We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Super little boutique hotel in Leeds, great location for the city. The rooms were very clean and well presented likewise was the bathroom. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice of food including a large range of different style sausages.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay.

I am delighted that you found us to be in a great location for your business trip to Leeds.

I have passed your comments on to the team and especially the housekeeping and kitchen department.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 854 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed in Rm 105 for 3 days in December. Although, as another reviewer says, "it's looking a bit tired now" there's still lots to recommend it: nice quirky decorative touches - there was a fishing rod next to the window in our room overlooking the river (strictly for decorative purposes only!), interesting location, very pleasant staff, good value. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but other reviewers obviously liked it.

The downside was poor attention to detail in housekeeping. There was litter in the room from the previous occupant; the tv remote control was missing; the minibar fridge wasn't - everything in it was at room temperature; tea and coffee sachets and biscuits weren't replenished every day; there was a turn-down service on 2 of 3 nights; there were no towels when we came back to our room at 10pm on our last night. Minor niggles perhaps but taken cumulatively they give the impression of a hotel with housekeeping "issues", perhaps staff not give enough time to do the job properly?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0ntag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to read that you felt that the team were very pleasant and it was good value for your three night stay.

I was concerned to read your comments regarding the lapse in housekeeping service; I have spoken to the team regarding this and please accept my apologies for this.

I do hope the team and I can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I booked this rather late, but they managed to find us a room and provide bedding for our 2 kids aged 6 and 8. We appreciated snowman chocolates and very generous glasses of mulled wine. Beds were huge and comfortable and the girls loved the soaps ;)

Room Tip: To be honest £12:50 per person breakfast is a bit steep. We had a huge brekfats for all 4 of us in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocobrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am pleased that the team were able to accommodate your party of four and that you found the room comfortable and value for money.

We do have cheaper alternatives for breakfast and if you ask the reception team on your next visit to Leeds they will happily go through these with you.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here early December 2013 for two nights and were extremely pleased with the hotel overall. Lovely welcome - hot mulled wine on arrival - fantastic room and lovely staff. The reception was maybe a little small to cope with the number of guests arriving on a busy Friday, but the staff there were extremely efficient and pleasant.
Loved our room and lovely view. A little further out than other Leeds hotels I've stayed in but I'd definitely go back.
Many thanks for a lovely, pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review.

It was lovely to read that you really enjoyed your two night stay with us, from the service you received at check in to the room and view.

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to our return.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was my second stay here, my first review, it's is a good hotel with a great identity. Independent a little quirky, some parts feel very homemade, but that's ok. The food is excellent , the breakfast, with its speciality sausage menus is very cool. Nice welcome, honesty bar, again cool touch. First time I stayed I had a deluxe room, this time just a double, was a bit small, but ok. Views are good over the historic road or the canal/ river front. Parking is available outside, pay and display, quite expensive, however I think they have an arrangement with a nearby car park. PS Bed was really comfy, really..

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite a lot bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for posting your review.

It was great to read that you are a returning visitor and love our 'quirky' hotel.

We have five room types ranging from the Study Double to the Penthouse and all are individually styled. Our regular guests have their favourites and ask us to allocate this for them if available, so if you have a favourite then please do ask the team to check this is available on your next visit.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The place might be looking a bit tired now, but it is still an interesting little hotel, a bit different from the large chains that look the same in every town.
They have some personal touches and it feels like a boutique hotel, which for a city centre, is priced very reasonably.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JamesF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to read that you find us interesting and enjoy our personal touches.

I do hope the team and I will see you again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here for one night , 29/11/13 , I booked it as a surprise for my fiancés birthday .We should have been able to check in at four, we arrived at 3.50 , we where told our room was not ready, we where given some mulled wine and waited, at 4.10 the lady on reception came over to say sorry but they where running late, due to the lady staying in the room only left half an hour ago...!!!!.we could do nothing but wait. 4.30 we got into room, it was an executive room, should have had bathrobes, we only got one , bottle of water, none, also slippers , when we complained we where given another robe, no water and told they don't provide slippers anymore..The room décor was dated with no light working in wardrobe, or bathroom, dirty carpets,and dust. Tea making facilities was located inside the wardrobe !! this had not been cleaned...the positive was the view. It boasts an amazing breakfast with the choice of twelve sausages on the menu. It was very average. At checkout the lady on reception apologised , we where very disappointed. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joanne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you for contacting me with your review.

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your stay.

The advertised check in time is 4pm so please accept my apologies that you had to wait 30 minutes after this to check in.

We are waiting on the delivery of our slippers and this is the reason they were not in your room, however you should have had the right amount of towels and robes for the occupants of the room. I have spoken to the housekeeping department regarding this lapse in service to ensure this does not happen again.

If you had made the Duty Manager aware of your concerns after checking in to your room, they could have looked in to re cleaning the room or moving you to an alternative room depending on availability.

I am sorry that this has deterred you from staying with us in the future, should you change your mind please feel free to contact me directly so I can personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards

Helen Cooper
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#6 of 87 in Leeds
1,128 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#16 of 87 in Leeds
1,442 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomzzz Leeds City
#4 of 87 in Leeds
533 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Jurys Inn Leeds
#19 of 87 in Leeds
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#23 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range: $81 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing