We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth full price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Leeds Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Leeds Centre
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth full price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We booked this hotel because we needed somewhere cheap to stay after a friend's birthday. We booked through hotels.com and paid £56 for the room. For the money we paid, I think the hotel was ok but if I'd have paid the advertised rate of £159 I would have been very disappointed.

The check in and check out process was excellent and reception called us a taxi in the evening and let us know when it was outside. The free wifi was also a good touch. However, our room had hairs in the sink and the shower. Although the toilet looked clean it smelt of stale urine. At one point I was doing some sit ups and push ups in the room and the carpet had the same urine smell. The room was far too hot to sleep and adjusting the temperature seemed to take forever. The filter on the hair dryer was filthy so it kept over heating and cutting out.

If you're just after a budget place to sleep the the Novotel is a good option and it's location is also great. Just don't expect any luxury.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cupcake3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu21, Manager at Novotel Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback

I am available should you wish to speak direct. If you would like to please email myself at h3270-gm@accor.com.

Kind Regards

Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    807
    242
    61
    29
See reviews for
252
629
146
524
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hartlepool, united kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights as I was attending a course in Leeds with work. At £87 per room per night (midweek prices) it’s not cheap – but then I suppose that can be expected for the city centre location. Location is excellent. Right in the centre and five minutes walk from the train station. The reception area is lovely: modern and spacious. When I checked in with my colleagues, there was an extremely friendly guy offering us free glasses of wine (I don’t think this is every night) but we all took advantage and check-in wasn’t too long a wait.

The rooms are a little tired given the standard of the rest of the hotel. I’ve stayed in the Novotel Manchester before and I remember the room being a lot nicer. Stained carpet, lumpy bed and generally worn décor. It was quiet though, a decent temperature and with a nice bathroom so I didn’t make an issue of it. Breakfast was great, buffet style, tons of choice and good service. No complaints there at all, in fact all the staff I came across were really friendly.

One of my colleagues did have a problem with his room and complained when we checking out. He was dealt with quickly and efficiently and given a reduction in the room rate.

I’d stay here again if I’m ever in Leeds again, but to be honest I’d probably have a shop about first to see if I could get anything better for a similar price. The public areas of the hotel are great, but the rooms are in definite need of an upgrade.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu21, Manager at Novotel Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to leave feedback.

I have taken note of your comments regarding the room to share with the relevant departments.

I am available should you wish to speak direct. If you would like to please email myself at h3270-gm@accor.com.

Kind Regards

Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
223 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Location is perfect, just around the corner from Leeds train station and within walking distance to all bars and restaurant in the centre of Leeds.
Check in was ok, I advised I had not stayed at the hotel before, however I was not shown which direction the lifts were in, explained where the gym was or advise where breakfast was strived. Luckily I knew to as for a card to access the gym after a colleague told me.
Room was ok. Few stains on carpet etc but nothing over the usual wear and tear...all rooms were very warm even with thermostat controls.
Gym in good, compact but has everything you will need for a good work out.
The bar is nice, spacious and modern, as is reception area.
Breakfast was lovely, but serve yourself, nothing you would be missing from it, great selection.
Reception was a lot kore helpful on check out & arranged a taxi.
Price was very reasonable for a city centre hotel including breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HannahBWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu21, Manager at Novotel Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I have noted your comments that will be shared with the Department Managers.

We will look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Spent 2 nights on a business trip in this centrally located hotel. Situated very close to the train station, yet in a very quiet area. Room was very spacious and clean, with very good free wi-fi connection. Service was excellent and breakfast quite good. Will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu21, Manager at Novotel Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Everything about this trip was perfect - hotel reception, food, bar and a superb executive room.
From booking in, which took seconds, to checking out which was swift and efficient, everything was as it always should be - first-class.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SteveDevanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu21, Manager at Novotel Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, I was happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will look forward to your return visit.

Kind Regards

Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswaldtwistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good location near the train station, 5 mins walk to the city centre, clean and comfortable room with usual facilities.
Friendly staff with bar and restaurant although did not try as we prefer to eat out.
Booked cheap deal for pre-paid room only but breakfast considerable extra costs!
Overall decent value for the money paid and suited our purpose for overnight stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mathieu21, Manager at Novotel Leeds Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out to leave feedback.

I was happy you decided to stayed with us for your weekend away. We will be happy to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mathieu Batut
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#3 of 86 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Leeds Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Leeds Centre

Property: Novotel Leeds Centre
Address: 4 Whitehall Quay | Whitehall Quay, Leeds LS1 4HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Leeds
#5 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#10 Family Hotel in Leeds
#19 Business Hotel in Leeds
#22 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Leeds Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 4 star Novotel Leeds Centre is located in the centre of Leeds suiting business travellers with eight meeting rooms for up to 80 people and WiFi internet. An equally attractive base for a short break or holiday, the hotel is close to shops, nightlife and the Leeds first Direct Arena. Novotel Leeds Centre offers Elements restaurant, bar, fitness suite, sauna, steam room and limited indoor pay parking on site. The main railway station is a few minutes walk away, Leeds Bradford Airport is approximately 15 km drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Leeds Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Leeds Centre Hotel Leeds
Accor Leeds Centre
Leeds Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing