We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny room at a big price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Ranked #33 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tiny room at a big price”
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Booked a junior double room four months in advance - but somehow ended up paying the full rack rate. The room we had was even smaller than that shown on their web site measuring 2.41m by 3.40m (7ft 11 by 11ft 2). There was just 25cm (10 inches) between side of small double bed and wall. Only one small wardrobe was provided, with no shelving. The bathroom was the size of a cupboard fitting in a small shower, wc and whb with no bathroom. Only one chair was provided in the room, so partner had to sit on bed. No hairdrier was provided but there were five power points (!) above the desk which was jammed next to the bed. The room is probably the smallest double you'll find in a supposed four star hotel in the UK - see my photos!

On the night we booked in the hotel was full (wedding that day), but after complaining we were offered a better room the following night which matched the standards you expect in a four star hotel.

The breakfast was excellent, with poached eggs freshly prepared to order.

We ate two meals in the attached Stables pub which were good value and well prepared, and sensibly priced.

Internet connections were exceptionally fast, and the staff quickly and effeciently fixed a set up problem on my PC to enable me to connect using Wifi.

All the staff (reception, conference and catering) were very helpful and courteous.

Weetwood Hall was a student hall of residence, and this room was obviously a single bedroom in the past with a small ensuite added on. The venue has excellent conference centre facilities and the 'junior' rooms are best suited to use by single conference attendees. Only book 'junior' rooms if you want to relive your student days, otherwise best avoided!

Room Tip: Junior rooms are very small, and best suited to singles. Avoid 135 which is tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AberdeenshireSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay.
We are delighted to read breakfast was excellent and you also enjoyed dining at our pub, the stables situated in our courtyard.

We are sorry to read that you were not happy with your original room choice, however it’s reassuring to read that the room move was a success. We note you didn’t book direct with ourselves so we will look into the room descriptions on third party sites. Please review our website to view the various accommodation types we have to offer.

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the helpfulness of our team, these kind comments motivate our team and will be passed on.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Weetwood Hall in the future.

Kind Regards

Nadine Flanze
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    275
    134
    52
    35
See reviews for
130
278
16
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

had a lovely time at weetwood, didnt spend much time in hotel as in leeds for a family party, however stayed in a family room which was spacious and immaculate with lovely fluffy towels.

Had a drink at the bar upon return from party even though was almost midnight we were served by a happy smiling barman, with a good choice of beverages. The hotel is really gorgeous and has a sense of calm as soon as you drive up to it, the reception staff were really nice and the breakfast was the best we've ever had in the whole world and we've been round most of it, although our 3 year old pointed out that his cereal box should be put in the "cycling mummy" (re-cycling) not the bin provided!

we had passes to go to the spa which was great the pool was brilliant for little ones, however not on site its at Cookridge Hall about 3 miles away fine if you have a car, the 1 complaint is that we were allowed to take the towels from our room to cookridge but then we had to return them to weetwood which even though is a short distance in leeds traffic took us nearly half hour which held up our day.

overall though would definitely stay again :) x

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your complimentary recommendations regarding your experiences here at Weetwood Hall. In particular, our Head Chef will be delighted to hear our breakfast was the best you have ever had.

We are glad you had the opportunity to use the complimentary facilities provided via Cookridge Hall, however we apologise that you couldn’t leave our towels at the leisure club due to us being a separate facility.

It’s a delight to read you would stay again and we look forward to inviting you back to Weetwood Hall Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We booked this hotel for three nights with our Tesco Clubcard vouchers and were given a junior double room. The room was quite small but clean and nicely furnished. The bathroom on the otherhand was large with a shower over the bath.
We haven't slept in a double bed for years and hadn't realised how small it was. The bed was jammed in between a desk and a bedside cabinet and quite near the wall. I didn't sleep very well every time I turned I hit my arm on the desk.
This hotel is attached to a conference centre and I think the room would be ideal for one person using it on business but not for a couple.
There were weddings on two of the nights and it was quite noisy in the puplic areas.
The first night we ate in the Stables bar as it was apart from the main hotel and a great idea.
The second night we ate in the Brasserie and although the meal was exellent it was spoilt by the guests at the wedding coming through to buy drinks.
It also seemed to be the meeting place for the guests attending the evening reception and for some reason they congregated behind our table and were extremely noisy.
I read in a reply to another review that alternative dining options are offered when a function is on but we were not offered any.
I would stay there again but would chose a bigger room and hopefully not when a wedding was on.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljd48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I am sorry to hear our junior double room wasn’t quite what you were looking for. The various accommodation types we have to offer are available to view on our website so that you may see what we have to offer for your next stay with us.

We are pleased to note your kind comments regarding our food; please accept our apologies for the disturbances you encountered.

When the hotel is hosting functions in our Woodlands Restaurant, we do offer as standard alternative dining for hotel residents, which should be offered to all guests on arrival, and advertised at the reception along with the appropriate menu. We sincerely apologise if this was not the case.

We look forward to inviting you back to Weetwood in the future.

Kind Regards

Nadine Flanze
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel does its job well. I stayed at the weetwood the night before my wedding. I booked a triple room for me and my bridesmaids. The room was large, clean and functional. Room service was good. On the Friday night we ate at the Stables pub which is independent but in the grounds of the hotel. Food and service here were both good and very reasonably priced, they accommodated 20 of us. The Weetwood haver me a very good start to my wedding weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeliaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
It goes without saying we are delighted to receive your fantastic feedback.



We will be sure to pass on your recommendations to our team at the Stables Pub and we are thrilled to hear that the Wedding weekend was a success.



We hope to welcome you and your husband back to Weetwood Hall Hotel in the future.



Kind Regards





Nadine Flanze

Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We've stayed here several times in April and May and whilst the hotel has several positive points, it also has one major flaw that marks it down in my opinion. The positives are a pleasant location, good free wi-fi and it's own pub in the grounds selling several real ales. In addition the rooms were fine with the superior doubles quite a lot bigger than the junior ones.
The major drawback is that unlike many other hotels, Weetwood does not have a self-contained function suite so if there is a Wedding, it takes place in the main restaurant at the front of the hotel. I'm no killjoy, having enjoyed many a merry wedding in my time, but the hotel bar and reception are dominated by wedding guests plus the music from the disco, so residents are left to fight for space and service with no hope of peace or quiet! Residents are better off eating out and staying away which isn’t what I’d expect to be recommending for a 4 star hotel. One suggestion would be that they open a private residents only bar well away from reception if they are hosting a function.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHK65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2011
It’s a delight to read that you have been our guest several times over the last two months. However we are disheartened to hear that your recent stay was not fully satisfactory.

I greatly appreciate your feedback and want to assure you that we by no means wish for any of our guests to feel we don’t provide adequate service. Our aim is to look after and cater for all of our guests and I apologise that this was not what you experienced during your stay. We do offer a venue for Hotel residents to dine away from any function whenever this is required so that every guest may be catered for, in addition to our Stables Pub. It is standard practice for us to offer dining facilities to all guests on arrival, and I must apologise if you weren't made aware of this information on your most recent visit.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to Weetwood Hall in the near future.

Kind Regards

Nadine Flanze
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We have stayed here on a number of occasions so that says something but if you are looking for a restful, pleasant stay, do not stay when there is a wedding function on. Both nights were write offs in terms of spending any time at the hotel in the evening. Wedding guests swamp all the public spaces and on the first night, this included queuing at the bar, drunken wedding guests falling on residents in the brasserie, very noisy. We asked at reception where we were expected to go and were told the Stables - ok, but its a pub and this is a four star hotel. Additionally, breakfast is always a bit hit and miss - on every occasion (around 9 nights in the last couple of months), we have had to ask for juice, cereal, yogurt etc. which have run out and not been replaced. Also,picky maybe - but after that many stays, we might expect to have been recognised but not a glimmer. We've also stayed at the Village recently and not only were we recognised but staff remembered why we were staying. And finally, we expected a small double room, that was clear when we booked, but the bathroom was very smelly and though we mentioned this to reception, we heard nothing further. Weetwood need to take care of all their guests not just wedding parties and pay attention to customer service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to read that you frequently stay with us at Weetwood Hall, however I am sorry to hear that we fell short on this occasion and you didn’t experience the level of customer service we have to offer to our hotel guests, whatever the purpose of their stay.
We have taken onboard your feedback and please be assured that your comments will used to improve the services and products we offer.
I do hope your recent experience hasn’t tainted your view of Weetwood Hall and you will come and stay with us again in the near future. Should you allow us this pleasure I would love to the opportunity to personally meet with you so I can restore your good faith in Weetwood Hall.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Nadine Flanze
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I stayed at Weetwood Hall for 2 nights (my partner joined me on the second night) for a friend's wedding (the wedding meal and reception were being held there).
I was really impressed - the room was small, but very clean, as was the bathroom. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The food was lovely - from the meal in the restaurant on the first night (the steak was more medium-rare than rare, but that's a small point and not unusual in England), to the breakfast buffet which provided hot and tasty food , to the wedding meal and evening buffet.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and would stay there again if I'm ever in Leeds.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHeatonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WeetwoodHall, Guest Relations Manager at Weetwood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are pleased to hear all elements of your stay were enjoyable, especially the wedding you attended.

We hope to welcome you and your partner back to Weetwood Hall next time you are in Leeds.

Kind Regards

Nadine Flanze
Customer Service Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
0.3 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
2.1 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#49 of 87 in Leeds
921 reviews
1.4 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
394 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weetwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weetwood Hall Hotel

Property: Weetwood Hall Hotel
Address: Otley Road, Leeds LS16 5PS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Leeds
#15 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Weetwood Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within nine acres of woodland and gardens and built around a 17th Century Manor House, Weetwood Hall offers extensive four-star hotel services and facilities, along with a conference centre. There are 114 en-suite bedrooms, offering a variety of different styles of accommodation from junior double to feature bedrooms. Weetwood Hall also offers three dining options: Woodlands Suite, Brasserie and the award winning Stables Pub which has Cask Marque accreditation for its real ales. There is extensive onsite free parking and high speed internet. Complimentary leisure facilities are available to our residents at the nearby Cookridge Hall Health & Fitness Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Weetwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weetwood Hall Leeds
Weetwood Hall Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing