We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so KINGston Hotel”
Review of The Kingston Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Kingston Hotel
Ranked #20 of 25 Leeds B&B and Inns
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so KINGston Hotel”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel was very hard to locate from the road. The sat nav knew where it was but the street was very difficult to spot while driving as it looked like a back alley. The sign for the Hotel is black and at least 15ft in the air so cant again be seen while driving. There was two of us and even the passenger couldn't see the sign. When we found the hotel it looked lovely from the outside and we were pleased with our choice. We were greeted at the door by a very polite man who took us to the reception/breakfast room to sign in. We opted for the room and breakfast package and paid acordingly. We had a dog which the man only charged us a minimum amount to stay aswell. We were then given our key and told that the room was downstairs but no offer to help with our bags was given. They told us our room number and pointed us in the right direction. When we entered the room we were pleased with how it looked at first. The room had a flat screen tv which worked fine and tea making facilities were there too. As we were attending a weddding we needed to get ready quickly and get off to Leeds town hall. Whilst getting ready we discovered that they provided a hair dryer which was a bonus but sadly there were 2 big mirrors in the room but the plugs were no where near so we couldn't use the hair dryer as we couldn't see to style our hair. The en-suite was small but functional to a degree as the toilet was too close to the sink and the shower door opened towards it aswell and if opened without noticing it would smash on the sink itself. The sink has a massive crack and should have been replaced. the grouting in the shower was poorly done and there was a loose tile by the door aswell. The trim around the floor tiles was higher than the tiles and was very painful when stubbing toes on it. The ceiling light wasn't screwed to the rose fully and the top of the wardrobe and mirrors hadn't seen a duster in a long time. The windows secondary glazing was broken and had cigerette ends in it so looked like it had been like that for quite some time. There were marks all over the walls which should have been washed or painted over. The theme of the room was trying to be moroccan but this failed badly. When we came back that evening from the wedding we were up all night as the bed was horrible to sleep on. It felt like the matress was very thin and the bedframe was very hard. When we got out of bed we went to make a cup of tea and the one of the UHT milk pods was sour and had curdled. We decided at this point to go for breakfast. When we entered the breakfast room we noticed that the seating was at a communal table which wouldn't have seated everyone if we all had come for breakfast together. The continental breakfast was on display and looked very appetising but appearances can be very deceptive as the juices and pastries were not fresh but supermarket basic range. We booked and was offered a cooked breakfast but again we were dissappointed as we were informed that they don't do sausages or bacon only eggs, hash browns, beans, mushrooms and tinned tomatoes. We were told on the phone that it was a full english breakfast but this was not the case. When we finally received our cooked breakfast it was flat cold and the eggs were well overcooked. The toast came after we had nearly finished and looked like it hadn't seen the toaster or grill. We went back to our room and left very dissappointed and we felt that we should have had more for what we had paid. Sadly our visit was marred by the hotel and we won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    41
    40
    45
    58
See reviews for
33
70
24
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday. Booked in late last minute. Having eventually found the hotel I was surprised to see what £30 pays for. Initial reaction was good with a nice and tidy parking area. The reception was clean and tidy as was the room I got. The bathroom was better than some considerably more expensive hotels Ive stayed at.
I didnt get a good look round the hotel or sampled the food because of time constraints but have to say if I needed a hotel in Leeds that isnt expensive I would definitely use the Kingston again.
Looking at previous reviews I agree that it is excellent for any people from out of town visiting the Leeds Arena.
RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hibbileeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here, we went to see a band at the O2 Academy, this hotel was the perfect location as it was less than a mile away from the venue, upon arrival, we got greeted by the manager Who very kindly sign does in and offered to carry our luggage to our room, we was offered a key in case we came in later than the lock-up time, breakfast was 5 pounds per person extra which we took advantage of, The breakfast was very nice with plenty to choose from but my only problem was with the full English breakfast, there was no bacon, The rooms are quite spacious, there is a large TV, hairdryer mirrors shower, there is a few grubby marks that I noticed but as I'm from Derbyshire I'm don't really care.. I've been brought up to be a hard case not like the city pussies

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashbobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked the Kingston because it was near the Leeds Arena but had difficulty finding the turn into the terrace, a short tree-lined lane of imposing early 19c houses, because it's off a busy road and surrounded by many new buildings (mostly university).

After circling a few times we arrived and were given a warm welcome including an offer of help with bags. We had a twin (two double beds) on the second floor with dormer windows which would have a great view over the city but for the tall trees outside. It was spacious, had spotless bed linen and towels and comfortable beds. Two small gripes - the shower was difficult to regulate (what strange shower isn't?) and there was no bedside lamp although the two sockets between the beds were very handy for chargers.

Although we pre-booked room only (£45 for a Saturday night), we decided on arrival to add breakfast. This turned out to be astonishing value at just £5 each, offering a variety of cereals, fresh and canned fruit, yoghurts, pastries, croissants and a freshly cooked full Yorkshire breakfast of bacon, sausage, egg, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans which would put some 5* places to shame. My friend asked for scrambled egg and a plate arrived with the eggs plus all the rest - when she said she didn't eat meat, it was whisked away and a fresh plate brought straight away. It was pleasant to sit at the one big dining table with four other guests and chat about the fabulous Leonard Cohen concert the night before.

There is a small lounge, with magazines and TV, adjoining the dining area and reception. There's limited car parking at the front of the hotel but the Arena car park, £5 a day, is just down the hill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dottie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I wanted a hotel close to the new Leeds Arena and didn't want to pay a fortune. I had room 24 on the top floor at the front. The bed was clean with good white duvet and pillows. There were three pillows though I only used two, the bed was comfy and the pillows fine, unlike other reviews. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful - they let me use the house phone for no charge when I had a problem with my mobile, they drew me a map of how to get to the Arena (10 minutes' walk) and generally gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. The shower was good, with plenty of hot water. Tea and coffee making was good, there was a hair dryer and basically good facilities for one night. Downsides were no bedside light - if I hadn't had a light on my Kindle I would had to have got out of bed to switch the main light off. Also, breakfast isn't served until 7.30am, which is ridiculously late for a city centre hotel like this. I had to leave at 6.45am to drive back to the Midlands, so missed out. However, it's very god value at £45 for one night, and if I was going to the Arena again I would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was quiet, being at the top of the house and at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shani E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have a room on the second floor and it was really noisy especially at night time.

Our shower had a crack and stains on the floor. .

The room was quite spacious but the bedding did not feel very clean, and had dust.

The room had the usual facilities for tea and coffee - there were coffee stains on the tray.

I think it is a great hotel and room - just needs a proper clean!

I think it is excellent value as it is 20 mins walk from the City Centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MisbahHaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a basement room and it was very noisy. However, service was very good. Parking was a bit of an issue. However, price wise it's very good value. The room was clean and bathroom quite spacious. Location was good.

Room Tip: Don't get a basement room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zltm089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Ibis Leeds Centre
#30 of 87 in Leeds
1,200 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kingston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kingston Hotel

Property: The Kingston Hotel
Address: 5 Kingston Terrace, Leeds LS2 9BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kingston Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Kingston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing