We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in good location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel in good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Traveled with large group. Speedy check-in, large quiet room with nice bathroom, good room-service breakfast, free wifi! Helpful reception staff. Central location in city centre. Plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dag E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Valerie Stewart
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    534
    236
    112
    69
See reviews for
193
642
56
353
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

In the centre of Leeds this Hotel is superbly located. Having now stayed many times in July 2012 and January / February 2013 I have noted some issues with the rooms. Rooms on the third floor (room 300 etc.) are too hot. Rooms on the fourth floor (400 etc.) seem a little cold. Rooms on the fifth floor (500 etc.) are just about right. The temperature controls in the rooms do not seem to have much effect. The fans are a bit noisy. Maintenance is running a little behind in the hotel but recently updated rooms are available. The standard rooms are a good size if sometimes oddly shaped. The business rooms are very comfortable but the extra cost is hard to justify.

Room Tip: The internal courtyard rooms are the quietest but stay away from the lift motor room which is a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stays. I am aware of some incidents with air conditioning controls in bedrooms during the winter months. I can confirm we have had a company on site to rectify these issues. Our maintennace has started a maintenance program at the start of March to address minor repairs in the bedrooms.

I hope to welcome you back again soon and that you will see an improvement with the current work schedule in place.

Kind regards
Valerie Stewart
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The location is great in a shopping mall in the centre of Leeds. Parking was in the mall and although not cheap you save a little if you ask reception to validate your token. The service was magnificent. It just happened that we met only one receptionist, Mark, and he looked after us throughout our stay. What a lovely man. He arranged taxis to take us to and pick us up from the theatre and as there was snow he phoned the taxi company to check they would not abandon us. I told him I would like some roses for my wife as the next morning was Valentines Day and he bought them himself on his was to work. This says a lot for the selection, training and appraisal of the staff at The Leeds Radison Blu.
The bedroom was large enough, modern and comfortable. The only downside was there was little natural daylight. The bathroom had a comfortable bath. There was plenty of cupboard and surface space and it was nice to see good coat hangars with proper hooks that you are trusted not to steal.
Sadly the breakfast was poor although there was plenty of good service. They had run out of croissants (Unbelievable) and the rolls were horrible. I asked for an omelet which came quickly but it was dry and overcooked.
I would certainly come to this hotel again but I would avoid the breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room 511 had a bath but some rooms have showers only so it is necessary to check.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gmm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time and that Mark took care of you during your stay. Thank you for bringing to my attention your feedback on breakfast and I have addressed this with the kitchen team.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Valerie Stewart
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked 4 rooms at the Radisson Blu for my hen weekend for me and 7 others. I did not want a 'typical' hen weekend and just wanted a night away with my friends & Mum in a city that would allow us to enjoy good food, wine & enjoy ourselves without a tacky night out!!

I picked the Radisson as I wanted a central hotel within walking distance of restaurants and nice bars. I initially disregarded this hotel as it came up as too expensive, however randomly it popped up on Lastminute.com at £68 per room. As it wouldn't let me book twin rooms I rang the hotel direct and despite initially been told that the rooms would be £125 I quoted the cheaper rate and they matched it straight away. I did have to pay upfront and two friends couldn't make it in the end, so two friends of mine bought the room off me in the end as I couldn't get my money back.

We didn't pay for breakfast and just went to Starbuck's instead. Half of the hotel backs into the Light which has a few shops, restaurants (and Startbucks) so if you want, you don't have to venture out into city at all and stay under cover!

The receptionist was lovely, efficient and chatted away to me whilst I was booking in. For some reason there weren't four twin rooms but it was fine as we ended up with two doubles and two twins. During our chat she asked me why we were visiting and I explained about my hen weekend. When we returned to the room later on, a box of fresh fruit, hand painted with chocolate and a note of best wishes for our marriage had been left - such a lovely thought.

During the day we went to Antony's Piazza for afternoon tea (brilliant), went to the spa, did cocktail making and then had dinner at Jamie's Italian. I had searched and searched for spa deals where we didn't have to spend a fortune but could just spend a few hours - as Radisson residents we could go to the Virgin Health Club (about 1 minute walk within the Light) and for £6 (bargain!) each we got access - we spent a relaxing hour using a pool, sauna, 2 jacuzzis and sun loungers which was perfect.

The twin room was HUGE - I have never stayed in such a large hotel room, it was like a suite!! It allowed all 6 of us to relax and spend time getting ready for our night out with plenty of room and we weren't squashed in. The beds were extremely comfortable, there were a few noisy guests walking past during the night but apart from that, a good nights sleep.

Overall - a fantastic and modern hotel with massive rooms and perfect for my hen weekend. At £68 per room it was great value and worth ringing the hotel direct to get the best rate. I would stay here again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Get a gigantic twin room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodieHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time with your hens.

Have a great wedding and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Valerie Stewart
General Manager
reservations.leeds@radissonblu.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel just for one evening and all was a very positive experience. Staff were very nice and accomodating , very well helpful and friendly . Would defintely recommend the hotel to others .

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Valerie Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great location and great staff. Reception staff very good. Room cleanliness very good. Snacked in the lounge the night of arrival. Steak baguette OK - but beef filling a little meagre - surprised no English mustard available! Used to stay in the City Inn rebranded Mint and now a Hilton. Hilton have been on a cost saving exercise and it shows.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you had an enjoyable time and I will look into the lack of english mustard.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Valerie Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Booked into a business class room. The room was nice although a little smaller than similar hotels. Service was very good and I would recommend.

We also used the Virgin gym's slimming pool which was clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeedsGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Valerie Stewart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
The Queens - Leeds
#10 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,046 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#24 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,915 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Novotel Leeds Centre
Quarry Hill
Premier Inn Leeds City Centre (Leeds Arena) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Address: 1 The Light The Headrow, Leeds LS1 8TL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Leeds City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Leeds
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and stylish, Radisson Blu Leeds is located in the heart of the culture-rich city. The meticulously restored building once served as the main office of the Leeds Permanent Building Society and has kept its original art deco style. Located in the Light complex, the hotel offers easy access to bars, restaurants and shopping plus attractions like the First Direct Arena. Each of the 147 chic bedrooms and suites is complete with amenities such as a mini bar and flat-screen television. Enjoy the creative fare of Fire Lake Grill House and Cocktail Bar, with an open kitchen and a great selection of grilled dishes, unique starters and handcrafted drinks. Guests also receive a discount at the Nuffield Health Leeds Fitness and Wellbeing Gym nearby. The conference space houses 10 meeting rooms over 2 floors which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 70 people. The historic ambiance of this Grade II listed building adds a touch of sophistication to any gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotel.de, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds Hotel Leeds
Radisson Leeds
Leeds Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing