We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic Malmaison hotel, part checked in at 11am left bags and wandered into the town centre. Only a 5 minute walk to all the shops. Our room was a superior corner room on the top floor. All the usual mal goodies in the room. Had cocktails in the bar before heading out. Breakfast was fantastic plenty choice of pastries and fruit, cooked breakfasts also great freshly cooked and not just the usual bacon and sausages. I had eggs Benedict with a choice of mushroom, salmon or bacon. We will definitely return to leeds.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank harrilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed for one night on Friday and as with all Malmaison’s it was generally a pleasurable experience with one exception.
Check-in was helpful and friendly, the room was the usual comfort level and efficient aircon and a very comfortable bed.
The bar was busy and trendy and the meal excellent and then………………..

By 22.20, there were four tables still occupied, ours being one of them. We had just ordered dessert and it all started – Busy cleaning of the empty tables and setting up breakfast – Clattering cutlery and general disturbance. We felt under great pressure to hurry-up and leave, quite apart from the fact that the ambience was completely ruined.
I asked for the bill and Oliver (Manager) came over with it. I asked him about the situation and I think he was a little taken-aback at first not realising that this could be an issue. He apologised but said it was policy to save as much time as possible (Obviously to avoid any further payment to staff to lay breakfast after the dining room was empty)
In this particular occasion, Malmaison lived up to its French translation!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Checked in last minute following a disappointing arrival at the hotel opposite. Reception staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Plush furnishings, excellent location. This hotel chain never disappoints no matter which city you visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kvw1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for the first time for our wedding anniversary and can honestly say that the customer service is second to none. the hotel is very well presented and rooms are very comfy and on trend. On arrival the staff on reception were very friendly and in the room we had a card and rose petals on the bed, a very nice touch.

Ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent but service left a bit to be desired but this was over shadowed by the excellent customer service. I would rfecommend ths hotel and if the rest of the chain is as professional i will definatley be using it again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed for one night at Malmaison, Leeds on the wine and dine package. It was excellent.

We have stayed at the hotel many times and always get the same room, 109 which is larger than some of the others as it is situated on the corner of the building. Very modern , luxurious decor, with full length glass windows with a view of the canal.

Food was excellent in the restaurant for both the evening meal and breakfast, with plenty of choice and excellent service.

We were given the option of paying an additional £16 each for a full breakfast and a cheeky cocktail before our evening meal, sounds expensive but it was excellent value. The clover club cocktail should have been £8.95 and it was delicious!! Definately recommend the offer.

Lovely relaxing stay in the middle of a trendy, viabrant city.

Only negative was as we were leaving, as has happened to us many times at this hotel, the bill was calculated incorrectly! Annoying and embarrassing when there is a line behind you. Reception please try harder, guests leave frustrated with their bill, when other members of staff have worked so hard to make for a perfect stay

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueS56_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Fab meal , room great. Rob the waiter funny . Lovely stay . Free cocktail lovely treat . Would return again . My husband stayed at these before and found this fab deal . Leeds shopping trip harvey Nicholas a nice treat , expecially 4th floor for drink .

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed on Monday night as we went to see Wicked, great hotel for a great price, Siobhan and Laurie on reception were extremely helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was great and the cocktails are amazing, all round another great stay in a great hotel where all the team were friendly and helpful. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris H, General Manager at Malmaison Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thanks for your lovely review, I am so glad your trip to WICKED was a success. We have been so blessed recently with the various shows on at the theatre and the First Direct Arena it is difficult to know what to go to next!

We have SHREK the stage show arriving in July which I am sure will bring us plenty of visitors!

I will be sure to pass on your thanks to the two stars on the front desk.

Thank you for naming the ladies its great to be able to go back to them with a real positve story.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,157 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $106 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing