We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable lunch”
Review of OBM Buffet Restaurant - CLOSED

OBM Buffet Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“An enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found the buffet exceptionally clean and well presented. Staff were polite and courteous. The tables and chairs were well placed not like in some buffet's where you are cramped. There was an excellent choice of food catering; for vegetarians meat and fish lovers alike and lots of healthy alternative s salad omelette streamed veg fish etc
We tried the egg fried rice sweet and sour chicken and others. There is a good variety of puddings on offer including fresh fruit . We loved the melon and icecream. Drinks are pub price's and we went in during the day when it was cheaper
Very good value for money

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    24
    17
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be,unfortunately.”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Have eaten here many times over the years.Am afraid to say,it's not what it used to be.

We have just had a meal here tonight.I know Sunday is a quiet day but when we arrived at 7pm it was almost deserted.Never seen it so quiet.

Got the impression it must have been quiet all day,a lot of the buffet food was dried out.I had sweetcorn soup,followed by a plate of starters,spring roll,sesame chicken toast,salt n pepper mushrooms,with a lashing of curry sauce which I liked.

For main I had chicken curry which was tasteless,hot and spicy chicken(it was),with veggie side dishes and rice.

I had ice cream to finish,3 flavours available.The bill came to just over £22 with 2 pints of lager,so not that badly priced.

Sadly I think this restaurant is a shadow of what it used to be.Sorry we won't be in a hurry to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lbalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Payment in Advance?!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I was greeted warmly when I came into the restaurant, but was told quickly that I would need to pay for my buffet in advance. I can honestly say I have never been asked to do this before - and I reflected this to the waitress who merely apologised.

The food was plentiful although some of the meat was tough. There was a HUGE selection though which I only sampled a fraction of.

I don't usually eat at buffets and I don't think I'll be back. I think there is much better quality food for the £9.90 cover charge. And really, they need to rethink the payment in advance policy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inadvisable to visit this restaurant.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My girlfriend and I found the food to be unsatisfactory. Everything was dry and incredibly salty. The price was certainly not worth paying. When I chose to complain, I found the manager rude and unhelpful. If it's good quality service and food you are looking for, look elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Htothad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Buffet £6.90”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Friendly staff, very good choice of freshly cooked, hot food – even at 4pm on a miserable Friday with not many diners. Drinks no more than pub prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed OBM Buffet Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing