We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel situated near to the shops and nightlife.”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #12 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great hotel situated near to the shops and nightlife.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the hotel over Christmas. We checked in on Christmas eve and had a warm welcome.Breakfast on Christmas morning was really nice and there was a festive atmosphere. Our room was spacious but the tv was too small for the size of the room. We checked out on boxing day after having a chilled couple of nights in a very comfy bed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    504
    159
    61
    39
See reviews for
95
622
43
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took my boyfriend here for his Birthday and we had a fab time. They had even put out chocolates and a birthday card in the room,a very nice attention to detail, made us feel very welcome.
Loved the room, most comfortable bed in the world. Has a nice luxury feel to the room.

We had a meal package at the restaurant and were given a great table. Food was nice, the nicest cheese cake I've ever had. Afterwards we finished our drinks in the bar area, nice beer and wine selections. and were planning on going out in Leeds but were having such a nice time we stayed here all night!

Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdolphin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Back from a fab weekend away with friends. Stylish hotel in a central location, handy for bars & restaurants etc. The rooms were clean, spacious & well equipped, but OMG soooo cold!! In fact all of the hotel was cold even the bar & restaurant. Bathroom floors would definitely benefit from underfloor heating!!! We had thought that the thermostat in the room was faulty, but having spoken to friends the following morning it seems theirs didnt work either.Top tip when travelling in the winter months, ask for a heater for your room as the staff will tell you its a very old & draughty building!! Breakfast was excellent and the room rate was ok. We all booked direct and paid £120 per room for B & B. Shop around though as you can get a much better deal if you pay in advance!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had booked a superior room with dinner, bed and breakfast £169.00. We we told that dinner was included in the price, we had a look on the website and the menu looked great. Very disappointed to find that when we arrived we were presented with a letter advising us they were giving us an allowance of slightly less than £20.00 against the only menu on their website. When it came to paying the bill we advised that we should have been told when making the phone booking that the food allowance was £20.00. We got lots of apologies but nothing else. On our return we checked the T&C's, no mention of the £20.00 allowance towards the meal.
We thought dinner was just ok. The wine prices were very expensive, cheapest NZ Sauv Blanc £31.00. Breakfast was excellent. Room was on the 4th Floor and very noisy from the people leaving the night club up to 5am.

Room Tip: Do not book dinner here, the place on Saturday night was 3/4 empty. Lots of much better places to e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booked on the Malmaison special offer of stay one night get in free! Always dubious about these offers as they are often not available when you try to book them... but it was. It was a great deal. The Malmaison in Leeds is in an ideal location, walking distance to everything and very handy for the station. Had a twin room on the 4th floor and it was ideal. Not overly big but did the job for a 2 night stay! It was also really quiet. Great firm beds made for a good nights sleep. Didnt eat in the hotel as there are so many great options in leeds! Did have a drink in the bar late on the Friday night and the service was great!
All in all a great January break and I would stay at the Malmaison again as it was great! Staff were helpful on check in and check out too.

Room Tip: High floor room would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPW2873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here New Years Eve and can not fault it. The staff were very efficient and helpful, the room was nice with decent toiletries and a comfortable bed.

Lifts were speedy and the breakfast was lovely,

A room to help yourself to fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries and cereals with real orange juice. The selection of cooked breakfasts were nice and it was brought to your table with tea and toasts by the waitresses.

Very pleasant and in an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was not a stay. It was Christmas day luncheon, and we started off with cocktails at the bar and then they came to collet us when our table was ready.

The food was good, the service was excellent, but what made this family outing special was they way they made us feel. Nothing was too much trouble and we left when we were ready. A lovely day I will not forget. In fact I want to do it all again next year.

Thank you Malmaison x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#9 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing