We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to meet for coffee n cake.”
Review of wellingtons of wetherby - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
wellingtons of wetherby
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Somewhere over the rainbow
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A great place to meet for coffee n cake.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The cafe may be small but the ambience is lovely, its a warm and friendly atmosphere and the food is pretty damn good too. I've had sandwiches, cake and coffee here, and it never fails. A must to try is the Rocky Road slice with Mars Bar..... scrummy. The service is great, so when in Wetherby get yourself to Wellingtons!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trower1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So much more than your average coffee shop”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have been going to Wellingtons regularly since it opened last year and have yet to have anything other than perfection.
The menu is fantastically varied with really appealing daily specials. The soups are delicious and everything you order is beautifully presented.
I have yet to see the place less than 2/3rds full whatever time of day I go and the staff are so friendly and attentive regardless of the fact that they are so busy.
When you go please make sure you save room for dessert as the cakes and pastries are exceptional I could easily eat one of everything.
This is how all cafes should be. Well done for setting the bar so high and keep up the great work!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsT27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent cafe!!!!!!”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

I regularly visit Wellingtons with my friend and we absolutely love it! So welcoming and they can't do enough for you! There is always an amazing choice and everything is so fresh and homemade. I always have the sandwiches and my friend the soup and each time we are always so pleased never a disappointing meal! The crispie cakes are amazing - i wont shout too loud about them incase you all now go and they run out but WOW those and the millionaires shortbreads are just superb! Anyway better dash I am off to Wellingtons for lunch! 10/10 star rating for this fine cafe in Wetherby centre.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere.”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Went to Wellingtons for lunch and had a superb meal in relaxed surroundings. Coped with my wife's gluten-free diet with ease.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yedmondale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you visit a tea shop in Wetherby it has to be Wellingtons”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

First class tea, coffee and cakes in this newly opened tea shop in Wetherby. I have visited several times since it opened in November. The service is excellent and there is a refreshingly friendly atmosphere with a greeting for all the customers, not just the many who seem to be regulars. I understand that all the food is made on the premises, most of it by the proprietress and that all the ingredients are sourced locally. A good place for either a quick coffee or lunch either on your own or with friends.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibraryTicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed wellingtons of wetherby also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing