We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room for improvement!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Harewood Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Leeds
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Harewood Arms Hotel
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Room for improvement!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the Harewood Hotel recently and were disappointed with some aspects of the accommodation.
They got off to a bad start when we found the hotel sign had been removed for repair this caused us to completely miss the place then get hopelessly lost, eventually we found our way back and then got caught up in events traffic at Harewood House. (a temporary sign would have been useful !).
We stayed in room 7 which had a noisy hum all night and we never discovered where it came from.
The lights were weird at 3am I needed to use the bathroom no way could I switch the light on after 5 minute of fumbling around I decided to use the bathroom in the pitch dark and hope for the best !!
At 6am my wife encountered the same problem but she was smarter than me and found the over-ride switch "brill one would think!" now this is where it gets gets quirky this switch also turned the bedside lights ON ! "bingo now we are all awake again!" no its not finished yet as the bedside lights don't have switches on and have to be switched from the wall by the door !
The curtains didn't fit the opening properly so let daylight in.
The breakfast was reasonable and the staff were ok except I had to wait ages to get served in the bar.

Room Tip: The tip is if in room 7 take a torch wear an eye mask and use ear plugs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank onembh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    67
    37
    35
    32
See reviews for
49
74
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

As we were visiting family in the area we stayed overnight at the Harewood Arms last week. The hotel is really handy for Harrogate, Ilkley, York and Leeds.
The hotel has lovely big comfortable rooms, decorated to a high standard, with great showers – but oddly, no t.v’s. in the rooms. However, there is wi-fi, so remember to take your laptop!
The bar has a good range of Samuel Smith beers, plus a very limited selection of wines (no sparkling wines though!), and it was a pleasant change not to have background “muzak”. It really is a traditional bar. Meals are fine – no surprises, just good pub grub.
Thanks to the hosts, Sue and Danny, who made us very welcome – nothing was too much trouble. All in all, we had a very pleasant stay. We can also heartily recommend the traditional cooked breakfast .

By the way, there is a large car park at the rear of the building, and a delightful beer garden.

Thanks again, J and J. B

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

WEEKEND STAY
Rowing staff swearing whilst your breakfasting, dirty carpets peeling paintwork disorganised staff
reasonable breakfast some of the worst coffee i have ever drunk mealtimes bearing no relationship to those printed angry cross examination as to why i had not filled in the comments book never again!

Room Tip: avoid the rooms facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

surbiton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed at Harewood Arms Hotel for two nights 23/24 June for as a base for a Wedding at Harewood House.

Sue was great when making the booking asking who's wedding we were attending and sorting out two rooms for us and helping with info re booking a taxi to the event.

The rooms were large and good size bathrooms and had everything we needed.

Breakfast was great and Sue ran out to get a paper on Sunday when she saw that we had not got our Sunday Times.

Both Sue and Danny were great in helping us out on our last day- I had not been too well at the start of the week with some kind of food bug that came back in to haunt me the day we had to travel back to London- and then onto our holidays- she directed my husband to the local shop and Doctors we were able to get an appointment with the Docs and she allowed a later check out so we could see the Doc before I left thank you for that again.

I would re use this Hotel it is close to my dad in Knaresborough and has a good car park and I would be happy to stay on my own and feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadieSurbiton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Enjoyed the friendly welcome from Sue and Daniel followed by excellent service and good food.
Our room was very cosy, clean and comfortable. Love to come back providing Daniel stops supporting M.United !!!! (joking).

Margaret and Dipak

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Codicote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Had a very pleasant weekend staying at this hotel. Danny and Sue are great hosts, attentive and friendly. Despite not having a website I would encourage people to call and book a room - it's a fabulous, perhaps the best location for functions at Harewood House, and has some lovely walks all around. Rooms were clean and comfortable, note no TVs but we didn't miss it at all, in fact was quite nice spending time in the bar chatting and drinking the very reasonably priced Sam Smith's! The bar food is classic pub fayre which was served promptly and was quite acceptable. It's a very comfortable hotel with lovely decor. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth81Herts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed at Harewood arms for two nights, just have to say it was really good. Rooms very clean, warm and spacious. Everyone made us feel very welcome, and the breakfast was great! shame about the weather!!
would definately stay again if ever in area.
thank you Sue and Danny.x

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
Mercure Leeds Parkway
#45 of 86 in Leeds
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Weetwood Hall
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds City Centre
Premier Inn Leeds City Centre Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#68 of 86 in Leeds
3.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harewood Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harewood Arms Hotel

Property: The Harewood Arms Hotel
Address: Harrogate Road | Harewood, Leeds LS17 9LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Leeds
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harewood Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Harewood Arms Hotel
Harewood Arms Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing