We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good day out learning, exploring and good value”

Thackray Medical Museum
Ranked #6 of 155 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The award winning Thackray Medical Museum is a completely unique visitor attraction. With nine interactive galleries, the fascinating exhibitions and collections tell a story of health that affects us all. Hear and smell what it was like to walk the grimy streets of Victorian Leeds, find out what it was like to undergo an operation without anaesthetic and explore your body in our jaw-dropping Life Zone gallery. Discover how medicine past and present is changing your future. We are bigger than you think, please allow 2-3 hours for your visit. *Tickets last for 12 months! *FREE weekly family activities and an ever-changing calendar of events and exhibitions. *Large on-site car park. *Learning cafe serving luches and tasty treats. *Curiosity shop selling a range of unique gifts and souvenirs. We are on Facebook and Twitter
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good day out learning, exploring and good value”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Visited it today or expecting anything big but we were pleasantly surprised to find a informative tour with interactive things for children. It was interesting and lots of detail for £7 we thought it was a good deal. It has a cafe and toilet facilities with a nice gift shop.
I haven't given 5 stars as a lot of the interactive things were broken and very worn. It's overall a great day out and recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daisy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    222
    64
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really good time spent, especially if you have in interest in anything medical.

Really well laid out, from start to finish, you start of with early history of medicine to the most recent ways the NHS works. Really informative for all ages.

Price for the entry is good for what you get too, and you can revisit within a year if your a tax payer!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank junade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A very informative visit”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

An easily found location with parking on site. The cashier on reception was well presented, knowledgeable and willing to spend time explaining what to see. We only planned to spend an hour or so there, as tickets are valid for a year. However, the layout and presentations in the museum were such that we spent about four hours there without feeling bored. The cafe was clean and welcoming and quite good value overall. The sights, sounds and information in the reconstruction of the Leeds slums in the 1830's was excellently presented. The rest of the museum was also full of exhibits, various forms of information and interactive displays.
There is plenty to see and do for anyone from the age of 5 to 95!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Was a nice and interesting way to spend a few hours!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Leeds on the Saturday night and decided to do something on the Sunday before heading home and we found this!! We parked on a car park opposite the hospital which was £1 an hour - the machine wasn't working but there was a parking attendant around, so told us it was ok. When we went into the museum it was actually only £1 to park on there car park anyway! It was £7 each to get in (adult) there was only the 2 of us (adults) I think a child was £5 and children under 5 go free! So not to bad I don't think? The first part was interesting looking at how things were in the 1800s, very VERY smelly though as they were trying create the scene - oh but it was awful!! It was quiet there, there were a handful of kids (age 12ish) just running around being noisy! The surgeon but upstairs was ok - not really a lot up there and a little dated! There was then a maternity section which was interesting but needed to be updated! I know it's focused around Leeds but it would of been nice have some more about Florence knightingale maybe, and the introduction of the NHS and the changes this bought!?

Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneLoveridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Lovely museum. Loads to do spent a whole afternoon here with coffee at the small cafe which served lovely home made cakes.
Museum very big with a lot to look at and a good few floors. Extremely impressed as very interactive and informative.

Went due to a rainy day would definately recommend though. Brilliant for all ages

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thackray Medical Museum also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thackray Medical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing