We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Exploring”

Ranked #14 of 157 things to do in Leeds
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth Exploring”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We found an interesting section of the canal near the Hilton Hotel in an area called Granary Wharf. Several boats were moored here and it was interesting to have a look at them. This area is surrounded by lots of terrific restaurants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terryandhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    134
    18
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Leeds to Rodley via the Leeds Liverpool canal towpath”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Flat 6.5 mile walk on good path which is mainly tarmac so suitable to use in wet weather.
We started just behind Leeds railway station and ended with lunch at the Station at Ridley. Check as they don't serve food everyday. Sandwich on a crisp warm baguette with chips was very nice and decent real ales.
We walked back as far as the Abbey pub for another pint then left the canal to catch a bus back to the City Centre.
A good day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lowvalleyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Lovely area”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I use the canal very often and it is one of the treasures of our landscape. Some areas are poor but the others make up for it. Plenty pubs and cafes along its route

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank labradoodles4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The Best Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked to go on Strumble with Canal Boat Escapes for a week at the beginning of September and are now seriously considering buying a barge as we had the best holiday ever! The peace and tranquillity of the canal was just what we needed and the boat itself was so comfortable and cosy. She is stunning to look at and so simple to manoeuvre, and I sort of enjoyed doing the locks all by myself in a funny sort of way. We are certain to book this delightful barge again-maybe even at the end of the year- as we had such a good time. Also, the fellow boating community is the most friendly and welcoming bunch of people we have ever encountered. A far cry from the rude individuals who seem to take up almost the entirety of Manchester City Centre, that's for sure!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“A great walk if you plan it right.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Before you set out plan the distance you want to walk and look for a place to get off the towpath and back onto a road where you can catch a bus if necessary. For the casual walker from Leeds you can leave Leeds and walk for as long as you wish with a number of places where you can get back onto a road. However when you get further away from Leeds, on the Kirkstall to Rodley or Rodley to Apperley Bridge sections for example, places to leave the towpath become less and there are quite long sections without any access or egress. Having said that it is a lovely walk, mostly peaceful, and with things to see. I have walked from Leeds centre to Keighley over three separate days and enjoyed every one. By carefully planning your day you can arrange to arrive at one of the pubs or cafes near to the canal for lunch. Just a word of warning for walkers. This path is used by cyclists, some using it as a commuter route into Leeds. A few of them seem to have little regard for walkers and at times you need eyes in the back of your head.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leeds and Liverpool Canal also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Leeds and Liverpool Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing