We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly disappointed”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We regularly come for a kid-free weekend in Leeds & always stay at the malmaison. This time the food has been bland, our superior room is distinctly unsuperior in that it has 1 socket only & a 'double bed' produced from 2 twins at different heights & the response to our concerns has been distinctly underwhelming - in fact we're now (at 10:30pm) moving to another hotel. Very very disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Speechynikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here. Malmaison is a very good chain of so called boutique hotels. Lets not kid ourselves though, this is not a boutique hotel, but it is a very well run and organised chain of very nice hotels.

I was traveling with a lot of luggage and the staff were very helpful, helping me to my room and generally being lovely.

The room was huge, on a corner of the buildings with nice views into the old city. The bed was lovely and the bath room was really nice.

Breakfast in the morning was also very good.

This is a very nice hotel, I would recommend it.

Room Tip: As for a room on the Canal, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FinnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Me and my boyfriend (19+21) stayed here for 1 night in June and loved every minute of it. The staff at reception we're very welcoming and even had a room available at 11AM, 3 hours before the stated check in time. We we're on the 3rd floor and had no noise at night. We were booked in a superior double room and ours was luckily on the corner so I think we benefited from a much larger room. The bathroom was spacious and very clean and came with complimentary toiletries. There were clean towels enough for 1 each. Didn't use the bar or restaurant however prices we're a little high but it was expected due to the quality of the hotel.

The location was excellent and in a short walking distance of the main shopping area, the train station and also the Megabus drop off. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large! Also take your own cans of pop or pay almost £3 for minibar cans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from an exceptional lunch at Malmaison Leeds, from start to finish could not fault one thing, chefs table offers a delightful selection for even the pickiest of diner, main course superb the beef was cooked to perfection and desert I have no words for the hot chocolate amazing!!! Special thanks to our waiter Shaun not only courteous and attentive but knowledable about what he was serving both food and wine. In a nut shell can not praise enough thank you Malmaison for a fantastic afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseLyonsHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

If you want a real treat splash out and go for the suite with the sunken bath.

It really was super and a lovely experience.

All the staff we encountered at this hotel are attentive and consequently the service is superb.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and well presented. Again the service was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yorkshirespagoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked the Malmaison at very short notice for a midweek night away
The online booking system seemed to be down so I phoned the hotel.
First impressions where good , a very natural and friendly response which continued through check in
We booked a standard room and were informed it was a quiet room at the back of the hotel
Seeing the area near several bars and clubs I can imagine a room at the front could be noisy especially at weekends
The room was above average in size , clean and quite opulent for a standard room
The bed was a little hard for our taste but the pillows amazing
The receptionist gave us a map and clear directions for the shopping areas
After a good evening in the city we returned for a final drink in the hotel bar.
Given the style of the rest of the hotel we were slightly underwhelmed with the bar, nothing wrong with it just not up to the level of the other public areas
Breakfast was simply served and good quality , special mention to the homemade granola and the eggs benedict
In summary an above average city centre hotel and we would certainly stop again and perhaps try other locations in the brand

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuTaylor25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The malmaison was a lovely experience from start to finish.
We stayed for one night, and wished to be a longer stay we had a superior room.
The room was lovely loads of room and the spacious bathroom with lovely toiletries.
only slight problem was the noise from outside unfortunately from night club opposite.
really good location in leeds and close to the shops

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinkerwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Leeds City Centre
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
Dakota Deluxe Leeds
#1 of 87 in Leeds
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#7 of 87 in Leeds
1,157 reviews
Leeds Marriott Hotel
#25 of 87 in Leeds
2,205 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $106 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing