We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Leeds
Post
Inbox
Search
Leeds Industrial Museum at Armley Mills
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Leeds Hidden Gem

This is a great place to visit, with clearly written explanations of both the industrial workings... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2019
Louise L
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
good day out

A good interesting muesum with lot of other exibits as well as the odvious mill machinery there... read more

Reviewed August 26, 2019
tony i
,
Bradford, United Kingdom
Read all 242 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Leeds
from $42.91
More Info
from $39.61
More Info
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveler rating
120
82
26
12
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
120
82
26
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini cinema original machinery cardigan fields short film open to the public really enjoyed our visit west yorkshire on display picnic area school trip free parking well worth the visit city centre great place to visit car park textiles wool
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 242 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2019

This is a great place to visit, with clearly written explanations of both the industrial workings and the harsh conditions in which the mill employees worked. Very friendly and helpful staff. I asked why they haven't got a 'brown' tourist sign to guide visitors to the museum and was told that they can't have one because they don't have enough visitors!! A 'Catch 22' situation here; they don't get the visitors as there are no 'brown' signs and it is not easy to find.. Come on Leeds Council, buck up and get one for this great place of historic interest.!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

A good interesting muesum with lot of other exibits as well as the odvious mill machinery there is a reasonable collection of engines both steam and IC

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank tony i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2019

First of all I'd like to thank the helpful and knowledgeable lady on reception (Bradford born like myself) when we visited on Wednesday 14/8/2019.
The museum brought back so many memories of my childhood, not just the wool mills but the tailoring section - my father was a bespoke tailor.
A visit to the cinema is a must!

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank bradfordbornlondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2019 via mobile

45 minute walk from my house down the canal to Armley. Visited about 3pm in the afternoon and didn’t meet a single other punter. This was a poignant trip as 50% of my ancestors worked in the woollen mills of West Yorkshire to which the whole top floor is devoted. Lots of other exhibits of printing presses,pumps,engines and photography equipment. Well worth the entrance fee(£4 adults,£3.20 concessions). Have to have another visit with a guide for the textile departments

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank lostsoul2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2019

This museum is packed with original machinery and conveys well the conditions Victorian workers had to endure. In my opinion, adults with a strong interest in history would enjoy going in this original building the most. The exhibits are not always hands on for children and there are more interactive places to visit in Leeds. The staff were delightful and very friendly when I managed to lose my family when they wandered off in the wrong direction.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Elysianangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews