We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why would you ever go to Nero? ”
Review of Laynes Espresso

Laynes Espresso
Ranked #2 of 43 Coffee & Tea in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Coffee Shop in Leeds serving the very best coffees and teas available to UK market. To go with your crafted brewed coffee, jasmine pearl tea or flat white we have a range of in-house made sandwiches, brownies and there's pastries available for breakfast along side our extensive brunch menu served out of the open plan kitchen.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Why would you ever go to Nero? ”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

This is the type of coffee shop that would make you ask yourself ' why do I bother with Nero,Costa and Starbucks ?? ' etc.... This place is far superior! Better coffee, better staff, better atmosphere and a better location for your money! Love this place, hidden gem!

Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    59
    13
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“love ”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

I love this place. Please accept my card payment for coffee without it being over 5gbp?... No. But they make great coffee and there is a great atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Chendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top coffees shop in Leeds by miles.”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Great quality coffee, good service good location by train station.

Had a coffee and sweet, a read of the paper great place to kill some time before your train

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samiwillb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely independent cafe!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was really happy to discover one of the few independent cafes in the center of Leeds. Their coffee is very good and they offer a great selection of cakes. We tried the hazelnut/chocolate cake and the lemon/almond/polenta cake and they were both very fresh and delicious! The interior is rustic and looks lovely. It is a rather small cafe with few tables and seems to get crowded. There are some additional seats downstairs but as it is a basement there is not much light. I definitely recommend it as a very good alternative to chain cafes!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I am Italian and this is the best quality coffee I have ever had!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's fair to say I like a cup of joe and being Italian drink more than most. I work in an italian restaurant and have access to all the free coffee I want, however I walk across Leeds everytime I want coffee. It's that good. Just try an espresso...it will change your idea of coffee forever. I do not exaggerate. The friendly staff will also grind their coffee beans for you to use at home.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspiralus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laynes Espresso also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Laynes Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing