We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Stayed at Malmaison in Leeds on Saturday night as a treat with some friends.

Have stayed there quite a few times before and it is one of the best hotels in Leeds. Stylish place, rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Our room was a bit noisy though on Saturday - we were in a room looking over the main road, and there was a lot of noise outside the hotel, probably better being on the canal side if you have a choice.

However, last month we stayed at Malmaison in Liverpool and the service was unbelieveable and has set a benchmark which the Leeds hotel doesn't meet. Staff at Leeds are definitely not as helpful and attentive, the food and service isn't as good.

So although Malmaison Leeds isn't perfect, it is still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rupert25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,365 - 1,371 of 1,434 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2007

My husband and I had a wonderful night at Malmaison. We have eaten in the restaurant on many occasions and always been impressed by its intimate surroundings, great service and lovely food. We couldn't resist a fabulous rate directly from the hotel's website £99 dinner, bed and breakfast - for both of us.

Having stayed in Newcastle and Manchester Malmaisons before we love the decor, and Leeds Malmaison did not disappoint. The room was stylish with wonderfully high ceilings and a good sized bathroom. The beds are so comfortable with lovely sheets. The food as always was very good, with both an excellent dinner and breakfast.

I was surprised to read the previous review as every member of staff was extremely pleasant, friendly, courteous and professional. As we entered each area we were greeted, and we were also thanked as we left. This extended to the housekeeping staff and the door men outside. We also had great fun with our waiter who went through the 15 different cheeses from the cheese board with us.

Great place, service, rooms and food.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivacioussarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Booked a private room for a pal's 60th birthday bash on Saturday the 28th of July and it was a truly awful experience. Cost us near on a £1000 for the night for 12 people and the service was non existent. Average food ,cramped seats and staff who hated working there.Don't go to this place. Never again !

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank nordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Regular Malmaison customers will find the Leeds hotel meets most of their usual expectations. The hotel in centrally located and certainly the reception and bar area have a certain buzz that helps make the "trendy" set feel at home. Rooms and service are great. I have three reservations - (1) no car parking with advise from reception to park in the nearest NCP offering a 10% discount for customers staying more than 24 hours (2) my room had almost no windows - which would have been a little dissappointing had I been staying more than one night (3) breakfast was not up to the standard of other Malmaison hotels that I have stayed at - limited buffet - kippers were boil in the bag not fresh. Otherwise a great place to stay and the price is certainly on a par with the larger chains.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BillyBully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Absolutely amazing stay from arrival to departure - rooms are fab and quirky, breakfast and bar terrific. Dont bother going anywhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MartiniBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My partner and I stayed here for two nights ( booked from late rooms for 79.00 per night over the weekend) and we absolutely loved it. The service right from the moment we walked into reception was great! The staff were very polite, helpful and pleasant and the hotel was very central and was very clean and had everything you could want for a weekend in Leeds!! The bed was very comfortable and the rooms, even though next to the canal were not noisy of a night!
We have previously stayed in the calls which was ok, but considering was twice the price per night certainly wasn't worth it!
We would definately stay here again when we next go to Leeds!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chantalpearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

From the minute we walked through the theatrical, velvet-curtained entrance and swept down the wrought iron staircase, we were taken with Mal life.
Service was prompt, polite and efficient; even sitting in the foyer, resting weary feet, we were approached and asked if everything was okay and if anything could be provided.
The bar/brasserie was cosy and minimalist; think chocolate brown leather and walnut fixtures and fittings, complimented by candlelight.
We stayed in a superior king room, slightly larger than the standard rooms; chaise, additional chairs, spacious bathroom and plasma screen TV. Plush, velvet curtains framed the three windows, which offered amazing views of the Leeds bridge below. Theme was crisp white cottons, accessorized with sexy purple/plum velvets.
Hotel definitely goes that extra mile (small touches, such as encouraging you to take the lush toiletries home) but go with a full purse. Food, drink and mini bar options prove costly; mandatory £50 (refundable) deposit is required on checking in, to cover any costs charged to your room.
We followed the advice given by previous trip advisors, and secured a room on the fourth floor; no disturbances and a sound nights sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nell2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
325 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,126 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,138 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $101 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing