We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A big hug of a hotel”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A big hug of a hotel”
Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We were back in Leeds from Oz visiting family. I always love staying at Malmaison - the victorian cool and friendly service reminds me of home. Comfy rooms and comfy beds - we had a view of the canal this time which I'll wold request in the future. Lovely hotel and helps us over the jet lag in no time.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    504
    159
    61
    39
See reviews for
95
622
43
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Malmaison in Leeds on a Friday night, last month, just as a little break.

We got a brilliant price for the hotel off the Malmaison website itself, we paid £99 for the one nights stay in a standard double bedroom, two course meal for both of us and a bottle of wine. At first this seems like an excellent price... too good to be true, that's why.

We arrived at the hotel after work on Friday night, there is a NCP car park about 2 minutes away from the hotel so parking wasn't an issue, which is a relief in city centres (You do get a discount card from reception for the parking, but it still costs about £10 for 24 hours so make sure you have enough cash left).

The reception staff where pleasant, and our room was nice, slightly average, smaller than previous hotel rooms, and the décor wasn't as 'lavish' as expected from the hotels usual standard. (We recently stayed at the Malmaison in Newcastle, and we both agreed that hotel is ALOT nice, the location, the rooms, the quality of the accommodation and the staff seemed lacking in Leeds compared to the Tyne one.)

We had already booked our time for dinner, we came down to the bistro, and where given a set menu, as we had booked the package. We where then informed if there was nothing on there to our liking we could order of the main menu and had up to £31.50 for the two of us... well that cant really buy you much. We ended up ordering two Mal burgers off the main menu, and they where gorgeous, definitely a wise choice. Also the 'bottle of wine' included in the package was actually £10 towards a bottle of wine... these all started at £21 and upwards so again the £10 wasn't really much use, so I had a cocktail instead, which again was lovely, but not what I was expecting from the deal we had purchased. The staff in restaurant where quite pushy, offering water, then bread, then extra chips / onion rings / salad with the meal, then desserts, making you feel more uncomfortable every time we kept saying no (why would you want extra chips or bread to go with your burger and chips...). We both agreed, and from watching other diners it seemed those eating off the set menu ' the cheap one' where being treat slightly differently to those dining off the a la carte.

Overall, the hotel was pleasant and we enjoyed our stay there... but if you are going dont book the offer including dinner, just go along on the night and pay the extra or go elsewhere as its not really that benficial. Personally we both agreed that next time we'll just return to the hotel in Newcastle, which was more expensive but seemed to be in a totally different class.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a executive rooms - the extra space you get it definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarajones157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
233 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

My company uses this place a lot, have stayed regularly and really like it. Great central location, boutique feel, lovely rooms, staff friendly and efficient. Free wi-fi, always a great benefit in my book. Restaurant is very good, breakfast excellent. Highly recommended. Couple of niggles: 1. piped music is too loud and night-clubby. Not in keeping with rest of hotel and quite annoying in public areas. 2. One piece of soap in bathrooms is a bit stingy, constantly having to transfer it from shower to sink (minor niggle, I'll grant you...). Parking in multi-storey very nearby is very secure and hotel gives you a discount card.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was brilliant, the staff were fantastic and the decor and rooms were lovely. It was our wedding anniversary on the Thursday of our stay and the hotel sent us a card and some chocolates which I thought was an incredibly sweet and thoughtful gesture.

We had a superior dexule, I think it was called, the room above the standard room and it was lovely, very spacious, with a fantastic bathroom, the shower was so powerful, just like I want. It was very clean and well maintained. The bed was Huge and comfy, the only downside to this room was that it over looked some of the late night bars. So when they came out and 2/3am you can hear them, I aman incredibly light sleeper so it woke me up but my husband didn't notice a thing so we did not feel the need to complain or move rooms, just a warning though if you think you would be upset ask to go to the opposite end of the hotel, as nothing should ruin the experience of this hotel. We were in 227 which If that helps.

The staff on reception, particularly the girl that checked me in was lovely, especially as I held her up by waiting for my husband to return from the car park with wallets. She was really engaging and happy to chat. Simile the you g man that served us a few night caps on the night of wedding anniversary, was equally charming and helpful.

My husband and I both agree when we go back to Leeds we will only be staying in one hotel and it will bethis one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed overnight with work at the Malmaison Leeds in may 2012.

Location - Perfect for a visiting Leeds, 2 mins from the station, close to some good places to eat and drink... smashing

Room - Fantastic! Probably one of the best nights sleep ever. Air con was brilliant, bed was huge and comfy, all the amenities one would expect, and really tastefully decorated (just what you would expect from a Mal to be honest)
..
Food/drink - breakfast was fantastic, a real treat. All kinds of fruits, cereals, juice ect... the bar however is potentially a little over priced even for a fab city like Leeds.

Service - all the staff were great, friendly and helpful.

We would defo return...

Room Tip: The standard doubles are superb... don't feel like you need to book a superior double to feel sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Really lovely hotel - nice size rooms - we had a corner room which has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the wharf which was great.

We went away for our wedding anniversary and when we got to the room we had a hand written card and some mini chocs which was a really nice personal touch Duvet and bed was really comfortable and the shower and bath were great and filled up really quickly!

We dined in the Brasserie twice whilst we were there as we took advantage of a late checkout on Sunday by having a Sunday roast dinner there and I cannot fault the food - it was delicious. Service throughout was great.

My only comment was that our key cards stopped working twice during out stay and that was possibly because we were staying on different packages on the two nights and then had a late check out. It was a little inconvenient and something which should be easy to rectify - similarly the booking process is complicated if you want to take advantage of different packages - I had to ring up to make sure we didn't have to change rooms between nights because the website doesn't allow it!

Room Tip: Corner room was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lightyearz_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2012

me and a friend stayed at the mal in leeds a couple of weekends ago. I was really impressed with the room and the hotel overall, the room was clean, a great size and the bed was very comfortable, but the thing i was most impressed with was the bath!! absolutley massive and ran in a matter of seconds!
the mal is also in an excellent location right in the centre of leeds, the breakfast was lovely and the staff were so friendly.
I will always stay at the malmaison now!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing