We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice rooms shame about the food”
Review of Malmaison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malmaison Hotel
Ranked #13 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice rooms shame about the food”
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This hotel is very well situated and the service is what you would expect from a swanky trendy hotel in a city centre. Rooms are nice and spacious but the bed was so hard and wobbly that I did not have a comfortable night's sleep. The real disappointment however was the food. I ordered room service and the food and presentation was somewhat lack lustre. The next day I had lunch and this too was a disappointment. The breakfast choices, however, were very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJABATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    504
    159
    61
    39
See reviews for
95
622
43
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I booked a room here for the night before my wedding to get ready in with my girls. It's a lovely hotel, the room was very quiet and well decorated. The only downside was the bed was a little too hard for my liking but it's not like I would've gotten much sleep anyway, was far too excited! Didn't have chance to eat at the hotel but enjoyed the complimentary champagne and the card the hotel sent up in the morning. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saphyrestardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Enthusiastic staff.
Great location.
Great food.
Good prices.

All good :)

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoseSpring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel three times now on business. The bar's very nice and the breakfast excellent. The first time I stayed I was in an amazing room with floor to ceiling windows and a great view - so I guess I was spoiled. The two subsequent stays were in less impressive rooms which as starting to get a little tired. Still offers good value over all though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellietho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

..sort of. Lovely building, smallish room first time, much bigger second time. Bar is excellent for a bit of sleb spotting (spent a mothers day evening here with Chris Moyles sat opposite me whilst his lovely little Irish mum explained her son "was a DJ on the radio" - very sweet considering he's a household name in the UK) Short walk into town or to the riverside bars and best of all, the coolest pub in Leeds, The Adelphi is only a 100 yards away. Perfect choice for a stay in Leeds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Enjoyed our stay - the Mal is quite quirky with it's dark colours but it works well. You can unload outside and the car park was secure when we left our car there for 2 days. Our room was ok perhaps on the smaller side, so perhaps we were unlucky, but can't fault service and enthusiasm. Great meal as well in the brasserie.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed at the hotel on a Sunday night as part of a special offer. The hotel itself is well within the centre of Leeds, and easily accessible from the motorway, plus the shops are within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel itself is full of purples and reds which sounds garish and a bit intimidating but somehow works for the hotel! The reception area was clean and tidy and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was stunning, it was a corner room with full glazing overlooking the river a lovely big comfortable bed and a massive bathroom which was well stocked with shampoo etc. The mini bar was again well stocked and surprisingly reasonably priced.

Anyway the bar again was a lovely modern area with super attentive and professional staff and a good selection of drinks. The bar leads through to the restaurant which we had prebooked for a meal. The food was beautiful, a massive selection and the presentation is what you would expect in a really pricey restuarant- but yet the prices were again reasonable. The staff were lovely and friendly, and we had a gorgeous meal.

We ran out of coffee in our room and my husband rang down to reception to see if we could get some more brought up, literally thirty seconds after he had hung up the phone someone was knocking on the door with a bag full of a selection of coffees.

I can't really think of any negative points to this hotel, it was outstanding value for the standard of accomodation and dining and I can't wait to go back and stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room if available- lovely views over the river and fully glazed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazkowalski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,152 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Leeds City Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Leeds
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malmaison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malmaison Hotel

Property: Malmaison Hotel
Address: 1 Swinegate, Leeds LS1 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
#14 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malmaison Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Malmaison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malmaison Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing