We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff, awful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #30 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and staff, awful rooms”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for business reasons last week. I've heard about this hotel but never used it as it is a tad out of the way for city centre. It is a stunning building, and quite well kept inside as well. The staff were very friendly and polite, and at breakfast they couldn't do enough for you. The room was definitely a 1 out of 5 however, and if it wasn't for the excellent staff the score would be much lower. It is clearly not been renovated in a long time, it was old and fusty and although a family room, smelled of smoke. It isn't cheap either, and bedroom wise you would fare much better in a travel lodge. It is a shame, but no doubt a revamp will happen at some point and then it will have the potential to be glorious!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rps0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent post in regards to your stay at Weetwood Hall.

Our team will be delighted to hear your positive comments regarding their customer service levels; they find feedback such as this very encouraging. I did however read with concern your comments regarding your bedroom; we are currently in the process of undergoing the final stages of our bedroom refurbishment programme with bathrooms also being progressively updated. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so you can experience our updated accommodation.

Kindest regards,

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    273
    134
    52
    35
See reviews for
129
278
16
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed at Weetwood Hall Hotel over the weekend of the 19 October and was very impressed by the friendly approach and helpfulness of the staff. But whilst the bedrooms are generally comfortable, it can’t be denied that they are a little tired and in need of updating. The space given within the bedroom is not especially generous and the overall impression this creates is one of penny pinching which, for a hotel of this position and appearance, is unfortunate. I often stay in so called budget hotels and yet the space and equipment of the lower cost hotels are often of a better standard than the Weetwood Hall Hotel (better bathroom, better TV's etc). The staff are keen to help and show a great regard to their guests. It seems a pity the hotel management don’t share their enthusiasm when it comes to room facilities. Overall I would return to this hotel if I had to but I think other places might give better value. In fairness. although the hotel is clean and well organised with some good facilities it doesn't stand out as place of great value when compared to others. With a little more effort on the décor in the rooms the hotel would be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: A reasonable hotel but faded at the edges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrismastree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit at Weetwood Hall, Leeds.

We pride ourselves on the customer service levels of our team therefore it is fantastic to hear you found them to be helpful and friendly throughout your stay. I am however sorry to hear your feedback regarding the bedroom you were allocated; we offer a range of room types with further information and detailed images available on the accommodation section of our website. We are also currently in the final stage of completing our bedroom and bathroom refurbishment programme which will include the update of all televisions across the Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Weetwood Hall.

Kindest regards,

Collette Hurley,
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I visited here on a training course through work and I found it to be quite suprising in deed, the conference facilities were just superb tea and coffee on hand whenever you needed it the rooms were very comfortable and the lunch in the brassary was just fantastic, I had the venison which was just cooked to perfection it was quite amazing for the price. A little secret hide away if you want a lovely place to stay that's quite peaceful considering it so close to the main road. You won't be disappointed if you eat there either. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your excellent comments in regards to your recent stay at Weetwood Hall.

It is great to hear our conference facilities, food quality and location all exceeded your expectations; we pride ourselves on the locally sourced food served throughout the Hotel therefore our Head Chef will be delighted to read you loved the Venison.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Weetwood Hall.

Kindest regards

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This must have been our 6th or 7th stay at the Weetwood Hall, always our choice when visiting Leeds. After a previous not-so-good experience with a standard room some time ago (see previous review), we now always book a superior room when staying here - it is well worth the extra expense.

This time we were given room 1, which is in the older part of the building, and we were very pleased with it. The room itself is very spacious, with a large, very comfortable bed. The room also contains another single bed - pefect if you fall out with your other half!! The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. My only niggle was the shower, which did not have an awful lot of pressure. However, this is only a small point and it did not in any way spoil our stay

As usual, we were checked in by Sarah who never seems to get a day off! As usual, check-in was smooth, professional and friendly.

Breakfast at Weetwood Hall is always good, with a comprehensive selection of food. The hot food is always hot, not lukewarm as we've experienced at some other hotels with buffet breakfasts.

After our previous unfortunate encounter with the food in the Stables bar, we decided to give it another try (actually, we were just too lazy to go anywhere else!). This time the food wasn't bad at all. The downside was that it took a good 45 minutes between placing the order and receiving the food.

Weetwood Hall is a great place to stay when visiting Leeds - located on the ring road, it's easily accessible both by car and by public transport.

Room Tip: Book a superior room - the standard rooms are very small and not (in our experience) particularly ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anis1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent post following your visit to Weetwood Hall, Leeds.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our recently refurbished room; I will ensure the shower pressure in this room is reviewed by our Maintenance team. Our Head Chef will be very pleased to hear your excellent feedback regarding the locally sourced food served at breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kindest regards,

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I often use Weetwood Hall to hold business meetings, their bar area is great and the staff are friendly. What's more, for customers the wireless network is free to use - simply ask at reception. I should mention though, that I did not stay in a room - nor have I ever done. I simply use the bar facilities whenever I need to.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of Weetwood Hall. It is great to hear you regularly use our Brasserie for business meetings and find the complimentary high speed wifi we offer very useful. Our team will be delighted to hear your lovely comments regarding their personal customer service levels.

We look forward to seeing you again,

Kindest regards,

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had booked a stay here at the begginning of September for a reunion with some of my old army mates.The booking and administration was very good and efficient.However,my advice to anyone planning to eat in the Stables pub would be to try somewhere else,the food in here is just awfull and overpriced.I did complete a survey and made a comment about this, and the staff got back to me almost immediately and gave a really
laughable excuse, i quote;"Our catering manager had been supplied with a sub standard batch of beef, and we are taking steps to
make sure the supplier does not do this again", I had the steak and chips, and the steak was pathetic.my point here is that
if the catering manager had been supplied with a bad order of beef, why didnt he send it back!!!.
Needless to say that was the only explanation i got,the room was ok, but we found empty beer cans in the trouser press/ironing cupboad.
There were no soft drink or water dispensers (the type you see in airports and railway stations) on any floor, so if you plan a stay
here be sure to take your own.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Weetwood Hall Leeds.

After learning of your experience in our Stables pub, I felt it imperative to contact you personally after receiving your submission. Further to my response, I immediately forwarded your feedback onto our Head Chef for an investigation. This revealed that our kitchen team were unhappy with the quality of several steaks from the weekend you dined with us. This was immediately addressed with the local farm which supplies our meat and has since been rectified. We strive to use the best local suppliers in order to provide quality produce within our eateries therefore we were extremely disappointed to hear this had affected your experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any impact this had on your reunion.

We provide complimentary still and sparkling water in all bedrooms along with tea and coffee making facilities. Our conference centre also offers water dispensers and hot beverage machines throughout.

We do hope to welcome you back to Weetwood Hall in the future.

Kindest regards,

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed for two nights recently but were a little disappointed as we have stayed at this hotel in the past, but entirely different rooms this time, probably half the size of the previous visits - it could be that the hotel was extremely busy with two weddings - but our particular room was not the usual quality we have had in the past.

The Stables pub is really a lot of fun and good food. One of the highlights of our previous stays has been the breakfast, but we actually found this not quite up to the quality we have experienced on our previous visits.

The staff especially at reception were very good and efficient.

In spite of the size of the room I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collette_Hurley, Customer Service Executive at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your recent post following your stay at Weetwood Hall, Leeds.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the room you were allocated on your stay; we offer a variety of room types ranging from a junior double to a luxury room with further information and images available on our website. Please feel free to contact me personally and I will make a note of your requirements for future visits.

It is also very disappointing to hear you did not enjoy the locally sourced produce served at breakfast as much as you usually would; I have forwarded your comments onto our Head Chef for review.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Weetwood Hall in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Collette Hurley
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
2.1 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
917 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
390 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weetwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weetwood Hall Hotel

Property: Weetwood Hall Hotel
Address: Otley Road, Leeds LS16 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Leeds
#15 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Weetwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within nine acres of woodland and gardens and built around a 17th Century Manor House, Weetwood Hall offers extensive four-star hotel services and facilities, along with a conference centre. There are 114 en-suite bedrooms, offering a variety of different styles of accommodation from junior double to feature bedrooms. Weetwood Hall also offers three dining options: Woodlands Suite, Brasserie and the award winning Stables Pub which has Cask Marque accreditation for its real ales. There is extensive onsite free parking and high speed internet. Complimentary leisure facilities are available to our residents at the nearby Cookridge Hall Health & Fitness Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Weetwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weetwood Hall Leeds
Weetwood Hall Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing