We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a good hotel but would definitely benefit from a refurb & double glazing!”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still a good hotel but would definitely benefit from a refurb & double glazing!”
Reviewed February 1, 2009

I agree with the previous reviews - this is still a good hotel but would definitely benefit from a refurb. I last stayed there 8 years ago and it is definitely lacking the wow factor it once had.

The service is still spot-on, we were offered wine on arrival and shown to our room which was a nice touch. The toiletries were great (4 kinds of Moulton Brown shower gel) and there was a good selection of complimentary refreshments/nibbles. The mattress seemed to be coming to the end of its life however and the TV was definitely too small for such a high end hotel.

My main complaint, and the reason that I won't be going back until it is sorted, was the noise. We stayed on a Wednesday night in January, hardly the busiest time of the year, and were woken up at several times throughout the night from the shouts coming from outside, 3 stories below. They really need to get double glazing especially in the rooms next to the new bridge across the canal. I dread to think what it's like in summer as there is also no air-con.

On the plus side though, the breakfast was really good. Unfortunately we didn't have time to sample the cooked food but it looked really tasty.

It's a real shame that this once fabulous hotel isn't quite living up to its reputation. I hope they address these refurb and noise issues soon. Until then, I'd suggest staying at the Marriott.

  • Liked — Service, toiletries, breakfast
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexEee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    259
    143
    66
    23
See reviews for
52
436
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My wife and I celebrated our first anniversary at this hotel. We mentioned the occasion when booking and were given an upgrade on arrival. A complementary glass of wine was a nice touch, and the room was spacious, and tastefully decorated. The bathroom contained toiletries from Molton Brown.

We ate in the restaurant at Brasserie 44, right next door - and breakfasted the next morning in the hotel. The breakfast is pricey, but excellent - and if you're going to pay boutique prices for a room, you might as well complete the experience.

I'd highly recommend the hotel, and would certainly consider going back there for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Just returned from a 1 nighter - the Love package (Champagne, chocolates and petals). Over all our stay was fab!

Upon arrival the receptioniist said that our room would not be available until later, 16.00, but said that she would call us when ready - this never happened!

Room was comfortabe but a little raggy around the edges. We enjoyed the extras - fudge, smarties, lovely strawberry bubble bath, Molton Brown products and bath robes. Also bottle of mineral water, as oddly tap water not suitable to drink? (straight out the Aire?).

Ate at Brasserie 44 next door and shoppped in Leeds.

Yes there was some noise from the late night revellers tramping across the bridge but thats to be expected in the middle of town.

Breakfast good choice - service a little slow and had to ask for brown sauce, which never appearded. Also had to ask for a glass as they didn`t replenish them quickly enough. Liked the idea of breakfast being served until 11.30.

Downside - they offer a valet service to park your car at the local NCP. We arranged our car to be returned 11 o`clock on day of departure - sadly it didn`t return until 75 minutes later! The receptionist did suggest we could return to the room but wasn't at all very sympathetic. (dont make any firm plans for checking out!)

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky_Santangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds & Germany
Level Contributor
199 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

Stayed on the one night 'Love at 42' package which was one night in a superior room, breakfast, champers, chocs and rose petals and bath oil. Lovely hotel, great location although the immediate area and that around the Corn Exchange has seen better days. Staff very helpful though front of house staff seemed a bit clueless (Spanish and Oriental).

Love the hatches for delivering stuff to rooms. Shame that the full English can't be taken in your room though.

Shame too that Brasserie 44 doesn't open on a Sunday, nor do many of the eateries in The Calls.

  • Liked — Proximity to city
  • Disliked — Sign in the bathroom about not drinking the tapwater
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Booked this a few weeks in advance direct with the hotel group and definitely an extremely advantageous rate. The hotel is located in easy walking distance of the main centre, and during the week was peaceful and a very pleasant and handy location.

As a break without kids, we decided to go for 2 days in a junior suite rather than 3 days in a standard room and did not regret it at all. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist and an enormous suite with many trimmings; our car whisked away by the valet parking. Lovely artwork throughout the hotel, and lots of interesting touches.

As many other reviews have noted: comfy bed and good linen, great toiletries (and frog soaps), nice extras like fudge, biscuits and smarties, good TV services. We found the service was fast and personal (and genuinely caring) throughout our stay. Breakfast was delicious - my husbands haddock on the second day would have fed 2-3 in another hotel. The Brasserie next door is very good - and the fish of the day selection to be recommended

Criticisms are niggles - it does need some refurbishment - the funky wallpaper in our rooms was definitely showing signs of wear and tear; a missing hairdryer was rapidly replaced; no fresh coffee packs other than decaff for the inroom cafetiere (but OK instant and nice teas, plus rapidly supplied fresh milk); glasses not always replaced quickly after cleaning and a badly leaking ice bucket one evening; and the keyboards for the TV system email and internet navigation are, as usual, totally frustrating. Having said that the TVs themselves are tremendous, although it is a shame the sound no longer pipes through to the bathroom. The hotel also needs more info on local places to visit - one of the receptionists had no idea about where some of the key museums were - or how to get to them

We had an extremely comfortable, relaxing and indulgent stay. Well travelled friends came to meet us for dinner one evening - their comment on entering our suite was "have you won the Lottery?"

  • Liked — Comfort, breakfast, linen and toiletries, fast and courteous room service
  • Disliked — TV keyboards, lack of fresh coffee in the bedroom kit
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2008

I stayed at this hotel on business for one night for a second time a year after reviewing it.

Sadly little seems to have been done in the meantime to sort out issues of dirty carpets, scuffed paint, cracked tiles in the bathroom etc. I said in my previous review that it must have been great when first opened but it is getting increasingly in need of refurbishment.

I was in a canalside room. As other reviewers have said, noise can be a problem at night. Even on a Tuesday night I was woken by shouting on the bridge over the canal in the early hours of the morning and that was with windows and curtains closed. I cannot imagine what it could be like on a Friday or Saturday night.

On the upside the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom well equipped with Molton Brown products (although the bathrobe had a tendancy to produce alarming amounts of static electricity!), the staff were friendly and the courtesy car in the morning is a great idea. I didn't have breakfast so cannot comment on this.

One thing I did notice this time - in the bathroom there was a little notice above the basin saying the water should not be drunk. Makes me wonder where it has been.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2008

This is a lovely hotel, but its impossible to sleep here because of the noise! Now that the awful metal bridge has been built to give revellers access from the new eating and drinking area across the river, even in a top floor hotel on the water side of the property, the ongoing noise is unbearable. Its an issue they urgently need to address by installing double glazing. They sorted out the noise issue with a secondary double glazing effort at The Scotsman in Edinburgh and could do the same here while still keeping the original windows.

The rest of the hotel is very characterful and quirky, with good staff on the whole, albeit that the reception staff had some language issues and one knew nothing about tourism in the area (eg how to get to York from Leeds). Nice breakfast room, unusual and lovely bedrooms - but all no point if you are kept awake till 4 in the morning by people clunking across a metal bridge.

Can't go again unless they sort this out.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank ml3369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,076 reviews
The New Ellington
#17 of 87 in Leeds
794 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#21 of 87 in Leeds
1,403 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing