We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely dreadful!”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #74 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Unfortunately I didn't read trip advisor before I booked this place - sadly for a funeral with my sis and mother. It was so bad - water-stained ceilings, mould in the showers, rooms suspiciously full of revolting air fresheners, a huge hole in the bathroom wall, dripping taps, plaster coming off, everything unbelievably shabby and dirty-looking - that we decided to leave. I had given the man - who had seemed nice and friendly - my credit card over the phone and he insisted we pay full price for the rooms we booked. This should have one star at the most - do NOT be fooled by the rating it has. It should be a backpacker hotel and priced accordingly. It doesn't cost much to paint rooms, freshen beds and change drooping curtains, etc, so why don't they do it?

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkkkaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 70 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed one night as hotel convenient for the evening with friends.
Rooms apallingly shabby, we considered leaving as soon as we had seen them, but decided to "put up with it" because of the convenient location for us.
Decor in need of serious renovation, stains on ceilings, chipped paintwork, shabby "woodchip" wallpaper, old tired and outdated furniture.
DEFINATELY NOT worth £65 a night, DEFINATELY NOT value for money. You can get lovely, modern rooms at Travalodge/Premier Inn for the same or less, and I suggest you consider this before venturing in to the Beechwood Hotel.
Breakfast ok, staff pleasant enough, but they should be ashamed of the quality of the facility they run.
I bet people only go once! I certainly would not return there.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HRACambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

A friendly family run hotel at reasonable prices.
I'm a contractor and I stayed here for 7 weeks and always found the place clean and tidy.
Good location with local pubs, restaurants and very close to Roundhay Park

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJA67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Having read the other comments we were a little unsure what we would find.
But was pleasently surprised, did these other people stay in the same place, from the minute we arived to the time we left the owner could not have done more.
The rooms were clean and warm with no mold or damp that we could see.
The breakfast was lovely all cooked to order with coffee, tea and orange juice re-fills.
We have two teenage children the eldest of which had his own room , we had a family room with our other son who was more than happy with his bed.
The eldest son had access to his own shower and also had a warm and clean room.
When we go to see the family again we will definitely stay at beechwood.
Thank you for a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank listerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We needed a place to stay for one night in this area and this was the only one with a room we could find. The owner (a friendly woman from Peru) seemed almost embarrassed when she showed us to our twin non-ensuite room on the 3rd floor. It was dark and grim. The bathrooms were on the floor below and although clean were awful and the shower control had broken off on the one I used. The place needs a complete refit. Everything is very dated, shabby and old and the carpets are stained and slightly unpleasant to walk on. Breakfast was fairly basic but we didn't expect much after the room. We paid £55 for this rather unpleasant experience and the dog muck was still on the lawn the next morning. I would only recommend the Beechwood hotel as a last resort.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

A truly horrible place. It was cold, damp, dirty, noisy and the rest. It blew my mind to discover how much mold was in the rooms. This hotel is going on my '10 worst places I've Ever Stayed' list. The owner, while pleasant, seems to have no concern for the cleanliness of his establishment. The room was introduced as having a bit of mold issue, as if saying it made the problem go away. I can't even talk about what the bedspread and towels looked like.

To be avoided. The location is good and near Round-hay park, which is a plus, because I would recommend a tent in the park over this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ben586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Booked through Late Rooms it should not have been on their site. I can imagine a blind person would perhaps not have been quite so appauled at the level of dirt, dust and general deprivation that this place has been allowed to fall into. How on earth they can show three stars commended from the British Tourist Board i do not know it should read condemend. I would not let my dog sleep on the floor. I just wish i had read all the reviews before making this booking.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyberkshire9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
4 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#73 of 87 in Leeds
898 reviews
5.9 mi away
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#47 of 87 in Leeds
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Avenue Hotel
The Avenue Hotel
#55 of 87 in Leeds
134 reviews
3.2 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
1.6 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#72 of 87 in Leeds
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Address: 34 Street Lane | Roundhay, Leeds LS8 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: $43 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing