We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel in a central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Ranked #14 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Barnsley, South Yorks
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a central location”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We have just come back from a Friday/Saturday night break to Leeds, staying at the Radisson Blu. I got a really good deal on a business class room as I booked about 9 months out. The hotel is in a fantastic central location, 5 mins walk from railway, grand theatre with shops, restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Our room was lovely it looked out into The Light complex, but this meant it was quiet through the night. Breakfast was also lovely with everything you could ask for, the breakfast times are also really convenient running from 7-11 on Saturday and 7-12 on Sunday, so no need to rush about. All of the staff we came across were very friendly and helpful, the hotel also offers a late check out up to 6pm if your room is not required earlier, this is free also. Overall an excellent hotel in a superb location would definitely recommend and book again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesherbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    557
    244
    115
    74
See reviews for
208
686
57
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We spent this past Friday and Saturday night at the hotel visiting our daughters, son in law and grandson, fab value package that included breakfast. We got a taxi from the railway station, which was a waste as we were no more than five minutes walk away (out the main entrance, cross the main road towards City Square then up Park Row) The taxi took longer due to the one way system and traffic.
Check in was very professional and pleasant (Thank you Dan) He also included a map, and run down on the surrounding area....The German market, Trinity Shopping Centre, The Core, Victoria Quarter (all shops,) within 3 minutes walk, Call Lane (pubs) was ten minutes walk away. Park Row and the light centre were a stones throw, (Restaurants) virtually next door. The hotel is very central.
The first room we had was very spacious and well appointed, this was where we had a problem, It faced onto Cookridge Street, There was a street fair here, we did enquire when it finished, 9.30pm, we thought fine, but although the fair stopped, the noise of weekend revellers increased greatly as the night wore on, Finally went quiet, just after five am. (Now we know with a city centre hotel you expect some noise, but this was way way to much, at points I thought the revellers were in the room with us. (This was due to the poor secondary glazing)) Next morning I went to reception and asked for another room, with they obliged . New room was a wee bit smaller (disappointing) but a least we got a good nights sleep, (Actually we didn't get an apology, every one was very nice but we did end up with a smaller room, so this could have been better. )
Everything else with the hotel was excellent, staff, bar, reception (esp Dan) Breakfast no complaints.
With family now located in the area, we will be back in Leeds, and wouldn't hesitate in returning to the Radison Blu

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the light centre, a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Throast659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you next come to Leeds to visit your family.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend just for one night, il start with the good points first.
the hotel is in a great location right in the city centre,you have all bars restaurants on your door step,the check in staff were very helpfull and friendly. the breakfast has plenty of choices for everyone like full english and you can just help yourself as its buffet style or just cereals and toast there is also a selection of fruits and a continental selection.the hotel is very clean tidy and stylish its decor.
the room that we were given was a double room as we were traveling as a couple,it was a little on the small side, but it was clean and tidy,it was a inland room which had windows in, that looked out into a seating area within the hotel (no outside view).
the unpleasant night that we had was because the room was so HOT,there was a aircon unit in the room but that didnt make one bit of difference,it was very unbearable,the only way we could cool down was to keep taking cold showers it was that bad,but that only helped for a few mins. we could not even open any of the windows because they had no handles on, which must be a health and safety issue!!!
in the bathroom the sink was blocked,the following day we mentioned about the unbearable heat in the room to a cleaning lady,she came to see if we had the aircon unit set on cold and it was but she also said it is a ongoing problem with these type of rooms!!!!!!!!!we also told her about the blocked sink she said that it had been reported before! so why was this not fixed before anyone stayed in the room?????
so overall it did spoil the weekend because we didnt get any sleep which was a shame as the beds were very comfy,just the unbearable heat,coudnt wait to go home!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that you did not have a pleasant stay with us and that your comments were not handled or actioned upon during your stay.

I would encourage you to contact me directly to discuss your experience so that I can look into the points you have raised. Please contact me directly on 0113 236 6007 or via email Valerie.donaldson@radissonblu.com

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Single night stay on business. Well located on the Headrow. Generous room size, appropriate standard for price. Decent breakfast, but changing the Muzak from relaxing cool jazz rhythms to something noisier at half seven was a bit cruel. Group size prevented top rated Park Chambers, my usual preference here, on this occasion, but this is a good alternative.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TonyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

A really good hotel.I have never known an hotel room that is so so quiet,especially for a busy city.The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were like clouds.The breakfast was really good,lots of choices.I would certainly choose this hotel again.Forgot to say that all the staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and helpful

Room Tip: Choose room 302 .So quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueN9821QV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

I will ensure you great comments regarding the staff are shared with them all. Many thanks!

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Me and my fiance stayed here on 23 November and we was really pleased with what we got great service great location and rooms was really tidy couldn't fault the place would recommend this place its fantastic will stay there all time I visit Leeds well worth every penny thank-you staff for everything and making my fiance stay the more better one last thing the pictures don't do the place any justice please book and try x

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matty wharam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

We have also got a photographer booked to update the imagery ... this should be live in a couple of months.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here 23rd nov for my 21st, a group of four of u went, we both booked a double room ours was a twin for some reason they had got it wrong, was told as we booked third party they had done the booking wrong, the other couples room was a double and a lot better then ours but we didnt mind, we all found the staff extremely polite and very helpful, breakfast was very nice and is in an excellent location would definatly recomend this place and would stay again but in double room, also advise to visit red hot restraunt just around the corner!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantelleMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and please do not hesitate to book direct to ensure all preferences are noted on your profile. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Yours sincerely
Valerie Donaldson
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,333 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 87 in Leeds
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Address: 1 The Light The Headrow, Leeds LS1 8TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Leeds
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and stylish, Radisson Blu Leeds is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. The meticulously restored building once served as the main office of the Leeds Permanent Building Society and has kept its original art deco style. Located in the Light complex, the hotel offers easy access to bars, restaurants and shopping plus attractions like the First Direct Arena. Each of the 147 chic bedrooms and suites is complete with amenities such as a mini bar and flat-screen television. Enjoy the creative fare of Fire Lake Grill House and Cocktail Bar, with an open kitchen and a great selection of grilled dishes, unique starters and handcrafted drinks. Guests also receive a discount at the Nuffield Health Leeds Fitness and Wellbeing Gym nearby. The conference space houses 10 meeting rooms over 2 floors which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 70 people. The historic ambiance of this Grade II listed building adds a touch of sophistication to any gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds Hotel Leeds
Radisson Leeds
Leeds Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing