We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not all that SASsy....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not all that SASsy....”
Reviewed June 21, 2009

Having read other recent reviews my husband and I decided to stay at the Radisson SAS during a recent trip to Leeds.
We booked a business class room for one night which included breakfast. At £136 a night we didn’t think this was bad value.
The positives were a friendly welcome on checking in, a large clean room, convenient location right in the centre of Leeds and free broadband access.
For us the downsides were possibly most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, the TV not working properly and lack of the promised bathrobe and slippers. These were the things that we didn’t notice straight away. We arrived in the afternoon and promptly went out to meet friends in The Light for dinner. By the time we got back to our room it was a little too late to start complaining about the mattress that was very thin and far too soft, the TV not working properly (although there was a notice about the pay TV issues). I would have liked at least be able to change channels and alter the volume!
Then the following morning we went down to breakfast with around half an hour to spare before end of service. This I would not recommend because what was left was either solidified or very greasy if you wanted the hot food. Our order for coffee was taken and then we were ignored for about 10 minutes. There were only another 2 or 3 tables occupied at this point so nobody was rushed off their feet. Other guests were seated while we waited for our coffee and received their hot drinks. My husband had to ask again and finally our coffee arrived.
We have stayed in other Radisson hotels before and never been disappointed but on this occasion we were.
A few nights before this we’d stayed in a Travelodge and received a much nicer breakfast and far better value for money. The bed was comfy and the TV worked properly!
Would we stay at the Radisson SAS in Leeds again? No.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiDame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    570
    260
    116
    76
See reviews for
226
708
60
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

I have spent a lot of time in City centre chain owned hotels over the past few years. The Radisson is one of the best I have come across. it is certainly the best in Leeds. Large well equipped room, very quiet. Free internet. The location is great for business, shopping and nights out. The staff were so helpful during the whole five nights of my stay including being very flexible about check out times as my schedule was uncertain. I have seen some winges on this site about the bar prices but there is a pub across the road with ten different cask ales on tap!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottesford
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

Stayed here for a night out in Leeds , the hotel is ideally located for both nightlife and shopping . The room we stayed in was "modern" (slightly bizzare styling) , the bathroom was great but space in the room was wasted by the central furniture . The hotel was linked to the light shopping centre where our car was parked @£15 for 24 hours . Did not eat or drink in the hotel so can't comment on this . Overall the hotel was of a good quality and I would return .

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My other half booked this hotel for my birthday weekend & I was very impressed.

We stayed in a modern, minimalistic room (think it was called electric).

The hotel is within walking distance of the shops (5 mins) so great for shopaholics.

The hotel is in the city centre so you're in the middle of the nightlife so can be a little loud - but this was not an issue for us.

I would highly recommend a visit to ''Anthony's'' restaurant. We have eaten in some of London's top Restaurants (Restaurant Gordon Ramsay, The Square, The Cinamon Club etc) and really rated Anthony's.

Would also recommend a trip to the Gym/ Spa.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdgmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Would definetly reccomend this hotel for either business or leisure.

Myself and my partner went for 2 nights and upgraded to a business room which was very big. Loved the complimentary slippers and dressing gowns!

Good atmosphere, great service all night. Breakfast was served very quickly.

Fantastic break for us! Pitty we can't afford to do it more often

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0nest_traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2009

I stayed here the weekend of the 15th-17th May 2009 with 11 others on my hen do. It was booked through a different company but I had researched it on trip advisor first as I wanted to stay somewhere nice and it lived up to previous good reviews. The central location of the hotel was fantastic - close to the train station, shops, restaurants and bars. We were all very impressed with our rooms which were very spacious and imaginatively decorated in different themes. There were a few quibbles about the bill during the weekend but they were resolved quickly and professionally by the staff who were friendly and helpful. The hotel catered well for weekend leisure customers with a late check out on the Sunday and relaxed breakfast arrangements until 12. My only criticism would be the price of the wine with the meal (£20 a bottle for quite standard wine) and the bar prices but overall we had a lovely weekend in a clean spacious well located hotel with friendly staff. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairydust09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, May 24, 2017
Google Translation
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2009

I stay in this hotel quite often when visiting Leeds and it is always excellent. My requests have always been met (early check-in etc) and the rooms are nice, clean with air-con/heating working correctly. Unless they do something drastically wrong I'll continue staying here after trying every other 4* and 5* hotel in Leeds. The one downside - £5 for a pint of lager in the bar is extortionate even by hotel standards. I'm glad my girlfriend was getting ready in the room or they may have ran a credit check before I got a white wine!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
#10 of 87 in Leeds
1,991 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,048 reviews
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,252 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#12 of 87 in Leeds
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Address: 1 The Light The Headrow, Leeds LS1 8TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Leeds
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and stylish, Radisson Blu Leeds is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. The meticulously restored building once served as the main office of the Leeds Permanent Building Society and has kept its original art deco style. Located in the Light complex, the hotel offers easy access to bars, restaurants and shopping plus attractions like the First Direct Arena. Each of the 147 chic bedrooms and suites is complete with amenities such as a mini bar and flat-screen television. Enjoy the creative fare of Fire Lake Grill House and Cocktail Bar, with an open kitchen and a great selection of grilled dishes, unique starters and handcrafted drinks. Guests also receive a discount at the Nuffield Health Leeds Fitness and Wellbeing Gym nearby. The conference space houses 10 meeting rooms over 2 floors which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 70 people. The historic ambiance of this Grade II listed building adds a touch of sophistication to any gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Rezidor, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds Hotel Leeds
Radisson Leeds
Leeds Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing