We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings about Malmaison Leeds”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings about Malmaison Leeds”
Reviewed October 16, 2006

I had high hopes for Malmaison and I have to admit to being a bit disappointed. Having paid £145 for a spacious superior room for one night, I was hoping for a bit of luxury.

And whilst the room was indeed spacious, I felt the service a little lacking and certainly not value for money.

Despite the check in time of 2pm, our room was still not ready when we arrived at 4pm. When we finally got to our room, a member of staff was in there chatting on the phone.

The room itself was clean and very nicely decorated, although the light switches took a bit of working out (in odd locations). The air conditioning kept switching itself off also.

Whilst we were settling in, another member of staff walked into our room without knocking or any other warning - just as well we were fully clothed!

Our room was overlooking the street to the side of the hotel and as it was a Saturday night, was quite noisy. I ended up putting ear plugs in to sleep. We had been promised bathrobes in the room, these were missing. The bed was a little hard but the pillows are divine.

The hotel seemed busy, but I really felt that the personal attention mentioned by other reviewers was sadly lacking on this occasion. Whilst the accommodation itself is fine, the service needs to be improved before I'll return.

  • Liked — Luxurious decor
  • Disliked — poor service
  • Tips/Secrets — book online - cheaper rates to be had at the hotel's website
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    518
    163
    61
    41
See reviews for
99
634
46
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2006

Fantastic staff, fantastic room, great service, good food and bar.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haute-epoque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhahran Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Having stayed in Malmaison Hotels around the country I was very disappointed with the single room accomodation in Leeds. The hotel was up to the usual Malmaison standards and both the bar and the restaurant provided excellent services. However I made a mistake of booking a single room at the cost of 99 pounds. To say that the room was a cupboard was not an exaggeration, although it was equipped with all the standard fittings found in other rooms it was so small and clostrophobic. It had one very small window so high up that even standing on the bed I could not see out and the bathroom door could not be closed when sitting on the loo!

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Stayed on a special deal, but had a lovely room. Modern decor, great colour scheme and fantastic bed and shower. Ate in the restaurant - very cosy, not the speediest of service but friendly, and good food

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ambergatekirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbis Bay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2006

I had booked the Malmaison for a suprise for my husband and was not disappointed. The car park is literally a minutes walk from the hotel and including the hotel discount cost us £9.80 for a 24 hour stay.The check in was a quick process and was invited to select which CD's we wanted during our stay. The room itself was as I had anticipated and of a good size. The location is excellent-5 min walk to the main shopping area and good restaurants. There is a small gym containing 2 treadmills, stepper, bike and handweights adequate for a 'exercise fix'. We paid extra for the breakfast as it was not included with the cost of our room and it was well worth it-continental includes a hot drink, toast, fresh bread, pastries, a large variety of fresh fruits, cereals, yogurt, fruit juices and bottled water. There is also a cooked breakfast for any extra £3. The service at breakfast was very good and the staff very accomodating. We would definately return to the Mal and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2006

This was our 1st visit to Leeds, our 3rd visit to a Malmaison. We booked the Mal as we know what to expect, & we were not disappointed. Check-in & check-out were very quick & easy.The room was great, trendy & with a huge comfy bed. As we're sensitive to noise we asked for a river-view room, which was quiet - can't comment on thickness of walls as luckily we had no-one in the room next to us. The only negatives I can say about the room is that the bathroom was not exactly spotless, there are no drawers for your smalls & you cannot open the windows, which I hate, being an asthmatic!
The location of the Mal is superb, with all the shops, bars & clubs a short stroll away.
The car park recommended by the hotel is just around the corner but we were shocked at how expensive it was (just over £20 for 2 nights, that's with the hotel discount!).
We had a nice dinner in the brasserie, the service was good which is to be expected as they add a 10% service charge onto your bill! Drinks are expensive, normal for most hotels, regrettably. We had breakfast included in our deal which was excellent, & they cater for all tastes.
I would recommend this hotel to others, and especially Leeds! It's a fantastic city & we met some really friendly people. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Conniecodeine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

We stayed there for six nights for an Easter break. Booked on their web and expected GREAT things. The Malmaison website bangs on about the "Mal extras", I would love to know just what exactly they are. So, there's a CD plaver in the room, been lots of places with one, got several at home, free broadband, now if we'd needed that we'd have lugged the laptop up with us along with enough clothes for 6 days and nights out! (By the way, why do so many hoteliers think that noone brings any undies away with them on holiday? There simply were no drawers for my drawers!)

The room was fine, but long overdue for a refurbishment, some of the wallpaper was beginning to come away and some of the paint badly chipped, for example. Certain things were brilliant, being able to order fresh milk for the morning and enough room to keep it in the mini fridge, but that was let down by the pallaver in getting the beverage tray out of a tiny cupboard and avoiding falling over the chair to put it in the only logical place, in our case the window ledge - it being about 3 feet thick!

Being allergic to smoke, it was at least clear that the previous occupants for quite a while were non-smokers. I can't honestly fault the staff, the food was wonderful, room service fab. The bathroom was average, but it looked as if it needed repainting and regrouting and the bed was not as "great" as their advertising would lead you to believe, still we are used to an extremely supportive mattress at home, so we both woke up with back ache every day.

The internal walls are thin, so when the room staff made up the room next door to ours and put the CD on, and it was left on repeat, we were kept awake most of the night, thinking it was the gothy nightclub up the road!

However, having said that it wouldn't stop me going back to a Mal, but I would probably book by phone so that I could clarify the room size, it would be useful if they showed you the room size on the web, looking at the fire escape map on the back of the bedroom door it was obvious that the room was one of the smallest, so the internet rate is clearly for the rooms they let last!

I would also definitely go back to Leeds and to Yorkshire, for two non-drivers it was fantastic. So many places are accessible by public transport. Wherever we ate in Yorkshire the food was wonderful, if you go to Leeds you have to go to BIBI's, (and if you get to Harrogate or York) Betty's and Brasserie 44 and the Mal Brasserie is excellent also.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mediastar-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,215 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
149 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing