We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and local parking.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Foundry Wine Bar

The Foundry Wine Bar
Ranked #127 of 1,791 Restaurants in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and local parking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have eaten here on many occasions. I celebrated my 60th birthday here with my family. The food was excellent and service good. Drinks are rather expensive especially wine. However, a good time was had by all.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer3520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    59
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Work Event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked The Foundry for an office event involving 110 people for an outdoor BBQ. The weather did not disappoint nor did the restaurant, it was a fantastic evening. The food was excellent, the staff were incredibly attentive and we would definitely go back again.

Many thanks to Phil for all his help in the run up to the event, his attention to detail and support was appreciated.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Leeds :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The foundry is a beautifully intimate restaurant on the outskirts of the city centre.

The food is incredible and the chef's attention to detail and flavour is just perfect!

The menu is fairly small and fairly priced with good vegetarian and meat options.

A great restaurant to visit with your other half as it is usually dimly lit and has a lively but romantic vibe to it! A must visit if you are in Leeds!

Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyAndMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We recently ate here on a Friday night and had a wonderful time. We've eaten here a few times over the years and can safely say that on any of our visits nothing could be faulted. On our most recent visit we had scallops and leek n potato soup to start with - both were lovely, the scallops are a must have every time we go. We then had the beef and lamb for mains and loved both dishes, followed by crème brulee which was delicious.

As usual the place was buzzing and the service was great. Phil and Sean the owners are lovely - so down to earth and always have time for people, and the waitresses are very friendly and attentive.

We would certainly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodObsessive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Class Act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

I don't eat here as much as I used to as I now live and work out of Leeds. It was a real treat to have lunch here last Friday and I deliberately made sure I was "passing through". Phil, the owner, is a genuinely nice guy and runs the operation slickly and discreetly. He is an excellent cellar man.
We sat outside in the courtyard - this is one of the few places in Leeds where you can sit out to eat and drink. I had an extremely good burger - home made with excellent chips. We choose brie as pudding - this was on the right side of running off the plate to eat the salad!
You pay less for more in this little hidden gem. It really is worth a visit - make sure you stretch it over the afternoon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GallopingLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foundry Wine Bar also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Foundry Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing