We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel in Leeds”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
leeds
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worst hotel in Leeds”
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Booked a private room for a pal's 60th birthday bash on Saturday the 28th of July and it was a truly awful experience. Cost us near on a £1000 for the night for 12 people and the service was non existent. Average food ,cramped seats and staff who hated working there.Don't go to this place. Never again !

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank nordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    525
    163
    62
    41
See reviews for
101
646
46
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Regular Malmaison customers will find the Leeds hotel meets most of their usual expectations. The hotel in centrally located and certainly the reception and bar area have a certain buzz that helps make the "trendy" set feel at home. Rooms and service are great. I have three reservations - (1) no car parking with advise from reception to park in the nearest NCP offering a 10% discount for customers staying more than 24 hours (2) my room had almost no windows - which would have been a little dissappointing had I been staying more than one night (3) breakfast was not up to the standard of other Malmaison hotels that I have stayed at - limited buffet - kippers were boil in the bag not fresh. Otherwise a great place to stay and the price is certainly on a par with the larger chains.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfasts
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BillyBully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2007

Absolutely amazing stay from arrival to departure - rooms are fab and quirky, breakfast and bar terrific. Dont bother going anywhere else.

  • Liked — Everything is thought through
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MartiniBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

My partner and I stayed here for two nights ( booked from late rooms for 79.00 per night over the weekend) and we absolutely loved it. The service right from the moment we walked into reception was great! The staff were very polite, helpful and pleasant and the hotel was very central and was very clean and had everything you could want for a weekend in Leeds!! The bed was very comfortable and the rooms, even though next to the canal were not noisy of a night!
We have previously stayed in the calls which was ok, but considering was twice the price per night certainly wasn't worth it!
We would definately stay here again when we next go to Leeds!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chantalpearse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

From the minute we walked through the theatrical, velvet-curtained entrance and swept down the wrought iron staircase, we were taken with Mal life.
Service was prompt, polite and efficient; even sitting in the foyer, resting weary feet, we were approached and asked if everything was okay and if anything could be provided.
The bar/brasserie was cosy and minimalist; think chocolate brown leather and walnut fixtures and fittings, complimented by candlelight.
We stayed in a superior king room, slightly larger than the standard rooms; chaise, additional chairs, spacious bathroom and plasma screen TV. Plush, velvet curtains framed the three windows, which offered amazing views of the Leeds bridge below. Theme was crisp white cottons, accessorized with sexy purple/plum velvets.
Hotel definitely goes that extra mile (small touches, such as encouraging you to take the lush toiletries home) but go with a full purse. Food, drink and mini bar options prove costly; mandatory £50 (refundable) deposit is required on checking in, to cover any costs charged to your room.
We followed the advice given by previous trip advisors, and secured a room on the fourth floor; no disturbances and a sound nights sleep.

  • Liked — Classy & plush
  • Disliked — Can get just as good for less
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nell2609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2007

having read the previous reviews we were a little worried about staying here, however we mailed the manager and he replied very quickly and assured us all was good. On arrival we had been allocated a fantastic room, large, clean, modern, quiet all you could ask for really. The hotel location is perfect for exploring leeds. Thought the hotel lobby was impressive so not sure what the previous comments refer to. We were lucky enough to get a free breakfast upgrade which was probably the best we have ever had anywhere. Overall first class (at least 4 star), great place, and really friendly staff. Only thing we didnt like was the bar was very nice but v v smokey even though it had a non-smoking area although that will be sorted come July 1st. Top Hotel !

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edmiller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

This year I decided to take my boyfriend away for a romantic Valentines night away. I have always heard good things about the malmaison chain from a friend and so picked this hotel as the choice to stay at.
On arrival I was slightly disappointed by the small size of the rooms and the rowdy group of men in the bar area. Generally though the hotel was very comfortable. We set of to explore Leeds which is a lovely city and has excellent shops, restaurants and bars.
On return to our room we decided we would maybe settle in and make use of the DVD player. An excellent faclity - but not working. We rang down to reception to have this fixed and were told that someone would be up immediately. Half an hour later and a second call and someone did actually come up this time. The problem was fixed and we watched our film.
We were then kept up for the majority of the night by a rowdy stag do on the same floor. We were near the lifts so we heard all comings and goings throughout the night as well as doors slamming and general shouting up and down the corridors. Not something you expect from an expensive boutique hotel.
We had booked to have our breakfast in bed to round off our romantic weekend. Unfortunately, no hot breakfast is available in the rooms so we settled for the continental cold breakfast and booked it for 9. By 9.30 we had not received our breakfasts, on a chance glance around the corridor we noticed 2 breakfasts sat outside the room next door. A call down to reception and we were told someone would look into it. 5 minutes later we received a call saying our breakfasts had arrived. I asked the lady to wait while I confirmed this and she just hung up! The lady who 'delivered' our breakfasts in fact just moved them from in front of the neighbours door.
Any one of these disappointments could have been forgiven, but together with the general ineptitude of the staff led me to fill in a comments card with my complaints. This was handed in to reception on check out.
I never received any response or apology to my feedback. Then to add insult to injury, a few days later I received a general mailer postcard from malmaison 'looking forward to our next stay'. I think not!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank kstang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,095 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,251 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing