We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sausages and mash”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
Ranked #17 of 1,811 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
1 review
“Great sausages and mash”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Monday lunchtime is not always a great way to experience a restaurant but this bucked the trend. Excellent local sausage with mash and a fab beer gravy for @ £8 and good guest beers. Pleasant helpful staff and nice atmosphere. Don't be fooled by the slightly blah external appearance of being next to the main road. Perhaps only criticism would be limited choice for veggie clients but luckily mine were at home.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Threesquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hello! and thank you for your kind review. We are certainly looking to expand our vegetarian options when our new menu comes in in just a couple of months. Hopefully you'll return with your guests to try it out. Thank you again, THT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    261
    54
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visted the THT last night for the first time after reading reviews on trip adviser and were not disappointed. First thing to note is that you are sat in an open plan pub environment, I knew it was a pub before we arrived but thought the dining area may be seperate so was a little concerned on arrival, however, the table was against the back wall of the room and was absolutely fine, it even added to the informal atmosphere and felt relaxed and homely. We were a group of 4 and we were sat down quickly and offered drinks and menus straight away. We were spoilt for choice but all plumped for the sirloin steak for mains and we were not disappointed -the steaks were huge and came with amazing chips and onion rings - I highly recommend it. We enjoyed the Timothy Taylor ales and the merlot wine was lovely and reasonably priced. The main reason that I couldn't give 5 stars was the fact that although we dined at 6pm on a Saturday night - two of the starters we opted for were sold out which was disappointing and surprising for early dining on a Saturday night and meant the choices for our starters, albeit very nice, were not what we preferred. The staff were friendly and attentive and the prices very reasonable - we will definitely return to the THT in the future

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review! We apologise for the lack of your preferred starters, we always try and maintain a good level of stock on all our dishes however we must have had a surge of orders on Saturday day time for those particular dishes! We hope that you come back again and we will try to ensure all starters choices are on so you can sample the ones you had your eye on. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on a Friday with friends. Food and beers both excellant, would have prefered my food on a plate as it was a little awkward to enjoy the scampi out of a basket on a piece of slate. Apart from this minor criticism every thing else was good and we will definetly be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your much desired feedback, I'm glad you and your friends enjoyed yourselves. I appreciate the baskets aren't to everyone's liking however next time don't hesitate to inform us and we'll gladly provide you with a plate. Thank you again, hope to see you soon! THT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Top marks for everything - fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked to eat here before going on to a show. We used a 20% discount voucher from the THT website which made the price incredibly good value. I had a home made burger and my wife had fish and chips.

The food was perfect, my burger as good as I've ever had. The fish and chips are served in an old fashioned type of chip frying basket and were every bit as good as specialist fish restaurant food. Comfort food at it's very best - outstanding hand cut chips.

The beer and wines we had with our meal were excellent too. The staff and atmosphere are conducive to a great dining experience and we would have been happy to stay here all night but Jerry Sadowitz doesn't appear in Leeds that often. Highly recommended and we can't wait to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1961GaryC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Gary, I'm so pleased you enjoyed your meal. Yes those burgers are pretty darn good! 100% Yorkshire Beef as well, no horses involved! I hope you enjoyed your show just as much, we look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks, THT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a Monday night and it was a lovely experience.
We didn't have starters as we are dessert people!
Main course I had scampi in a basket which was gorgeous, the tartare sauce was delicious and the chips to die for!
My hubby ordered the sirloin but they had sold out so he changed to flat iron steak. Oh my he was very pleased, he enjoyed more than sirloin!
For dessert I had trio of icecream (lemon curd, jelli baby and Choc & orange) which was lovely. My hubby had cookies and milk which he really enjoyed.
We also reccomend their cocktails! The whole experience was great!
What a fantastic meal we would love to come back for lunch or tea again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SazzySparkyPops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Sazzysparkypops! Wow thank you for your lovely review, we love to hear how much people have enjoyed their experience with us! I have to agree with your husband, the flat iron is amazing and those chips definitely are too! We would love to have you back again, those ice creams change frequently so you'll have to revisit! Many thanks from all at THT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing