We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with lovely friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Leeds Centre
Ranked #9 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 14, 2009

I arrived at the Novotel in July with 11 of my friends for my hen night. Although check in wasnt mean to be until 2 we managed to check into all of our rooms except 1 at 12 o clock when we arrived. We asked for a triple room which we got for a generous price of £84. There was a double bed and two single beds and although the double bed was very comfortable the singles were more like sofa beds and a bit on the hard side.The room itself was lovely and spacious, the bathroom and toilet very clean with all toiletries and towels provided. We were very happy to all be given a key each as usually when weve visited other hotels there has only been 1 key per room. After an evening exploring the local nightlife we arrived back at the hotel approx 2am to find the bar still open which we were very happy about - it closed at about 2.30 after we had ordered ourselves a couple more drinks. Big thanks to Les the doorman who was very calm and friendly to our group of drunk women! We didnt manage to leave our rooms as the expected 10am the next morning however was not disturbed and finally checked out at 12noon. The hotel was fantastic and i would recommend it to anyone. Although good for business people it is a great place for hen/stag groups also as is near all the local nightlife.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amesy_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,930 - 1,936 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2009

The location is good enough. Car park fine. Public areas ok, service average to ok. But you cant cool the room. We called reception and someone came and said 'that's the best your'e going to get!' Very uncomfortable. I wouldnt go back for this reason.

The breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nagarish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

I was in Leeds for 4 months and had to come up with a good rate (and a good hotel) and they offered great corporate rates. The lady (Denise) was very helpful and booked us in and registered our A-club memberships.

The service is very good and great idea that the food menu is the same regardless where you eat it (bar, restaurant or room); brilliant idea. And the food is good too. Only a stones throw from Leeds station and 4 minute walk to city centre.

With 4 briliant restaurants around the corner you are spoilt for choice! Mio Modo (Italian), La Grillade (French), Naheew (Indian) and Primo (Italian).

Same about the choice of channels on the telly. Typical international (French) standard With France25 and TV5, Rai Uno and TVE and the basic 5 UK channels (ok plus FiveUS, ITV2), would be nice to have a bit more choice.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gloggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I stayed here for three nights and really liked it. I had one of the warmest welcomes from a lady on reception called Denise, who really was fantastic. We got talking about local restaurants, and she followed it up by asking around, calling me in my room and giving me the details. Talk about extra mile! I arrived on a Tuesday and complimentary cocktails and lovely canopies were being served- never had that at a business hotel before!
The rooms were great, but as with the whole hotel, it was way too hot. The window hardly opened and even with the air con up to the highest, I still found it uncomfortable. It was much worse in the main areas of the hotel.
I liked the separate loo and bathroom and the continental style shower. toiletries were nice and plenty of good towels. Sky telly and a fridge for your use was a bonus, especially as there was a great convenience store about two minutes walk away, so you could buy your own milk and cold drinks- always a good thing when you're in a hotel. There is a nice sofa in the room too, which you don't often get. I hate having to sit on the bed or lye down to watch telly, so its nice to have a separate seating area. Made the room much more comfortable.
My room was overlooking the back of the hotel which is Whitehall Square. Even though there is a big building site in the centre, it was still quite nice to look out. It also showed me that there were several restaurants and bars really close by, so if you don't want to eat in the hotel, which is very pricey, pop into one of those. Primo, right opposite, is a lovely little Italian restaurant and makes solo eaters very welcome.
Next time I come to Leeds on business, I'll definitely be booking the Novotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazzrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I staid with a couple of friends on Friday and Saturday.
Good points: city centre, no need to take a taxi, bar and nightclubs are not far way.
Staff was very nice and helpful. They recommended us a good restaurant and some few places to go out. Breakfast in the morning was very good as it was served until noon so went down around 11.30 and got a brunch ;-). Would definitly stay again.
A great week-end at a very reasonnable price...

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nib62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

Good business hotel with a central location close to the railway station. Caters well for the business traveller on a budget. Bar can get quite lively in the evenings. The only downside is the car park (which you need to be really careful to access - not for the faint hearted in anything larger than a family car!)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Stayed here with my wife while visiting our daughter at Leeds Uni. The hotel was clean and tidy and the staff were helpful. Our room was on an upper floorly and was exactly as expected from a modern city centre hotel. We had breakfast included and this was fine.
Leeds seems to be the night life hotspot of the North. On arrival at the hotel there were 'hen' groups checking in for a nights stay and our hearts sank. We had not come for a sleepless night BUT our fears were premature as we had no disturbance at all and slept well. It appears the hotel management are well practised at coping with weekend hen and stag groups but this hotel may not suit everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suffolkholidayperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Ibis Leeds Centre
#33 of 87 in Leeds
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,184 reviews
Hilton Leeds City
#36 of 87 in Leeds
2,311 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#16 of 87 in Leeds
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Leeds Centre

Address: 4 Whitehall Quay | Whitehall Quay, Leeds LS1 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leeds
#6 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#19 Business Hotel in Leeds
#22 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $67 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Leeds Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star Novotel Leeds Centre is located in the centre of Leeds suiting business travellers with eight meeting rooms for up to 80 people and WiFi internet. An equally attractive base for a short break or holiday, the hotel is close to shops, nightlife and the Leeds first Direct Arena. Novotel Leeds Centre offers Elements restaurant, bar, fitness suite, sauna, steam room and limited indoor pay parking on site. The main railway station is a few minutes walk away, Leeds Bradford Airport is approximately 15 km drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Leeds Centre Hotel Leeds
Accor Leeds Centre
Leeds Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing