We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good suburban hotel”
Review of Beechwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beechwood Hotel
Ranked #74 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed September 13, 2011

The hotel is undergoing considerable refurbishment work and the owners work very hard to ensure that this doesn't impinge on their guests. The hotel is therefore a 'work in progress' and the tariff reflects this.
The hotel is set in a lovely garden and is very close to Roundhay Park with its lakes and rolling vistas. There are plenty of high quality restaurants within a very short walk from the hotel; we tried two and were very pleased.
The hotel is very accessible being only a couple of hundred metres from the ring road and with frequent buses to the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barry047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel is in a dreadful state, looks like nobody has spent any money on it for 50 years. There has obviously been major water damage which has never been rectified. There are mysterious stains and peeling paint everywhere. We wondered if the ceiling of our room might fall down in the night!!! (It didn't).

Good points: The owners were friendly. The breakfast was nice. The room was a decent size. The bedlinen felt weirdly luxurious compared to the rest of the place and was ironed to within an inch of its life. The hotel was happy to have my dog stay overnight and charged an extra fiver for this which I thought was not unreasonable.

Bad points: Building was in a state of dilapidation. I have no idea what the owners spend the B&B fees on but it's not the upkeep of the property! They had booked myself and companion into a double when I had stated a twin on the phone. We were allocated a twin but with only one towel, we were promised another whilst we were out during the evening but this didn't materialise. Payment was asked for the previous night which I've never come across before but perhaps the owner has had people doing a bunk after staying. Thin walls, it was noisy in the morning with doors swinging plus the location on a busy road meant it was noisy with traffic through the night too (we had a room at the front).

The long and short of it is, if I had to stay in Leeds again, with my dog, and could not find a more conveniently located hotel, I would go back. If I was travelling without my dog I would not go back.

It's a shame the hotel is so poorly maintained since it has the potential to be quite a grand place. Large, good location, nice garden, private parking. But it needs a LOT of money spending on it and one can only assume the owners do not have a budget to do that. Sad.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Artemis-Whitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

we had stayed in a glorious hotel the night before. so guess we were spoilt. didnt think hotels still existed like the beechwood. 65 pounds far too much. shabby room smelly en suite. needs complete makeover. clean bed linen and reasonable breakfast. thats it. never again and i only wish i had been able to discuss this with the owner. had been booked for us by local friends so definetely never A recomendation again by them or us. please get your act together.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Not fancy or pretentious but absolutely fine. I had a comfortable two night stay in this small family run hotel. The room had tea/coffee making facilities, tv and ensuite shower. There was not a telephone in room though as I had mobile this was not a problem. Room was quiet and clean and radiator could be switched on or off. Breakfast in the morning consisted of tea, toast,cereal, grapefruit segments, orange juice, full english breakfast or whatever you want. Food was freshly made and served with a smile by the owner in a spotless dining area. I had booked a single room but was allocated a large room with a single bed and also a double bed. A pleasant stay and I would be happy to visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlamingoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

I have never, ever written a review before. Typical British I guess, say everthing is ok but moan in private. However after a stay at this hotel I just felt I had to do something. This place needs a complete refit and refurbishment. New carpets are needed throughout (mystery stains everywhere), all walls need painting (chips, scrapes all over the place) and I am truly bemused as to where they got the furniture from. In our room we had a bar stool as one of our seats! My friend's television was precariously balanced on a hostess trolley from the 1970s! The window frame in our bedroom was cracked and peeling, as the bedroom was on the back it clearly didn't deserve double glazing the front rooms had!!

Breakfast was from 8am - 9.15 (on a Sunday) consequently most people arrived at about 9am and found they couldn't be seated. One group was asked to 'vacate as we have others waiting'! Er hang on I've paid, I'd like to sit here and finish. One poor visitor had to take her toast with her.

This place was at best a very poor to average B&B it shouldn't be advertising itself as a hotel and to charge £65 is shocking. To be fair the bed was clean, and it's location for Roundhay is handy. Lots of eating places nearby - but these things do not a 3* hotel make. Re-carpet, re-paint, go to ikea (argos even!) and get matching furniture that's not from the 70s. Have respect for your visitors/guests who having looked at your website will have be enconned like my friends and I.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LRHill12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Was booked to stay one night in Feb, got to the place no one about so had to call a number listed on the front door. No answer, had to wait 20 minutes for owner to return to be told he had been taking his son to rugby.
Got to my room, looked round, very small room, and got straight out. There was no way I was staying there. Very gruby and no way is this hotel, its a pretty shabby B&B at the best,

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank rhodesiabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We chose the hotel for its convenient location for Roundhay and local amenities which were good. But, our room was cold, with no hot water for the first 3 hours. The room was shabby, the bathroom was more like a cupboard with a door that neither closed properly nor locked. There were bits falling off the shower and the towel rail.The breakfast room and lounge had mould stains and plaster falling from the ceiling. All the carpets were stained. This hotel is very poor value for money and would be more accurately described as a Bed & Breakfast establishment. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhileasDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
1.7 mi away
The Avenue Hotel
The Avenue Hotel
#60 of 87 in Leeds
135 reviews
5.9 mi away
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#46 of 87 in Leeds
539 reviews
2.4 mi away
Britannia Leeds Hotel
Britannia Leeds Hotel
#72 of 87 in Leeds
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#73 of 87 in Leeds
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#34 of 87 in Leeds
895 reviews
4 mi away
Mercure Leeds Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beechwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beechwood Hotel

Address: 34 Street Lane | Roundhay, Leeds LS8 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range: $55 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Beechwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechwood Hotel Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing