We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance”
Review of Lazy Lounge

Lazy Lounge
Ranked #310 of 1,856 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Description: An independent city centre bar specialising in fine wine, eclectic spirits & home cooked locally sourced food. Venue Hire, Wine & Spirit tastings, Corporate Events & More. Shortlisted for Louis Roderer Imbibe Wine List of the Year Award in 2010, 2011 & 2012 Winner of Louis Roderer Imbibe Wine Bar Wine List of the Year 2012.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We purchase a Groupon deal for the Lazy Lounge. I tried to book a table for Saturday evening, but was told they did not take bookings on a Saturday evening.... which is fair enough.

We decided to go visit anyway to see what the place was like as we were going into Leeds anyway, Google maps informed us it was a 3 minute walk from the train station.

The place was lovely....we had a couple of drinks in there, the place was very cosy,with lots of seating around the bar.

As they had sold quite a number of Groupon vouchers they said that they were extending the voucher until February, therefore we will go back after Christmas.

Staff were lovely too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Kaz3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    55
    18
    6
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We went on a groupon deal of a steak meal & glass of wine. It was very nice & the staff were nice & welcoming. We went on a wednesday evening & booked, and found it very busy with a wine tasting session going on. All lovely

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lesley_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice relaxed atmosphere. Downstairs is more of a bar, upstairs is an informal dining area. We tried the vegetarian sharing platter, which was good overall, especially the mushroom with pepper and goats cheese, though wouldn't have minded a bit more hummus (it's not like hummus is expensive ingredient). Also had portobello mushroom burger and the beef burger (this comes with cheese and bacon though is positively restrained compared with the lazy gourmet burger which has about 10 toppings). Burgers come with chunky chips that are almost potato wedges, we really liked them. Service quite good. Long drinks list covers quite a few wines and an interesting selection of spirits including many gins. Cocktails too. Not much in the way of draught ale though & would be nice to see more English beers available. They take Gourmet Society card as well as Tastecard and they do an early bird deal 5-7 Mon, Tues, Weds and Sat (yes, Saturday too) - 2 courses for 2 people £22. But prices are fairly reasonable anyway: £8 upwards for burgers, about £8 to £12 for most mains.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-and-Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Winer and diner's delight”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is an independent establishment that craves your service by providing quality service along with its food and drink options throughout. We arrived just before 5pm and stayed till well after 8pm having a few drinks before we sat down to eat with some friends. The beer options are plentiful and the wine list would take a couple of months to get through. If all the wines are as good as the ones selected for our meal then that would a great couple of months for sure.

The food is reasonably priced considering you receive a lot more on your plate than you would expect and tastes fantastic too. I had a pork and black pudding burger which had a good depth of flavour that married with a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc brilliantly. The staff are fantastic and were very attentive as more people arrived to eat later in the evening ensuring all customers were served to a high standard.

If you are looking for a place to eat, drink and be merry this is the place to be. Whether it be a pre-theatre meal or a lazy day catching up with friends over wine and a bite to eat.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great sharing platters”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Friday night and as you would expect it was very busy, however staff were still v friendly and the sharing platters were excelent

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Lounge also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Lazy Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing