We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
Ranked #17 of 1,811 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Poor chips!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Having dined here on previous occasions our expectations were high as we have always had good food and service.
We had a pick and mix of starters beautifully presented on a slate of which the batter on the black pudding fritter was excellent. Everything was going well and there was a good atmosphere as the place seemed quite busy for a Wednesday at six pm., that was until the arrival of the mains.
One of the main attractions of dining here has been the home made chips. I had chosen the haddock and chips which is served on paper ( a hygienic newspaper simulation), a good size fish with good crispy batter plonked on top of a bed of chips accompanied with a pot of mushed garden peas, what more would anyone want for tea?
The fish and peas were fine but the chips left a lot to be desired. They were hard and dry as if they had been left under the heat lamp for too long. They were also very small, not the usual chunky chips. A quick glance at the other diners plates at our table revealed the same. We were not asked if everything was ok until we had finished the mains but when asked I passed comment although it was obvious by what was left on my plate. The manager (Alex) advised she would deduct the cost and was duly done without any fuss when the bill was paid.
We had cheesecake desserts which were delicious but our only thoughts when we left the tavern was those chips. The kitchen staff must have known they were bad yet they were happy enough to send them out. If their standards have dropped I will think twice about returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_palatable_pair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are disappointed that your found your chips sub standard on your recent visit. We have had a few issues with our chips of late and our kitchen team are trying their hardest to resolve this. However, I am glad that you told our Manager - Alex about the problem and she correctly discounted your meal for you. We assure you that our standards are the same as they have always been and we always try to ensure everyones experience at THT is a great one. It seems as if you enjoyed the rest of your experience with us and hope that encourages you to come back to THT again (we promise better chips next time). Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    261
    54
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great gastro pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Came here for dinner with colleagues and had a very enjoyable evening. I enjoyed the scotch egg starter although the yolk was not runny like my colleague's and the burger was good. Essentially, this is high quality pub food with good surroundings and a nice range of beers. I would happily return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew_2587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your time at THT. We apologise for your un-runny egg and have discussed this with our kitchen team. We do hope to see you again very soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Left disappointed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited here one Tuesday recently after reading recommendations on here but left feeling disappointed. The place was surprisingly quiet even though we went in at 12.30 lunchtime, just two or three tables taken up.
The meat in my steak and ale pie was not lean at all and this reduced the already smallish portion after separating it from edible meat. My partners 'ploughmans' was a disappointing sandwich and The service matched the food, very mediocre.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience at THT was not up to standard. We understand that you were disappointed with the food and your points have been raised with our kitchen. We always try our upmost to ensure everyone has a great time at THT even if there are any problems (such as unsatisfactory food). If your points had been raised during your meal we would have been more than happy to offer you some compensation for the problem (although you may have done this). However, your review has been highlighted to both Kitchen and Front of House staff who are now aware of your experience. We do hope that you will give THT another chance to show you that we are not a sub standard gastro pub. Our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Back to the future”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Back in the 1960's I started working in Park Square. Thirsty work that needed refreshment and the nearest pub was the Town Hall Tavern. While the beer was good, the only concession to food were pickled eggs and plain crisps (no other flavours then). Enough of nostalgia...

I visited again last Saturday and was suprised that the spartan (in a modern sense) decor had been reinvented and the food was much improved. Clearly the passing of 50 years had removed pickled eggs from the menu. My brother and I ate well and the beer was good. A friendly crowd and although whippets are no longer allowed, I will be returning soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MeerkatYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your visit to THT as much as in times past. We are glad you enjoyed all your food and beer with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Tavern At It's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had left this visit a little late not knowing if we would be able to reserve a table due to this tavern being highly reccommended to us, lucky for us they could accommodate.

The Gammon & Egg was simply devine, the best I have ever tasted!!.

My mother had the Haddock (Fish N Chips) which was the real deal, all in all this was a very successful evening.

My thanks to the staff for being so professional, nothing could have been too much trouble.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GPTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thanks for such a great review! The pub classics are always a firm favourite here at THT and we are so glad that you enjoyed your Gammon and Fish & Chips. We do hope you come back soon to sample some more of our dishes. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing