We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if your eating at the Bon”

Wheelgate Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wheelgate Guest House
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Ok if your eating at the Bon”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on numerous occasions when eating out at the Bon, nothing special but clean. Only issue is the hard bed and flat pillows. Would return again but I will bring my own pillows and water, as water is not sealed so must be tap water.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    2
    35
See reviews for
11
19
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very over priced and no cooked breakfast was even offered had evening meal there and could eat most of it. I thought I was get getting budget place to stay but ended up paying four star prices for a shared bathroom spent most of the night awake due to the uncomfortable beds avoid at all costs

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shell7501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leeds hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We found a very warm welcome at the Wheelhouse. Jean and Pete were lovely to us and our two girls. We stayed one night in the static caravan which was roomy and comfortable. While it's true that the fittings were not brand new, everything we needed was there. It was quiet and the kids loved it. The food was nice too. Would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debsmooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This B&B is in Sherburn not Leeds and I can't believe the bad reviews I have seen here! It is clean and comfortable with good facilities and food prepared to order and served at the time that suits you best (within a sensible time frame). My wife and I stayed in the room nearest the street which had double glazing and a wall at least 18 inches thick and were not at all disturbed by noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Needed an overnight stay in the area and found this on late bookings.com. Didn't know what to expect but found the owners and staff to be very friendly, helpful and accomodating. We could choose our own time for breakfast, so had a lie in. The cooked breakfast my husband had was very tasty and I had museli and fruit which I had asked for. I have now read other reviews and find them very harsh as I really don't know what people expect. Ok, it wasn't up there with the best but it was clean and welocoming. I feel you only get what you pay for and this was cerainly value for money. Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in this noisey guest house for 2 nights & told was told it would be only the Sunday it would be noisey, what a joke, it was noisey all the time with being so close to the traffic lights. Both rooms we were shown were dirty & with tired furniture & bedding. Our breakfasts on both days were cold & not did not do our appetites any favours, the 2nd morning my wives breakfast was stone cold, I played safe & had toast. We will not be staying there again or recommending it no one
Paul Smith

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smudger565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have stayed at and really wish that RAC had not put us up there as the car would have been a far more pleasant place to sleep. The room was tiny with two single beds in it. The wardrobe was merely a bracket for a flower basket with half a dozen coat hangers on it. The kettle was a travel kettle - probably the size was to make the room look bigger than the shoebox it was - and took ages to boil. The complimentary tea, coffee and milk was out of date by several years. The bottle of water did not look drinkable. We arrived at 9.45 and the welcome was far from that with the landlady grudgingly giving up watching her film on Sky to give us the keys - the pyjamas she wore were rather dull. The breakfast we were told was a continental one and consisted of cereal, fruit and toast with juice and tea or coffee. Also it was at 7.45/8am. Was told if we wanted an full English breafast we would have to pay extra. The room did not have ensuite facilites but hey we had a toilet in a broom cupboard - not recommended for anyone taller than 5 foot 2 as you then hit your knees on the wall when you sit on the toilet. The shower - upstairs - was large (far larger than our bedroom) and new but all the toilet rolls were just part ones - guess you were meant to use every last square of toilet paper. The bed quilts were obviously for a childrens beds as too small for the single beds we had. The pillow I had was hard as a rock and the bed slopped to one side. Decor was early 1970's. The diningroom was interesting with its fake beams made of plastic. The breakfast when the landlady made it - she turned up at 7.50 in her dressing gown and asked if we wanted breakfast and then asked us to wait while she got dressed. Oh cereal turned out to be the cheapest ever cornflakes - sort of beige and very tiny - in the bottom of the smallest cereal bowl you can get (she had put it in for us) - and the fruit was three slices of banana (only two for my partner) and two grapes cut in half perched on top of the cornflakes. Toast was two toasted crumpets and what looked like a burger bun which had been toasted and a quarter was missing. Juice was obviously very cheap and was so sweet that it was barely drinkable. The coffee pot had enough in it for just two cups. We practically ran out of the place the moment that the lorry driver arrived to collect our car. Wish we had insisted that the RAC had relayed us down to London with our car on a flat bed lorry and us in the front of the lorry rather than be subjected to the worst hotel I have ever stayed in - heck the place I stayed in Dublin years ago that had a cork stuffed into the bedspring to stop it sticking in you was far better than this. My advice is skip this place and stay anywhere else as it is disgusting!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank parnell32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leeds
2.6 mi away
South Milford Hotel
South Milford Hotel
#1 of 1 in South Milford
317 reviews
7.8 mi away
Travelodge York Tadcaster Hotel
11.9 mi away
Discovery Inn Leeds
Discovery Inn Leeds
#40 of 87 in Leeds
870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
11.1 mi away
High Bank Hotel
High Bank Hotel
#71 of 87 in Leeds
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheelgate Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheelgate Guest House

Property: Wheelgate Guest House
Address: 7 Kirkgate | Sherburn-in-Elmet, Leeds LS25 6BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wheelgate Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wheelgate Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing