We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harewood Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harewood Arms Hotel
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Good size room with a comfortable bed but no tv. On arrival our reception wasnt very good,were asked what we wanted on the list for breakfast and what time. At breakfast the next day I had to say good morning to the manageress as we would have been ignored.
Instead of feeling welcome we felt that we were an inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymaker256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    37
    35
    32
See reviews for
49
74
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I stopped here on a whim so had no expectations on arrival. I was greeted warmly by a very knowledgable bar man who helped me navigate the Sam smiths menu as if he brewed the spoils on offer himself.

Due to the friendly atmosphere and the bar staff in particular, I decided to have some lunch. The food was very nicely presented and exceptional value for money. When I left I was treated like a local who would frequent the establishment regularly.


I like that the harewood arms employ on an equal opportunities basis, and the little welsh boy who was serving at the time was very helpful if a little hard to understand.

Overall fantastic

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thehappytraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We were in Harewood for our friends wedding along with many other guests. The room was comfortable, basic without a TV but that didn't matter really. The manageress had shockingly poor customer service skills and we were made to feel an inconvenience upon arrival. Plenty of tuts and sarcastic comments. What's the point in specifying a time for breakfast if this it runs 45 mins late anyway?

If you can put up with rude staff and are at an event for Harewood
house then the place will do fine.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We have been here before but thought we'd give it another try. The place being empty should have told us we shouldn't have bothered. The last time they wouldn't serve coffee,the excuse,no kettle! A hotel with no kettle or tea/coffee facilities. This time the place had a very damp smell to it which was off putting. The place was deserted. Some people wishing to book in could find no-one on duty apart from the girl at the bar. I won't be giving this place another try at anytime.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineworrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

13th July 2014 was the date we stayed at this 'hotel'. On arrival we were met by a surly female at reception who did not acknowledge us and told me she wasn't Mystic Meg when I didn't complete the breakfast request at double time for her (with NO explanation of how things ran). Our door key was missing and I was informed that the previous customer had taken it with them and she would have to track them down...even though they could be anywhere in the world by now!!! She told me that the room could be left unlocked and she would pop up to lock it in a while...I DO NOT THINK SO! After speaking to her again about the key...a replacement was eventually found.
The room was nice and the bed was comfy. There was NO TV in the bedroom. The bathroom was new and functional. Cobwebs dominated both rooms and at night the window had to be closed as we were on the main road. It was stifling in the room without a fan and very noisy from the road.
In the bar there was only Brewery named ales to be purchased. There was no TV in the bar.
Everywhere could do with a deep clean. We were told there was no food in the bar after 3.30pm - and 7 miles from the nearest place where food could be purchased.
My other half did track down the Landlord - who was different again to his surly wife and told him that we had been misinformed by a new member of staff and he would cook a meal for us.
Breakfast the following day was OK - again, everywhere needs a deep clean. The manageress continued with her lack of communication towards paying customers during breakfast and we couldn't get out of there fast enough. She also tried to charge us twice after we paid on arrival!!!Must have been something to do with the opened bottle of beer behind the reception desk she failed to hide from us! Drinking on duty...tut tut.
We will never visit here again or recommend it. The manageress' lack of care towards people paying her wages was disgusting- she really didn't care.

Room Tip: At the back of the property is quieter. Didn't see a lift or any disabled facilities. If elder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here for one night, and whilst our room was lovely and the bar lively the staff really let it down. There was one female member of staff in particular who was so rude it was quite unbelievable that she'd carved out a career in the service industry. Everything appeared to be too much trouble for her and even when an error was made, on the part of the hotel, there was no apology only the insinuation that the error must have been on our part. Despite being required to provide a time at which we wanted to take breakfast (i'm guessing so they could organise the kitchen) our breakfast arrived 35mins after the time requested and that included a simple rack of toast too.
If you're looking for a hotel with a comfortable room and don't mind being barked at and made to feel like a nuiscance then this is the hotel for you. If you're looking for a hotel with a comfortable room and to be treated with a little bit of courtesty i'd book somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were camping opposite for the Tour in Yorkshire and mistakenly believed that as this was a Hotel, and it stated open to non-residents that there would be food available at 6.30pm on Sunday evening. We were not alone in this belief!! With 14500 campers opposite your pub, putting on food, even if it was only sandwiches would seem a great money-making venture. The "girl" behind the Bar was surly and miserable (understandable really as she was the only staff member in a very crowded bar). When asked about food, her reply was "NO" and nearest food 7 miles either way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#45 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Weetwood Hall
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Premier Inn Leeds City Centre Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#68 of 86 in Leeds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harewood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harewood Arms Hotel

Property: The Harewood Arms Hotel
Address: Harrogate Road | Harewood, Leeds LS17 9LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harewood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Harewood Arms Hotel
Harewood Arms Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing