We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
Ranked #15 of 1,791 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

With a large group of friends yesterday, celebrating the birthdays of two of the guys - my beloved wanted to visit this pub so we all went in (26 of us). The welcome couldn't have been warmer. From the landlord to the staff and the very good choice of Timothy Taylor ales, it was a very pleasant visit. The landlord even brought round free baskets of chips for us! We will definitely return as we want to try out the food - if the chips are anything to go by, it will be fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaysmuchogusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, it was great to welcome you to the pub and look after you for a few hours. Your group were so courteous and seemed to have a great time, It must have come as a surprise for a Yorkshire man to give out chips for nowt, but it just shows we are not as tight as we are made out to be. The chips are triple cooked in beef dripping which gives them their unique taste and crunchiness. Hope you can convince your golfing friends to come for your Christmas dinner where we will show you just how good our food is. The Christmas menu is just about ready now so I look forward to hearing from you soon with regard reserving a table for you.
Thanks once again.
Jon, Sam and all the team tucked away in the THT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    741
    258
    54
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
593 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Didn't need a starter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I did have one it was scotch egg and was very good, my wife had crab cakes which also went down very well. My wife had scampi for a main which she loved I had the Yorkshire Beef Pie. I have to say i don't eat a lot of pies these days, but I know my pies and this was the best I have ever had. Lovely crisp pastry, tender beef topped off with mash and there were also vegetables which I didn't really need. Absolutely gorgeous, the staff were great and there is a wide selection of real ale, a must if visiting Leeds.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
The pie is indeed a titan on the menu and a hearty appetite is required to demolish it, although a young girl of about ten managed to finish one of yesterday which astounded me. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again on your next visit to Leeds.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Sam, Jon and the THT team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly pub serving excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Visited here on 11 April with my husband. Quite a traditional interior with a modern twist, really homely feel. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating, the service was excellent. We ordered a mixed platter to share for starters. This was nicely presented on a wooden board and included olives, pate, vegetable tempura, crab cake, crusty bread and the most gorgeous king prawns in a lovely sauce. I ordered the halloumi and chorizo salad for my main course which was fantastic, extremely tasty. My husband ordered the burger which was again nicely presented and served with three different types of pickles. For dessert we shared a sweet basket that was a very unique idea being a brandy snap basket which contained various sweets and truffles, a very unusual dessert but it worked. All in all we spent about 4 hours in this pub prior to going to the Elbow concert and can honestly say it was a very enjoyable 4 hours where we were very well looked after. The owners know how to run a good pub and I wish it was my local. I wouldn't hesitate to return next time I'm in Leeds.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunseekermanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Your very detailed informative review has certainly covered all aspects of our pub. It is nice to know that all the hard work we as a team put in is recognised. Our goal is to run a great local village pub in the city centre, offering real value for money with top quality ingredients. The THT sweet shop was a creation of Richard who looks after the desserts, quite a wacky concept which turned out very popular. We as a couple could not do it with out our dedicated team of chefs and front of house staff and not forgetting our ever increasing band of loyal customers who love the pub.
Thanks once again for sharing your insight into THT. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards, Sam, Jon and all the team at THT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Called in without booking and although all dining area was booked ( big wedding party) they found us a table in the bar area, fantastic home made burger with real chips and an array of trimmings, helpful friendly staff and 5 different varieties of Timothy Taylor's, what more is there're to say, will be back soon !

Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review us, it was a pleasure to meet you and be able to find you a table on what was a busy night. Our burger is such a popular dish that is very well received. The range of Taylor's beers is our pride and joy and it's pretty unique to find them all on one bar.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards, Sam, Jon and the THT team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Food was great, nice drinks, good atmosphere. It's got it all really! Definitely recommend. All 4 of us were really pleased with our meals, service etc. Kudos!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Kudos!! such a compliment, pretty much describes what we want to achieve here at THT, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Thank you for spending the time to review us.
Jon & Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing