We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great night away”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great night away”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went for 1 night as a quick break. Arrived early before room was ready, staff took our bag and when room was ready put it in room ready for when we came back later that afternoon. All staff from reception to restaurant and bar staff very pleasant and helpful. Had breakfast which was nice. Ideal location for shopping and train station, only 10 minutes walk from Leeds train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    518
    163
    61
    41
See reviews for
99
634
45
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed here recently for one night for a work trip. I was with colleagues and we had a nice dinner at the restaurant on the ground floor. My colleagues were heading out to an event but as I was feeling ill due to a bad cold I decided to go back to my room instead. The waiter who served our table saw that I was unwell and as I was leaving the restaurant offered to send up a pot of hot water and lemon and honey for my sore throat. It was a lovely gesture and the sort of touch that really makes a hotel and its staff stand out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We booked the hotel for our anniversary , it was in an excellent location a short walk away from the shopping area and also a short walk away from the night life which seems to centre around call lane. All the staff that we interacted with we're friendly and very helpful from the receptionist who took the time to leave her post in order to come outside and point me to the car park to the batman who have us the insiders top 10 places to see/eat/drink. We had a superior double which was spacious well furnished and had a lovely high ceiling which gave it an airy feel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirmoosealot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Booked a one night dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The room was of a very good standard, although we thought ready for a face lift. Dinner menu from the deal had lots of choice, excellent standard and good service. Breakfast if paying is expensive, but as part of the deal very good with a good choice, again high standard. All in all good value for money on the deal, but if not, I would expect to pay 50% more overall, which wouldn't be worth it. Great location for the city centre and shops, parking is nearby and the hotel give a good discount.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here overnight with my friend. Was really looking forward to staying at the hotel but I'm afraid it didn't live up to expectations. Average room in decor, size and furnishings and the biggest put off was hairs around the bath side!! We had a drink in the bar early evening which was quite expensive. However, reception staff were really chatty and welcoming. Pleased we tried it but probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantsleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My stay at Malmaison in Leeds was good value – apart from breakfast which is over-priced and really not at all good for vegetarians (or for anyone who thinks breakfast might include a croissant even if you don't get there until say 8:30) – because it was midweek. I expected better of the hotel though. The room was nice enough but the decor is a bit dreary; it's certainly got little to recommend it in design terms (there are net curtains, for goodness sake).

The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful, apart from booking me in to a room on the 4th floor before telling me the lifts were out of order. I wished afterwards I'd accepted the offer to swap to a room lower down, not because of the stairs they were fine and one lift was fixed later in the day, but because the room I had had rather high windows which I was too short to really get much of a view of the city from.

My room was a slightly odd shape (it was on a corner of the building and curved round) but nice enough. Having paid extra for a bigger room I suspect the standard rooms must be distinctly small and the cosy ones tiny; mine was big enough to have a small comfy chair but only one!

The bathroom was pretty good (the shower was over the bath but excellent nonetheless).

All in all, I had a perfectly pleasant stay but this is very much a bland chain hotel.

Once again, TripAdvisor is asking me to rate a non-existent swimming pool. No idea whether the hotel has a spa; certainly didn't notice one.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor only offer views to tall people. Other floors may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have stayed in other Malmaison hotels in the past and had an amazing stay in all of them.
We were booking the room for an overnight stay to visit friends, and really looked forward to staying here.
The reception staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
However on arrival at the room (billy basic room) we were disappointed at how small it was. there was barely room to walk around the edge of the bed to other side of the room. The bathroom was 'ok'. Hairs and old water stains all visible on the floor. Door and skirting boards were chipped in places. didn't feel very clean.

We ended up sitting down in the bar area hours before meeting our friends as we couldn't stand to sit in our pokey room.

This hotel wouldn't be my first choice staying in Leeds again however, If I were to stay here again I would choose one of the more deluxe rooms.

Might I say the service and food in the restaurant downstairs was brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,211 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
145 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#23 of 87 in Leeds
2,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing