ideal.

Due to the staffing problem our plates Were never collected. Nor were we offered deserts. I don't mind too much as we didn't want deserts but if I was a restaurant owner or manager and the staff weren't upselling then I'd be pretty disappointed.

Again I'd like to stress that the one member of staff (covering both the bar and the restaurant!!) was rushed off his feet so the fault doesn't lie with him.

I think there's a serious staffing issue and there needs to be some quality control with the food. I'd probably give it a go again as it wasnt terrible and I'd like to hope it was an off day because It seems like a nice place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrenchPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sadly, very mediocre”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It's not usually a good sign when restaurants have to do 50% price cutting promotions and in retrospect, we should have steered clear. The food was very ordinary: fish pie with more potato than fish, prawn and asparagus salad with minimal prawn / asparagus content, the only plus point being a decent steak. The interior of the pub is pleasant enough, but school-boy errors like having loud rock music blaring out in the dining area need addressing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MC1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best salad ever”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Really nice setting, a proper old pub. The menu had a great choice of dishes. The staff where attentive and helpul. Our food arrived in good time and was delicious. The superfood salad with my steak was fantastic, the best ever. Prettty good value too. Nice choice of ales at the bar.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lorrain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Food, Great Value, Give it Try”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

me and my partner passed this pub and thought lets give it a go, and i'm so pleased we did, the food was beautiful, lovely warm welcome and great service.
They had a deal 50% off mains which was a massive bonus but this did not affect the food they put out.
We eat at a lot of places and will defiantly going back here, I was blown away by the quality of the food really tasty and plenty of it.
They seem to have deals on food Mon-Fri so its really good value.
Beer garden out the back you really should give this place a try
Bev & Mark

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox & Grapes also viewed

Lumbutts, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox & Grapes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing