We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bingley Arms

Bingley Arms
Ranked #201 of 1,790 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had the 'Friday special deal' fish,chips & mushy peas' 2 meals for £12. Small portions, fish had skin on and bones in it, chips were overcooked. I had orange Cointreau trifle for dessert and it was no better than the value range at local supermarket - not a hint of Cointreau tasted, just orange jelly, cake,custard and cream. Not what I expected at all from The Bingley Arms. Will probably go back some time to try the normal menu but would suggest they stop doing special deals if they begrudge them.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PamWinst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    69
    29
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went for a work celebration 17th Jan 14. we were given our own room upstairs for the food (25 of us), the food was delicious, the mushroom and feta was to die for :-) the whole "set menu" we requested gave us an excellent choice and not one complaint from 25 people, i dont think you can get better than that. the only problem was we wanted to do a speech to thank everyone for a completed project but the food came out whilst we were doing this. my recommendation would be if you want to do this for a group booking then make the chef aware before hand then he can plan the food around this.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anatholie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stumbled upon this place whilst out looking for a country pub - what a delight to find the oldest in England.
With it's incredible fire places, great service, old photos, beautiful pictures, amazing beer garden, good menu what is not to like?
Looking forward to going back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were camping for a few days near Bardsey and visited the restaurant for a meal. We were so impressed we went back twice more. The food was amazing and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steviep001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best pub for miles!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Having bought our holiday home nearby we have now had a few visits to this delightful inn, the oldest in England.
It can only be described as superb. Food amazing and very good value with a wide range to choose from. Beers are always first class a pint of creamy Tetleys bitter to die for! Great selection of reasonably priced wines.
On our Last visit we had a lovely table by the log fire, christmas menu with the most welcoming bar staff and landlord ever!
Even got a lift home rather than have to wait for a taxi!

Thanks to the landlord and all the staff for a great experience! Not to be missed we will be back again and again!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedsugden11, Owner at Bingley Arms, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind Response x It is always nice to serve nice people x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bingley Arms also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bingley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing