We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ice and fire what! !” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Ranked #4 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“ice and fire what! !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

we have been to this hotel for christmas events for years now. This is a 5 star hotel and we booked into our room this was beautiful. The problems are few, but waiting for this event in the bar area waiting for our canopes to arrive as in the last years, no nothing arrived a cost cutting attempt i think. the food was ok for a mass feeding but not magic.

When you pay big money you expect better. The staff are great and well trained; but it was too noisy and very crovded. My partner wanted to have a go on the black jack tables but could not get near. it all seemed to be less than we were used to, the fire was an un convincing light rotating disc projected on a wall and the ice was a battery driven table ornament.

The music needs to be lower the DJ needed to be smoothed out and the tables need you to feel less like a battery hen and more like a welcome guest.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank KopyKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for writing your review. I'm very pleased that your room was to your liking. The themed party nights have proved popular over the festive season. The casino tables are always in great demand throughout the evening, it is hard to pick the right moment to play. I apologise that the night did not live up to your expectations.

Thank you for your lovely comments about the teams service during the evening and we do hope to welcome you back this year for Bond themed nights.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    256
    61
    15
    15
See reviews for
172
304
15
237
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level Contributor
191 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Was here for one night. Room was spacious and clean. Smiling face in the reception. Clothes could be pressed in the room. There are multiple socket points where mobile set, laptop could be charged. Wifi was free in the room. Shower gel, shampoo, moisturizer are in the room but no toothpaste and tooth brush. Complimentary 500ml water, pasturized milk, coffee, tea and cookies are available in the room. Foods are delicious.Would not mind to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafrul Hasan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed twice in the last few months, both times in a suite. These rooms are spacious and well equipped and even at the full standard rate provide excellent value for money.

For a small hotel chain, Shire does a great job of combining high levels of customer service with good facilities. The quality of food is high and the location for business and travellers passing through the Leeds area could not be better.

I used to stay at this hotel on a regular basis when it first opened, and frequently used the conference facilities to host large events as a corporate client. It was pleasing on our recent stays to see the Hotel has maintained its standards over the years and also caters very well for the smaller business - e.g. you can hire small meeting rooms here by the hour.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curvedairdrums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for writing such a fantastic review! I'm very pleased to read that we have been consitstant each time that you have stayed with us from day one. We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on a spa weekend and found the hotel very nice with good spa facilities. Just one thing that on check in a lady called Jenny 'greeted' us and never smiled once and made us feel quite unwelcome. On the plus side the bedrooms were a good size and the bathroom was large with a bath and separate shower. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good but we found the prices a little on the expensive side. I would reccommend this hotel for a spa weekend but it is a little out of the way if you want to visit the centre of leeds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kez066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShireHotels, Gordon Jackson - General Manager at Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your recent review. I was sorry to read that our normal welcoming on arrival was not up to standard, there is no excuse fo this and I will certainly look into this with the team. I'm glad that the facilities were in good orger and hopefully paying that little bit extra in the Restaurant was worth it!
We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the New Year to receive some good old Yorkshire Hospitality.

Kind regards,
Gordon Jackson - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a night in the hotel with my husband (9th dec 2012). The service throughout the hotel was excellent. The staff couldn't be more helpful and always greeted us with a smile. We couldn't fault anyone. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The rooms could maybe do with a lick of paint but apart from that just what you expect from a 4 star hotel. The food was excellent we had breakfast lunch and tea during are stay. Some of the best food we've ever had and good potion sizes. My only slight complaint is that the pool was freezing it would be more pleasant if the water was just a few degrees warmer. But over all we had a lovely relaxing stay in the hotel and we are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linzi87mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Went to Thorpe Park today for a meeting with colleagues. Having been here before, during lunchtime and eaten, I thought it would be perfect for us. Started off badly, it seems if you are out of the eyeline of the staff, you don't exist. Had to go to the bar to order to be told, we will come to your table. Should have added "eventually" We ordered two steak sandwiches - you can only have them medium or well done, nothing in between. The third colleague ordered the afternoon tea, to be told "if they'll do it", apparently a scone cannot be put on a plate until 2.30pm but it doesn't say this anywhere. The food was good, this cannot be denied however what ensued next was verging on farcical. Having waited, to catch the attention of a member of staff, for the bill. We got the bill. We then waited another 25 minutes for the waitress to come back and say she would bring back the machine for payment. 45 minutes later, nothing. My colleague went to reception, they said they would send someone. 20 minutes later, nothing. I then go to reception, she said she would send someone. By the time I get back to the table, we were met with perhaps the rudest member of staff of all of them who could not have been less interested in how long we had waited but instead seemed irritated that we had the audacity to complain. We paid the sum of £55 for this with no apology by anyone. It wouldn't have been so bad except there was nobody else in there for pretty much most of the time we were there. Very disappointed and would certainly question a repeat visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here as part of my wife's 40th birthday celebrations. The staff were very friendly and professional. The rooms were very nicely set out and the ambience of the hotel was just right. The hotel isn't in the greatest location but it is very accessible for Leeds. The cooked breakfast was fantastic and the Spa facilities with the pool were superb! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lph1Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Crowne Plaza Leeds
#14 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa

Property: Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Address: Thorpe Park | Thorpe Park, Leeds LS15 8ZB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Leeds
#3 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#3 Family Hotel in Leeds
#5 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#6 Business Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thorpe Park Hotel and Spa is a popular 4 star hotel in Leeds. We're perfectly positioned to discover all that the cosmopolitan city of Leeds has to offer along with the delights of Harrogate, and the Yorkshire Dales. We're a stylish, contemporary hotel known for our attention to detail. With a stylish spa and One Rosette Restaurant there's plenty to keep you busy in our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, LateRooms, HRS, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorpe Park Hotel And Spa
Thorpe Park Hotel Leeds
Thorpe Park Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing