We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”
Review of The Food Academy

The Food Academy
Ranked #475 of 1,871 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I attended one of the Platinum Dining Events which was hosted by Michelin Starred Chef of the Burlington Restaurant, Devonshire Arms. Having said that, the majority of the staff on duty were the actual staff usually working at the Food Academy, as I have been here before.

I Chose the tasting menu which was absolutely awesome. Everything about the evening was spot on. Service, presentation, food. My favourite(s) were the "Gin and Tonic" desert, the Goosenargh Duck and Foie Gras with pickled Blackberry, the Orkney Scallop with Celeriac & Truffle and the Butternut with Hen's Yolk. Having said all that it really was quite difficult to choose as all were delicious.

Downside of this place is it is only open usually between 10-4. Look out for these special events on an evening as well as they are not to be missed. Well worth a visit during the day, the grazing plates they offer are all very good and reasonably priced. Their signature dish of Duck Egg and Soldiers is a must for desert.

Also worth mentioning is the lovely view over the roof tops of Leeds City Centre.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab food great value”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stumbled on this restaurant and was most impressed. The food was gorgeous and very well presented and very reasonably priced for what you got. Enjoyed it so much, returned the next week and had just as good experience second time. The more people hear about this place the better in my opinion it will get, as the atmosphere will improve. Great menu options too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l238284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice place nice food and worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I had not been up to the 3rd floor restaurant since the departure of Anthony's at Flannels so was a little bit wary of what I would find.

It all looked very familiar in it's layout with a few new works of art on the wall. The menu however was completly different. I ordered the 58°c Cooked Spiced Lamb Burger as I was quite hungary and a sandwhich seemed too light an offering to fill the gap. It was a bit of a wait for it to arrive, presumably to get the thermometer to read 58° precisly. "Its gone to 57°- quick back to the kitchen with it."
I did indicate to a member of staff I had been waiting 30 minutes and was told it was cooked from fresh and therefore required a cooking time of 15 - 20 minutes. Not sure what accounted for the other 10 minutes, that remains a mystery.
Despite the wait when it arrived it looked very well presented and was a feast for the eyes. and when tasted it was also a feast for the tastebuds. It was indeed spicy but not in an unpleasant way. Flavour with bite sums it up . Both the coleslaw and cucumber yogurt accompaniment provided the right contrast to make it a really well balanced tasty dish. It also came with parsnip crisps in their own little bag. However I am glad I ordered a side portion of chips as it added the additional substance to banish my hunger. I am not sure the chrisps would have done it on thier own.
All in all a very good place for lunch and would go again to try other things from the menu that looked good when delivered to other tables during our lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fairplay666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Two cups of tea and meze, great lunch place”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Took my wife here for lunch overlooking Leeds. She loved it enough to put it on her bucket list of places to take friends when shopping on days off

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank francisedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious afternoon tea!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I had wanted to try here for ages but have always been put off by it being above Flannels - a place I really dislike.
I can strongly recommend that you are not put off by the snooty shop staff, just head up to the third floor for a real treat!

The Food Academy provides a great menu in lovely surroundings, minus the heaving crowds of the chain restaurant nasties.

I agree that the service can be a wee bit nervous at times (they are trainees), but it is attentive and polite. We had a delicious afternoon tea, and had I not been driving would have supplemented this with a very reasonably priced glass of fizzy stuff!

If anything could have been better the mini loaf cakes could have been a little lighter but they were tasty nonetheless. The duck egg did not disappoint! We were very over excited when it arrived and loved the little sprinkle of raspberry and lemon sugar and shortbread soldier! The mezze plates that were going out to other diners looked divine.

I do appreciate that everyone is entitled to their opinion but this is NOT Anthony's. It is a smashing bunch of catering students and their mentors doing a cracking job in the centre of town. I feel some of the reviewers have kind of missed the point. I really hope this place thrives and goes from strength to strength - maybe doing a couple of evenings a week? What was particularly nice for us was seeing an ex-student really enjoying her work placement. That is what the Food Academy is about.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBlackClio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Commercial Manager at The Food Academy, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments and constructive feedback, which of course we will act upon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Food Academy also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Food Academy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing