We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Town Hall Tavern

Town Hall Tavern
Ranked #17 of 1,811 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Leeds City Centre
Description: Town Hall Tavern, brought to you by Sam, Jon and all the THT team. We are a friendly village pub based in Leeds city centre serving fresh, locally sourced British food, quality cocktails, fine wines and traditional cask ales, with excellent Yorkshire hospitality.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Really good food and service, also able to enjoy a conversation too as the music and ambiance were never that loud despite all tables being taken. A bit of a gem and very glad we stumbled across it. We will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernExposure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for a lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your experience with us and will be back soon. Thanks again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    747
    261
    54
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not as good as we hoped for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked an evening meal at the Tavern following good reviews on Tripadvisor. First the good points.
1. The gammon steak was excellent - large, juicy and tasty
2. The Timothy Taylor beer was in good condition and competitively priced at £3.30 per pint.

Disappointing points:
1. The shared mixed 'starters' were miniscule in size - and in the bread, charged for extra was almost stale and consisted of slices from small poor quality baguette. Overall very poor value for the price.
2.The chips were just luke warm and small in quantity.
3. My wife's beefburger included a hard cheese slice that had not been grilled to melt on the meat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awaydays55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. There is no excuse for lukewarm chips or stale bread and your comments will be discussed with the kitchen team. Once again my apologies and we hope that you will consider visiting us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Friday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Called in friday for lunch with my wife and got to say enjoyed 2 course lunch and a couple of Guinness ... Enjoyed will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willywildcat77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
A short and sweet review. Great to read that you both enjoyed your lunch and will be returning. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“brilliant food in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Great food, fantastic flavours, in a traditional pub serving real ales. All at great prices and with excellent friendly service.We will be eating here again when we next visit Leeds.

Helpful?
Thank Baldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
We are looking forward to welcoming you again next time you are in Leeds. Thank you so much for leaving us fantastic feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it, cant go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Fantasic service, delicious food and great prices, you cannot go wrong with this small pub with food like a top notch restaurant - ace!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rrwilky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Town_Hall_Tavern, General Manager at Town Hall Tavern, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you so much for a great 5 star review! We are looking forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town Hall Tavern also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Town Hall Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing