We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This theatre is superb and the artistic direction brilliant”

West Yorkshire Playhouse
Ranked #21 of 148 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“This theatre is superb and the artistic direction brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Worth every penny and so much choice. Well worth it. The food is on the expensive side but for fresh home cooked you can't complain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank buddhatim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    96
    12
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place for something out of the ordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

West Yorkshire Playhouse doesn't pretend to be everyone's favourite theatre but, when you do go, you will enjoy the experience tremendously. We have seen ballets, musical productions and plays here (the last was Sherlock Holmes) and the atmosphere is excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hrhtheduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“School canteen food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The West Yorkshire playhouse is the perfect location if you really want to find the worst quality food, (highly reminiscent of the least inspiring school lunches), served by scowling staff, and be completely overcharged for it.

Leeds has innumerable, and some wonderful, eateries - please - go and visit one of them before you watch the excellent shows at the Playhouse. (The theatre is great for entertainment - and appalling at food)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Angri69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Still quality entertainment after all these years...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great range of productions, high production standards and helpful staff. Only quibble on my recent visit was that the time of the performance was put back by half an hour with no explanation and after dashing to get there on time, some notice of this change would have reduced my stress levels.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyEmmaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sherlock Holmes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Awesome play - my only gripe was that I had a barrier blocking part of my view! Good value drinks and great sized theatre.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hannah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Yorkshire Playhouse also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to West Yorkshire Playhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing