We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalised comfort in the heart of Leeds”
Review of 42 The Calls

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
42 The Calls
Ranked #43 of 87 Hotels in Leeds
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Personalised comfort in the heart of Leeds”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Leave behind all the sprawling chain hotels - for a slight dip in price, you will get a pleasantly individualised room, view over the docks, and even a complimentary glass of wine when you turn up. Stylishly decorated all the way through, you feel homely instead of herded, even though you are minutes from the town centre. Friendly staff were a real plus, and helped up get around Leeds, sorted meal reservations and gave us recommendations throughout - and cooked a mean Yorkshire sausage for breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you had a comfortable stay and found us to be friendly with a homely feel.

On your next stay maybe you could try one of the other remaining 11 types of sausage we have to offer.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    261
    145
    67
    23
See reviews for
52
440
42
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

On arrival at the hotel we were checked in and handed a nice glass of complimentary wine which is a nice touch.
We were in room 213 which is a nice room. The tv is in one of the wardrobes and pulls out for you to watch it. This was a little frustrating when getting clothes out of the wardrobe because you keep having to push the tv away so you can open the cupboard doors. This may seem a bit picky but it just seemed a very odd design that I have never seen anywhere else.
You get a complementary bottle of water and homemade biscuits and fudge which are all very nice.
The bar is called the honesty bar which means you help yourself to the limited drinks on offer and fill in a form detailing what you've had so it can be added to your bill.
The drinks were £4.50 for a bottle of bud and a fiver for a single gin and tonic. This is really expensive considering there are no bar overheads because you help yourself to drinks. Surely prices could be cut here to encourage people to stay and drink at the hotel.
We opted to walk to a local pub instead where we were served good quality beers in nice surroundings or cheaper than the hotel.
The last problem we had which was not the hotels fault was the noise outside. We were awoken at around 2am by a group of girls outside singing and screeching for ages, then again at about 4am by another group of drunken people singing and shouting outside.
This was only a Thursday night so i can only imagine it gets worse on a weekend so be warned that you may not get much sleep if you stay here!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Your feedback is much appreciated and I have shared your comments with all of the team.

I will certainly look at the positioning of the TV and see if there is a possible alternative for this.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Wife and I recently stopped at the Calls and stayed in one of their suites. I normally stop at the Calls when I'm on business . We loved the whole experience from the personable approach, particularly from Abby who is front of house -to the home from home experience and not forgetting that complimentary glass of wine on arrival. The room was spacious well equipped and the beds really very comfortable. The breakfast was freshly cooked from order and plentiful, the portions are really generous too, so save some space!

You will be hard pushed to fault this hotel and I would highly recommend an overnight stay or two

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Earl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for such a glowing review.

Your comments mean a lot to the team and they are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your stay in the Suite recently.

Abbie is especially pleased that she has made such a great impression.

We look forward to you on your next trip to Leeds.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Very hard to fault, if not impossible.
From the moment you walk through the door your are made to feel welcome.
Goodbye Hilton, Jury, Best Western... from now on it is The Calls
The rooms are only bettered by the Breakfast. 10/10

Room Tip: Our room (216) had three windows.. superb light
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelC1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your 'perfect' review.

We very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york,england
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The staff accommodated our slightly early arrival, blown in by the howling winds of Leeds, with calm professionalism making a room available straight away. "Would you like a complimentary glass of wine whilst I carry your bag, madam?" and I realised, Yes, yes I would like that, in fact those may well be the words I've been waiting most of my adult life to hear! From this initial high point the stay simply improved and improved. We had a deluxe double with the most comfortable king sized bed ever (and I've stayed in enough boutique hotels to judge.) and river views. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, extra towels, fresh milk and morning papers delivered straight away on request. Not a spot of dirt or dust, good thick curtains, spotless bedding, luxurious carpets. The bathroom was well equipped, good power shower, fluffy towels and robes -yes the frog soaps too- and a nice deep bath. On our return from the theatre we found not only had they turned our bed down and drawn the curtains but left us some free smarties too! All in all a building with much character, centrally located but quiet and comfy complimented by 5 star professional staff and luxurious fittings. Treat yourself!

NB:The room was warm but the radiator has a control on so we set our own temperature, so don't be put off by previous reviews, oh and there was secondary glazing too which looked new so they are clearly listening and updating accordingly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KES23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for a glowing 5/5 review.

The team and I really do want every guest to feel welcomed and that nothing is too much trouble.

Having read your review we could not be happier that this was the case for you.

We all look forward to seeing at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited this hotel for two nights last week. We were greeted by a very welcoming receptionist and a glass of wine as we checked in, a nice touch.

The room was large with a big comfortable bed, a great bathroom and lots of toiletries, the soap frogs were also a nice touch.

We visited the brasserie next door for dinner on our first night. The food and service were excellent, they had a set menu which included a bottle of wine. My husband drinks red wine and I drink white so on finding this out they said we could have the equivalent in glasses of each. Nothing was too much trouble.

We didn't sample the hotel breakfast as we are both trying to watch our weight so I cannot comment on that. Again, the fact that we could pay for breakfast separately if we required it removed the temptation.

In conclusion we had a very comfortable enjoyable stay. Good value for money and we would reccomend it, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotty070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for giving us a 5/5 rating.

I am delighted that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

On your next visit, if you would like we would be more than happy to serve you a lighter option for breakfast.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

this was by far the best hotel on a trip we made recently, the initial check in and welcome came with a glass of wine and our room was spacious, overlooking the river, great comfy bed, huge tv and lovely clean bathroom. The little touches made all the difference such as smarties at bed turn down and frog shaped soap, this hotel had a real warm feeling to it that made us feel relaxed and happy! thanks 42!

Room Tip: choose one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissHelenBradshaw, Operations Manager at 42 The Calls, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review.

Reading that we made you feel relaxed and happy has made all of us extremely happy!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Helen Bradshaw
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leeds hotels
Quebecs
#8 of 87 in Leeds
1,091 reviews
The New Ellington
#16 of 87 in Leeds
801 reviews
Malmaison Hotel
#15 of 87 in Leeds
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Leeds City Centre
Cosmopolitan Hotel
Cosmopolitan Hotel
#22 of 87 in Leeds
1,415 reviews
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 42 The Calls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 42 The Calls

Property: 42 The Calls
Address: 42 The Calls, Leeds LS2 7EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Leeds
#18 Romantic Hotel in Leeds
#22 Luxury Hotel in Leeds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 42 The Calls 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1991 a riverside corn mill in Leeds was converted into a refreshingly different designer hotel with exceptional service and modern English interiors. With just 41 bedrooms and suites, 42 The Calls is a unique and exceptional establishment. Handmade beds with luxury cotton linen, carefully selected paintings and drawings and friendly touches such as homemade shortbread and fudge make these spaces havens of relaxation combined with up to the minute technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 42 The Calls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
42 The Calls Leeds
42 The Calls Hotel Leeds
42 Calls
42 Call Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing