We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Hearing Fund UK Gala” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Theatre

Grand Theatre
Ranked #21 of 148 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the heart of Leeds, the Grand Theatre opened in 1878 and has been entertaining people ever since. With a wide programme from musicals to stand-up, opera to drama and ballet to family shows, there's bound to be something that you'll enjoy.
Weesp, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Hearing Fund UK Gala”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We attended the 2nd annual Gala for a very special Charity, The Hearing Fund UK. This took place at the Grand Theatre in Leeds, a beautiful old theatre with opulent ceilings and balconies. The seats were so comfortable. We attended a VIP event before and after the show and found ourselves in a delightful foyer and large room where we were able to mingle with the generous Stars who had offered their time and talents to hold this spectacular concert for the charity, such as Merrill Osmond, Gareth Gates, The Bachelors, Jonathan Ansell, The New Jersey Boys, Deaf Childrens Choir, Shane Ritchie and many others! It was brilliant and we're looking to coming back again next year!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SporeKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    229
    45
    18
    36
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hair Spray the Musical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Excellent evening, loved the seats and atmospere of the theatre.
Will definetly use this venue again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HollyBasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Many visits to many shows”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This theatre is a superb asset to Leeds city I go on a very regular basis to see a variety of shows and I am never disappointed I regular take my teenage son and we both found the open day most interesting and informative. The staff should be applauded for their helpful and friendly attitude

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Just grand!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Went to see the production of Hairspray at the end of August. What a fab upbeat show in fab surroundings with polite helpful staff. Went to my new fab place for something to eat and drink before the show, the aptly named Just Grand! Vintage Tearoom in Handpicked Hall just down the Grand Arcade from the Grand Theatre. So Just Grand! all round. Recommend them both as they appear to appeal to all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hairspray - Absolutely Superb - Bravo!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We saw Hairspray last evening at the Grand and although I had high expectations, these were exceeded by such a fabulous, talented and hard working cast. This show was packed full of energy, fun, singing and dancing right from beginning to end. At times I got goose bumps I was so moved by how the story was translated by the cast - the audience loved it and it was great to see the theatre so packed and buoyant, the atmosphere was superb. I have been to various theatre productions around the world but never have I been so impressed as I was last night. It was great to have a little dance at the end with the cast and I looked around and soaked it all up as everyone was happy, dancing and cheering - I really hope the cast realised how much the audience appreciated their performance, it was amazing! Thank you to all the cast, theatre company and helpful staff for making it such a night to remember!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerningcustomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Theatre also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Grand Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing