We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Theatre

Grand Theatre
Ranked #18 of 149 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the heart of Leeds, the Grand Theatre opened in 1878 and has been entertaining people ever since. With a wide programme from musicals to stand-up, opera to drama and ballet to family shows, there's bound to be something that you'll enjoy.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

We saw Dame Edna at this theatre at the weekend. It is a beautiful little theatre which you have to see to believe. It is like stepping back in time in a good way. We sat in the stalls and our seats were perfect. Drinks were reasonably priced and the staff were lovely. It is worth ordering interval drinks as the bars get very busy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanandRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    409
    233
    46
    18
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what beautiful building!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Went to see Barry Humphries farewell tour. The theatre building was amazingly beautiful.
The theatre was just the right size for the show. Staff were friendly and helpful.
Enjoyable night.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KLH861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dame Edna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We went to see Dame Edna last night in this lovely theatre. The show was simply hilarious albeit very near the knuckle at times. we were sitting in the upper circle, seats were comfy but definitely not spacious , the view was actually quite good but the only criticism would be the heat. It was extremely warm and rather uncomfortable at times. We found must of the staff helpful and polite with the exception of a woman working behind the bar, who was brusque and unfriendly. However this definitely did not deter from a great entertaining night out.

Helpful?
Thank rubles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Barry Humphries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

It was generally funny to hilarious. Some of the 'irony' was very close to offensive. Still tribute must be paid to an absolute treasure for nearly 60 years.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful venue and staff !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Attended this beautiful theatre last night to see Dame Edna Everage who was brilliant !! We had a box in the upper circle and although maybe a little high for some people the view was very good. Toilets were very spaceous and clean and, unlike some theatres, there was a lift for guests to use. The staff were very helpful and courteous, but I must give a special mention for Pat who works in the theatre box office and whose customer service was excellent especially when assisting me with exchanging our tickets, she is a credit to her profession.
We had a lovely time at this beautiful theatre made even more special by the way the great staff looked after us so well.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Porter555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Theatre also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Grand Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing