We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious”
Review of Bingley Arms

Bingley Arms
Ranked #217 of 1,838 Restaurants in Leeds
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went for a work celebration 17th Jan 14. we were given our own room upstairs for the food (25 of us), the food was delicious, the mushroom and feta was to die for :-) the whole "set menu" we requested gave us an excellent choice and not one complaint from 25 people, i dont think you can get better than that. the only problem was we wanted to do a speech to thank everyone for a completed project but the food came out whilst we were doing this. my recommendation would be if you want to do this for a group booking then make the chef aware before hand then he can plan the food around this.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anatholie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    74
    34
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stumbled upon this place whilst out looking for a country pub - what a delight to find the oldest in England.
With it's incredible fire places, great service, old photos, beautiful pictures, amazing beer garden, good menu what is not to like?
Looking forward to going back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon_Oe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic restaurant”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were camping for a few days near Bardsey and visited the restaurant for a meal. We were so impressed we went back twice more. The food was amazing and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steviep001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best pub for miles!!”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Having bought our holiday home nearby we have now had a few visits to this delightful inn, the oldest in England.
It can only be described as superb. Food amazing and very good value with a wide range to choose from. Beers are always first class a pint of creamy Tetleys bitter to die for! Great selection of reasonably priced wines.
On our Last visit we had a lovely table by the log fire, christmas menu with the most welcoming bar staff and landlord ever!
Even got a lift home rather than have to wait for a taxi!

Thanks to the landlord and all the staff for a great experience! Not to be missed we will be back again and again!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedsugden11, Owner at Bingley Arms, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind Response x It is always nice to serve nice people x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went today for Sunday lunch with my fiance and her parents on a bit of a whim. We'd heard about the good food at the oldest pub in England and it wasn't too far away.

We went for the 3 course Sunday menu and were not disappointed. Each of the starters arrived quickly, were light, tasty and well presented. These were followed by hearty portions of local meats with mountains of chips and 7 types of veg. We had the game pie, the pheasant and the lamb shank and all were delicious. I cheekily asked for an extra Yorkshire pudding as the pheasant came without one and it was quickly served with laughter.

We rounded of with fudge cake, cheesecake and lemon pot and we just about managed to put these away being so happily stuffed.

Some reviews complain about the service but we could not fault it. From the moment we rang up to grab a table, all the way through the meal until we left our servers were friendly, helpful and really professional. they were quick too as we only waited a moment or two for extra drinks (or Yorkshire puds).

I would 100% recommend this pub for family meals, a romantic lunch or a beer after work and we will definitely go back... we are even cotemplating Christmas or Boxing Day there!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinF1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gedsugden11, Owner at Bingley Arms, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind Response x It is always nice to serve nice people x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bingley Arms also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Scarcroft, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Bingley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing