We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”
Review of Bengal Brasserie

Bengal Brasserie
Ranked #106 of 1,870 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Having read the reviews we thought we had to give this restaurant a try instead of our usual preferred Indian restaurant.
The place is nothing special but given its location not surprising.
The service was poor - unreasonable wait for drinks then another wait for poppadums .
The chappatis were wet and soggy and the rice looked and tasted as if it had been reheated. The curries were nice with lovely flavours, however, the pieces of chicken were tiny cubes.
A bit disappointing especially in light of the reviews.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    26
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quite good - but not all that”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The title says it all really. We saw the reviews on trip advisor and thought we had to give it a go.

Okay, so the place itself is not exactly in a great area nor is it particularly impressive outside or inside - however as someone more interested in the quality of food and service I was hoping for something special given the excellent reviews. To be honest I was left confused as to how so many people had given it a 5 star rating? Was I in the same restaurant?

The service was very average. Whilst being very friendly, it took our waiter 20 minutes to take our drinks order and he didn't even offer any poppadums etc until we tried for the fourth time to get his attention. The owner was very attentive to his regulars (and that possibly in part explains some of the generous reviews?).

The quality of the food was mixed. The rice was not the tastiest or freshest I've ever had and the chapati was quite soggy. The curry however was very good and we really enjoyed it.

Overall, quite average but saved by a very good curry. In my opinion this is most definitely not one of the top three Indian restaurants in Leeds, however I would consider going back at some point in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamesinleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Christmas at the Bengal Brasserie”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Had a fab Christmas dinner at the Bengal Brasserie! So much better that having the traditional, over-expensive, non-descript turkey dinner. Fab service, yummy food (fish tikka, liver tikka followed by main dishes of butter chicken and chilli chicken and tandori oven cooked nan breads) and a really relaxed and comfortable atmosphere. The price was just fine as well and no washing up! Will definitely go back. Thanks very much for a very memorable time! A hidden little gem and not the obvoius choice from the outside.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kat_g1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Just got back from having Christmas lunch. My only regret is that we've not been here before.

The welcome was great - the service excellent and the food fantastic. Not the best location in the world but we took our lead from Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed.

I would highly recommend the tikka fish or liver for starter - both were exceptional and proper tandoori nann breads.

Not got a bad word to say about this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As good as you get for the money”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

First rate service great food & great value what more would you want? Try the Sunday buffet it’s a bargain. You will need to book for Friday & Saturday evenings. If it’s not the best in Leeds or Bradford please let me know which is because I would love to try it

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robnpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bengal Brasserie also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bengal Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing