We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Sunday roast dinner”
Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
Ranked #18 of 1,894 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Pleasant venue - fairly recently refurbished pub dining room, decorated with photos of Leeds in the 'olden days'. Service was friendly and attentive.

We all opted for roast beef. The Beef itself (served medium to medium rare) was excellent, as were the Yorkshire puddings. Nice roast potatoes too. Veg were ok - portions of broccoli, carrot and cauliflower were slightly on the mean side and parsnips could have done with a bit longer in the oven to crisp them up a bit. Gravy was tasty and plentiful although might disappoint the purist as it clearly owed more to a packet than to fresh stock from the meat bones and the scrapings of the roasting tin. Rioja was available by the glass and complimented the Beef nicely.

Sticky Parkin with butterscotch sauce was delicious as was the selection of cheeses.

Overall, a very nice Sunday lunch at a reasonable price.

Thank andycLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for review, we appreciate your comments, I myself had the beef on Sunday and thoroughly enjoyed it so I am glad you all enjoyed yours. As a team we have had many conversations between ourselves with regard the quantity of vegetables supplied as we want everybody to have enough to enjoy without wasting food, we feel that we all have a responsibility with regard the global food shortage and particularly the amount of food that is wasted in the UK. However we are more than happy to supply more vegetables, roast potatoes and gravy to our customers as we take it as a complement so please don't hesitate to ask. I would also like to assure you that we do not use any packet gravy mixes and all our gravies are home made using the stocks and vegetable waters to produce what we consider to be very tasty gravies. Thank you once again for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon.

Jon and Sam
Town Hall Tavern

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

729 - 733 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

We called in for early tea quality fish and chips, homemade chips lovely the fish was massive all good homemade food. Good choice of beers

Thank Wiggy114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for your review and happy New Year to you, we really appreciate your comments, as that is the standard that we want to constantly provide, great quality at a reasonable price, the fish and chips are probably the most popular dish on the menu with a whole fillet of fish used for each portion. Thanks once again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sam, Jon and the THT team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited early december .
Food totally fab with service to match. Great food . Beer and service .
What more can you ask ??.
Looking forward to revisiting in 2014.

Thank johnnlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Thank you John for your review, as always a pleasure to see you, Your review sums up what we are here for, great beer, fab food and excellent service and I am sure if any of these were not right you would tell us which is reassuring to know. We never take our regular customers for granted and it is good to know that we are consistently achieving a great level of satisfaction. We are all looking forward to 2014 where we have lots of new additions to the menus and special nights planned to keep moving forward.
All the best and thanks once again for your support.
Sam, Jon and all at THT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Took my family here back in September and everyone was delighted with the food, wine and atmosphere. Many of us had the flat iron steak, and they were great as always.
It's nice to see things haven't slipped since ex-manager Astrid moved on. Came here with a friend on Saturday for more steaks and again brilliant. If you like red wine, The Opportunist Shiraz is fantastic, my new favourite. Can't wait to return, staff always friendly and personable, know their stuff. If only there were more pubs like this in town.

Thank LeedsLadBornAndBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

It was a pleasure to meet you again and we are glad you were pleased with everything. It really embodied the spirit of Christmas to see you become friends with the table of four next to you. When you all moved into the bar area after your meals the laughter that was coming from your table was heartwarming and when the six of you started singing Christmas songs (very harmoniously) it brought a smile to most peoples faces on a busy Saturday night. The flat iron steak is becoming increasingly popular and a lot of the credit goes to R & J Butchers who provide such good steaks, and also the chefs who prepare and then cook them. All that is then left is for us to serve them and make sure you have a great time with us. There have been a lot of changes since Astrid left but the one thing that will never change is our passion to be excellent.
Hope you have a New Year and look forward to seeing you soon.
Sam. Jon and all the THT team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Popped in last Sunday for a quick pint & ended up staying longer because the landlord's are so friendly. I didn't have lunch but the food looked superb the people I was chatting to loved the Sunday roast. Go you will not be disappointed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, Owner at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

It was great to meet you on Sunday, it is always a pleasure to have a chat especially on a Sunday when the atmosphere in general is very relaxed and casual. I love working on a Sunday as I know that at some point I will also get a Sunday Lunch which is my favourite meal of the week (although I normally have two yorkies). It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the beer to be of a high standard. It is always nice to see customers interact with each other and have a chat and a laugh, in my eyes that is what a pub should be. Whether it is a city centre pub or your village local, the pub is a place to meet new friends whilst having a good time. Thank you for leaving your review and hope you will call in again in 2014.

Regards

Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing